My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

2,284 Posts
    Must have been something lost in translation there. I'm sure he meant "sh*t-hot".

2,796 Posts
    Oh oh. So now next time a domestic football fundamentalist comes on here and throws around the “best fans in the world” sarcastic insult I can now no longer reply “but who says we’re the best fans in the world apart from Marion Finucane?”

Roy won't be happy about this.

517 Posts
    The best fans in the world go to Euro 2012 for a holiday and good time - getting too drunk to even follow the match properly, having sing songs and doing the Poznan while their team is playing atrociously and embarrassing the whole country while the other 15 nations laugh at us?

I know for a fact that a LOT of the same fans that Pirlo is patting on the back never went to a single football match or watched a match on TV before they headed over to Poznan to convene for a glorified **** up. "F*ck the recession, we're on a session".

Ok.
    Last edited by TheOneWhoKnocks; 15/04/2014 at 1:09 PM.

The team didn't embarrass us.

517 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    The team didn't embarrass us.
    They didn't turn up but it would be remiss to lay the blame for that all at their feet - as we all know.

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Oh oh. So now next time a domestic football fundamentalist comes on here and throws around the “best fans in the world” sarcastic insult I can now no longer reply “but who says we’re the best fans in the world apart from Marion Finucane?”

Depends on whether they have ever been to georgia seemingly!
    My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    The best fans in the world go to Euro 2012 for a holiday and good time - getting too drunk to even follow the match properly, having sing songs and doing the Poznan while their team is playing atrociously and embarrassing the whole country while the other 15 nations laugh at us? I know for a fact that a LOT of the same fans that Pirlo is patting on the back never went to a single football match
    At least they didn't stay at home to 'see about a girl'... as Robin Williams might put it

156 Posts
    We will have better teams in the future and we may have worse teams than we currently have, but I have to say that our fans were outstanding in Poland. We behaved impeccably and enjoyed ourselves from start to finish.

As a veteran of other tournaments when we actually had a very good team and proper world class players, I went to Poland with not too many expectations of our lads delivering on the pitch and thankfully the trauma when we were anhilated in all the games, didn't hurt as much as it did at 88 or 90, 94 or 2002. My memories were of my fellow fans who showed a wonderful side of our great country and of mingling with the other nation's followers and having the craic with them.

If we aren't going to be remembered on the pitch, at least it's nice that our fans are remembered off it.

2,081 Posts
    Well said. And I really don't have a problem with non-football fans going because they want to be a part of something and have a good laugh.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    Extract from Andrea Pirlos new book on Ireland in Euro 2012:

"Their team were S*it but they had the best fans in the world ...... Ever"
    Pretty sure the quote is a fake.

The best fans in the world go to Euro 2012 for a holiday and good time - getting too drunk to even follow the match properly, having sing songs and doing the Poznan while their team is playing atrociously and embarrassing the whole country while the other 15 nations laugh at us?

I know for a fact that a LOT of the same fans that Pirlo is patting on the back never went to a single football match or watched a match on TV before they headed over to Poznan to convene for a glorified **** up. "F*ck the recession, we're on a session".

Ok.
    This isn't directed just at you TOWK, because it's a view that has been expressed by other posters, people and pundits plenty in the past two years, but it is a view that almost singularly short circuits my fury core.

It's just a dismissive, snobby generalisation that bears no relation to what I experienced out there ie fans who were alternately frustrated, exasperated, angered and ultimately heartbroken by the team but nonetheless wanted to show support at the moment they were exiting the competition. A competition thousands will never have the chance to return to.

Bungle's response is sufficient. We don't have to hate ourselves all the time, we're generally a pretty sound bunch.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

417 Posts
    The only complaint i ever heard about the Irish fans was they leave a lot of litter around, and that was from POSH who had to pick it up that one time.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Pretty sure the quote is a fake.

This isn't directed just at you TOWK, because it's a view that has been expressed by other posters, people and pundits plenty in the past two years, but it is a view that almost singularly short circuits my fury core.

It's just a dismissive, snobby generalisation that bears no relation to what I experienced out there ie fans who were alternately frustrated, exasperated, angered and ultimately heartbroken by the team but nonetheless wanted to show support at the moment they were exiting the competition. A competition thousands will never have the chance to return to.

Bungle's response is sufficient. We don't have to hate ourselves all the time, we're generally a pretty sound bunch.
    Didnt go myself, and can understand both points tbf, but knew many that went over since it was their first chance of a big final, so cant be too hard on a lot of the fans. I mean its easy for us that had 88 to 94, and 2002, but imagine having to wait another 8 years or so for the next big tourno...

517 Posts
    I get it. It's just that the team may be affected on a psychological level in that it may cushion the blow of poor performances and poor results and they may inclined to think that they are somewhat acceptable if they see the fans behaving in such a way. It becomes a bit of a self-fulfilling prophecy.

We can't be patting ourselves on the back after results like the one in Stockholm anymore after shooting ourselves in the foot. And no more "cat is in the bag" nonsense after qualifying for tournaments.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    Well said. And I really don't have a problem with non-football fans going because they want to be a part of something and have a good laugh.
    All fans have to start somewhere.

417 Posts
    Anyone paying the money for the flight, the lodgings, food, tickets, booze, replacement for lost cell phone, Penicillan shots, etc...should be able to at least enjoy themselves even if some of the more diehard are unpleased with the result. It's sports, not life and death, if it's your whole life you should maybe examine that and /or talk to a female you didnt have to give money to first and try to broaden your horizons!
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

24. Thanks From:

517 Posts
    Cop on Crosby. Good lad.

2,284 Posts
    Crosby in serious, wise words shocker.

27. Thanks From:

2,796 Posts
    I get it. It's just that the team may be affected on a psychological level in that it may cushion the blow of poor performances and poor results and they may inclined to think that they are somewhat acceptable if they see the fans behaving in such a way. It becomes a bit of a self-fulfilling prophecy.

We can't be patting ourselves on the back after results like the one in Stockholm anymore after shooting ourselves in the foot. And no more "cat is in the bag" nonsense after qualifying for tournaments.
    You should check out what Keith Andrews said in the Examiner. Pretty much the definitive piece on the topic IMHO.

Page 22 of 23 FirstFirst ... 1220212223 LastLast