Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: How the rest of the world see us....

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    so you judge by the number of fruitcakes on this forum as opposed to the erm, thousands, of fans who travel to tournaments wearing their local teams jerseys...

Im sure theres on or two nutbars who dont support the national team, as there are in England, but its not representative of LOI fans in any way and therefore is just a myth that a lot of barstoolers buy into to make themselves feel better about not supporting the local game.
    Well, it becomes a debate about numbers, maybe its thousands, more likely hundreds, but I think it does exist.

123 Posts
    Some reaction to our fans booing of Balotelli

http://www.oasisblues.com/2012/06/no...premature.html

The Irish fans booed Mario Balotelli when he entered at the end, clearly nervous. Congratulations for the "people known as anti-racist"... another false myth. All the Irish people I talked to, they were all racists. Also, the other day fighting against Croatians.
    Roy Keane was right, ****e crowd, they're childish. Also, booing when gentleman Pirlo was injured, they don't know anything about football. Go back to your sheep. You can see why in England there are so many jokes about them...someone should teach them some lesson about how to behave in public...
    Of course all the people go: oh credit to the Irish... they deserved. Yes, a kick in the ass.

1,825 Posts
    Were they not booing Andrews' innocuous red card?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,796 Posts
    No matter how cynical one is about our support, that post barely deserves comment. Does Murf really believe Irish fans were booing Balotelli?

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Toyed with the idea of not even replying to this, one guy on an obscure 'all things Oasis/Man City & England' forum decided to cry race because an Ireland gallery stacked with Man Utd men boos Balotelli, and decided we need we need a lesson on how to behave in public into the bargain. An England fan, can throw no stones in our direction on that front I can assure you. Just because they haven't wrecked the place yet, this time round over there.

Murf, nothing damaged here but your own credibility as a poster.

123 Posts
    Balotelli was quite clearly booed as he entered the pitch, the Andrews red card was 14 minutes later so I'm not sure how you'd get them mixed up.

2:06 on the RTE player, perhaps they were all saying "boo-urns"? Shameful of your character if you try to justify it or deny it happened.
    Last edited by Murfinator; 19/06/2012 at 4:10 PM.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Murfinator View Post
    Balotelli was quite clearly booed as he entered the pitch, the Andrews red card was 14 minutes later so I'm not sure how you'd get them mixed up.

2:06 on the RTE player, perhaps they were all saying "boo-urns"? Shameful of your character if you try to justify it or deny it happened.
    Sure what do you expect? Of course all the United fans were going to boo the City player?

Throwing flares would have been a more suitably ironic reception, albeit it would have been ludicrously dangerous.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Sure what do you expect? Of course all the United fans were going to boo the City player?
    I would imagine thats all it is, the rival of our fans "local team".

Given the tensions around Balotelli and what happened in previous matches the rest of the world will not have seen it like that, I don't think it was a wise move for our fans reputation to boo him on the sidelines like that.

2,796 Posts
    I didn't hear it but if it's true it's nothing short of moronic on every count - how it could be perceived and because English /Scottish club football is an irrelevance to following Ireland.

I told my missus before the event that I was worried some of the newer fans wouldn't respect the old traditions and understand the nuances of following Ireland over a club team. Obviously I was right to worry. I think something special was lost in the Swiss home match post-Saipan in 2002.

In general I think the fans were great. I agree that mutual back slapping about being great is naff though, but the fans themselves are not the sinister antithesis of "real" football fans that many make out.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 19/06/2012 at 6:02 PM.

1,928 Posts
    Some reaction to our fans booing of Balotelli

http://www.oasisblues.com/2012/06/no...premature.html
    That has to be the shíttiest piece of juvenile garbage I've read in years.
    Fair play to your endeavours to dig up some dirt, that one takes the biscuit.

Hi guys - havent posted for a while as been away with work and started family etc - just back from Poland and all in all it was good craic - the football was dire though - we looked like a tired clueless bunch at times - most annoying was the Italy game even though it didnt matter for anything - we've drawn twice and beaten them once in last three meeting but at the tournament we rolled over.

Overall again our fans were superb - one problem i do have though are some of the supporters from the North (Im originally from the North) - some of them are intent in dragging up sectarian crap at every opportunity. The vast majority of Ireland fans dont give a toss about the North, the politics or the sectarian chanting. Give it up lads or please stay at home
    Last edited by O'Shea's Boot; 19/06/2012 at 6:39 PM.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    A lot of them dont seem to care about anything really only where the next pint is coming from

Just wondering who they were trying to offend - in Poland playing against Croatia, italy and Spain - Jeez you couldnt get more catholic,lol!
    Last edited by bennocelt; 19/06/2012 at 6:58 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    A lot of them dont seem to care about anything really only where the next pint is coming from

Just wondering who they were trying to offend - in Poland playing against Croatia, italy and Spain - Jeez you couldnt get more catholic,lol!
    totally agree - support Ireland end of - all this sectarian/political **** has no place in our support

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Does that include a song about the famine as well?

(TBH - dont mind the odd rebel song in a bar after a good few beers myself, but its not to everyone taste, but not at a game)
    Last edited by bennocelt; 19/06/2012 at 7:29 PM.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I didn't hear it but if it's true it's nothing short of moronic on every count - how it could be perceived and because English /Scottish club football is an irrelevance to following Ireland.

I told my missus before the event that I was worried some of the newer fans wouldn't respect the old traditions and understand the nuances of following Ireland over a club team. Obviously I was right to worry. I think something special was lost in the Swiss home match post-Saipan in 2002.
    Weren't Rangers players (and players mistaken for Rangers players) roundly booed in Lansdowne for years, including pre-2002?

Yes. On one memorable occasion, the stadium announcer indicated that Peter Lovenkrands, then of Rangers, had come for Denmark in a friendly to a chorus of boos. Unfortunately, the announcer had made a mistake and it was in fact a different player.

1,928 Posts
    Yeah, I wouldn't trust a Nordie if my life depended upon it. How on earth have the Nordies escaped our wrath after this Euro debacle? They should be the first to go.

What's a sectarian song these days, 'Come on you boys in green'? 'The boys of the green brigade'? 'A Trap lullaby'? 'I love 442' ?

1,825 Posts
    Also, booing when gentleman Pirlo was injured, they don't know anything about football.
    This is what I was referring to with regards to Andrews' red card.

Ballotelli was so clearly booed I didn't feel the need to comment on it.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Quote Originally Posted by O'Shea's Boot View Post
    Hi guys - havent posted for a while as been away with work and started family etc - just back from Poland and all in all it was good craic - the football was dire though - we looked like a tired clueless bunch at times - most annoying was the Italy game even though it didnt matter for anything - we've drawn twice and beaten them once in last three meeting but at the tournament we rolled over.

Overall again our fans were superb - one problem i do have though are some of the supporters from the North (Im originally from the North) - some of them are intent in dragging up sectarian crap at every opportunity. The vast majority of Ireland fans dont give a toss about the North, the politics or the sectarian chanting. Give it up lads or please stay at home
    This post is just as much of a generalisation as the one on the oasisblues site.

Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast