Thread: ROI house/pub/pre-match/match/post-match/funnies thread...

305 Posts

ROI house/pub/pre-match/match/post-match/funnies thread...

305 Posts

46 Posts
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qykUdp4qRXE

Nice welcome for England team in Poland by Irish Fans

229 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post

.....and the best pint of Macardles in the world.

1,813 Posts
    That's almost oxymoronic.

*nb . I have been known to enjoy a pint of macardles in my time.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    Were they booing because Rio wasn't picked?

1,522 Posts
    Maybe they're booing because people chose to mess up a decent song with those extra shouty bits. Feckin hate that.

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qykUdp4qRXE

Nice welcome for England team in Poland by Irish Fans
    Closest most of them will have gotten to their heroes.

*Cough* Oireland Forum *Cough*

Also, while far from a republican, I am of the firm belief that anyone who writes a slogan on the national flag should be ashamed of themselves.
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 07/06/2012 at 2:40 PM. Reason: "put down" may be a bit strong.

1,522 Posts
    That's funny, cause I always think anyone who gets het up about that should be crucified.

Why??

1,522 Posts
    It just bugs me. I know there are rules there, but I don't see the harm in people using the flag for banners as long as there is nothing offensive in it. And I don't think there's enough crucifixion these days.

I changed put down cos I thought twas a bit strong tbf.

If you're going to get into putting down people for being morons you're getting into eugenics and social engineering and that and it's not really a discussion for foot.ie.

Writing slogans on the national flag is syptomatic of two things rampant in the Oirish support - Ingerlund aping (the writing on the flag in the first place) and mortifying paddywhackery (the writing of "funny" slogans)

"Davy Keogh Says Hello"

"Ah jaysus and begorrah, isn't Davy a gas man with his flag."

Not really no, he's a tosspot.

2,337 Posts
    The Cavern Bar in Letterkenny. Half of the town here is plastered with tricolours and some bars are putting in ridiculous amounts of effort just for the Euros. This I thought was very good though.

2,337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    Closest most of them will have gotten to their heroes.
    Some serious arguments going around t'interweb about this. 'It's completely different when they're playing for England because we're meant to hate them then'. Quite funny really.

1,522 Posts
    Agree on Davy Keogh. Met him once and he was a complete hoorbag.

I was tempted to define what was in my view OK and not OK, but who's to judge? What to me is cool might to others be disrespectful. So I guess the only thing you can really do is a full ban or let people do what they want, and I tend towards the latter.

I know some of them are silly, but I like the way they reflect how support for the team comes from all over the country and diaspora and from many different clubs etc. I'm pretty sure many countries do it other than England, although maybe they started it.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Agree on Davy Keogh. Met him once and he was a complete hoorbag.

He is Ireland's number one supporter dont you know!

870 Posts
    The pubs in Ravensdale and Letterkenny must have got cheap from across the Border - funny shade of orange/red! and ye think they would have no shortage of good orange paint in N.I.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    The pubs in Ravensdale and Letterkenny must have got cheap from across the Border - funny shade of orange/red! and ye think they would have no shortage of good orange paint in N.I.

Are you serious? I can't see a thing wrong with the orange on either of them?
    Find me on Twitter @ImRedLen

870 Posts
    Not really though they do look more Italian but sure its the thought that counts