Page 7 of 20 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: How the rest of the world see us....

3,499 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    * Weren't all 3 opponents number 1 seeds in qualifying, or were Croatia a high number 2 in Greece's group? Were we the only no. 3 seed to actually qualify (Czechs?)?
    yep, all three were top seeds in qualifying, and we were the only 3rd seed to qualify
    Second seeds that didn't qualify were Switzerland, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia and Romania.

all here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Eu...fying#Seedings

2,796 Posts
    I always bemoaned the disappearance of the Molly Malone chorus at both the football and rugby. There was some inserting of add-ons into TFOA but not widespread and I think the long bit at the end of the Spain game didn't have any. Not 100% sure but that's what I thought.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    yep, all three were top seeds in qualifying, and we were the only 3rd seed to qualify
    Second seeds that didn't qualify were Switzerland, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia and Romania.

all here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Eu...fying#Seedings
    Also I believe we drew the top seed in each pot and as there were 4 groups the chance of that
    happening are 4x4x4=64-1

Also as the event happens once in 4 years we shold not expect this to happen again 256 years!!! (provided we qualify).

Not sure how often we have qualified but at a rough estimate we should not expect it to happen again for about 1000 years!!!!

( which is just as well).

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    I watched all 3 of the South's games
    South Korea were playing?

There does, however, appear to be a problem amongst a minority of your support (in particular Nordies) away from the match - add ons to "The Fields", for example, whereby some of your fans seem to want to have sexual intercourse with Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth and to express their support for a terrorist organisation that slaughtered ad maimed thousands of Irish men women and children - quite an irony that the FAI saw fit to remember the victims of a cowardly, murderous, sectarian attack by vermin involved in a terrorist gang but yet some of your fans see fit to glorify equally repulsive terrorists of a different hue.

The Belfast Newsletter carried front page headlines of the antics of some of your sectarian Nordie fans who thought it great craic to have their sectarianism exposed on You Tube.
    Yawn.

Whereas no fans of the North did likewise in February or has ever done at any of your other games?

And their 'own' army has of course always acted in an exemplary manner, both in Ireland and beyond...
    Yeah, right.
    Last edited by ArdeeBhoy; 21/06/2012 at 8:49 PM.

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Yawn.

Whereas no fans of the North did likewise in February or has ever done at any of your other games?

And their 'own' army has of course always acted in an exemplary manner, both in Ireland and beyond...
    Yeah, right.
    "They do it too" isn't really an excuse for blatant ****tery from our fans. Yeah, plenty of Norn Iron fans are sectarian, but plenty of Italian fans are racist, doesn't mean that the decent Italian fans can't condemn racism from Spanish or Polish supporters.

446 Posts
    Except I didn't say they can't...

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Any actual evidence of this sectarian chanting that the Irish fans got upto in Poland?

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Any actual evidence of this sectarian chanting that the Irish fans got upto in Poland?
    There was plenty of evidence on You Tube.

http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/loc...torm-1-3936727
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

446 Posts
    That article (and the related comments) are laughable...

Thanks for cheering us up.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    There was plenty of evidence on You Tube.

http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/loc...torm-1-3936727

That doesnt show any examples of sectarianism, or a youtube link (or did I miss it?).
    Are our northern neighbours a bit jealous perhaps? 3 fans arrested out of 25,000!! (for vandalism)
    Last edited by bennocelt; 22/06/2012 at 4:14 PM.

2,284 Posts
    That article is indeed laughable.

Quote Originally Posted by Belfast Newsletter
    Danny Kennedy and Gregory Campbell were speaking after video footage appeared on the YouTube website showing supporters in the Republic’s colours singing “IRA” and “**** the Queen” on the streets of Krakow.

Newry and Armagh UUP MLA Mr Kennedy said there is no place in sport for sectarianism but feels the latest incident has received little or no media attention — unlike the press onslaught faced by Northern Ireland fans following an incident in Dublin last year.

In the video, six fans are initially involved but then meet up with around 30 others outside a bar who join in.

The supporters can be clearly heard singing the offensive lyrics during a rendition of the Fields of Athenry.
    I'm assuming this is the clip of the "sectarian storm" under scrutiny:

It's a segment from this longer one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IdECN...eature=related

What is noticeable is that the only people who chant "IRA" (is that indicative of sectarianism anyway?) when the two groups converge are those from the original six-man group. Rather than continuing with 'The Fields of Athenry', the crowd then launches into a rendition of "COYBIG", some of them possibly uneasy with hearing IRA chants.

“Unfortunately this has happened before,” [Gregory Campbell] said.

“There have been incidents at international matches in Dublin when the visiting teams have featured players from Glasgow Rangers who were constantly booed when they touched the ball.
    For a sec, I thought he was going to refer in condemnatory fashion to another incident that occurred in Dublin in February of last year.

“On most occasions when these sort of things happen it isn’t a majority of fans engaged in it, but that is equally true when it was Northern Ireland fans so it should be condemned by all sports fans.”
    Oh, here we are... I see; so, his actual motive is bitterness at the previous public/media treatment of sectarian chanting by NI fans? Did Campbell publicly condemning that incident in Lansdowne Road last year? I didn't hear a whimper.

Speaking last night, Mr Kennedy said: “At a time when European football is under particular scrutiny for racism, I think many will view this type of behaviour as equating to that."
    Racist?

One fan said: “If this had been Northern Ireland fans it would’ve been all over the news.”
    But it is in the news...

The video was posted on the internet four days ago and since then three Irish fans have been arrested in Pozan where the Republic played their opening match against Croatia last night.
    On terrorism charges, I suppose?

446 Posts
    Aye, without condoning a few hotheads, once again "Double Standards'R'Us"...

HAHAHA 3 out of how many thousand? I heard one of the arrests was a fella that got so drunk he soiled himself. Pity there wasn't a copy of the Newsletter lying around so he could clean himself up before the coppers noticed.

131 Posts
    Post #92 is very telling.

2,284 Posts
    O'Shea's Boot didn't elaborate on the content of the chanting. I'd be interested in knowing what he heard.

446 Posts
    Heh, if that's the best the detractors can do.

Anyway, posted by Aido P in another thread...

"Looks like the Polish are trying to get a friendly between Poland and Ireland for some time later this year:

http://www.poland-ireland.com/

A Polish colleague of mine who lives in Poznan wrote an email containing this text this morning:

Anyway - feedback in local newspapers after Irish fans stay is very positive in most than 90% of population.
    What I read , Poznań council town considers to establish partnerships with some Irish city , and Polish fans would like to organize something in Poznań with participation of Irish . eg friendly football match , etc.
    Whole Poland says that the atmosphere you showed should be a practical lesson for other nations to enjoy such events with fun.

Once again thank you for your contribution to the society :-)

I'm sure everybody else who went there has had a similar response from Polish people they know so it's all good."

131 Posts
    Some of you lads obviously think that sectarian chanting and loutish behaviour is "laughable".

That's quite sad really.

2,284 Posts
    Some of you lads obviously think that sectarian chanting and loutish behaviour is "laughable".

That's quite sad really.
    What gave you that impression?

156 Posts

That's quite sad really.
    Singing the FOA is not sectarian. It is a ballad song that for me is beautiful. However, when some of our fans chant IRA at the end of its verse it is. My ancestors were in the IRA but I absolutely despise the modern IRA. I hang my head in shame when that part is sung. The vast vast majority of Irish fans do not join in with this chorus, but there are pockets that do.

446 Posts
    People in their glass houses. You have to love them.

Page 7 of 20 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast