Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: English team arrive to greetings from Irish supporters

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    I'll be interested to see how England do. But its all about Ireland for me, what England do is largely irrelevant.

In fairness I think what happened what primarily just banter, still thou if I knew the England team bus was around the corner, don't think I'd bother go for a look
    Course you would!!
    I bet you would.
    I would I woudl take a look if Jedwards or One Directions tour bus turned up round the corner despite
    not wanting to be associated with either. It's normal curiosity.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    It could have been helped if the Irish fans (or at least a small number of them) hadn't decided to act like idiots.
    I agree. All this behaviour shows to the average English person is that we are a small nation still carrying a chip on our shoulder. The English generally couldn't give a **** about the Irish team, we are not even on their radar most of the time.

417 Posts
    You love Jedward Tricky.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mark12345 View Post
    I'm not saying he is or isn't and if he is that's his problem. But it's not outs. Why are our lads going out of their way to start the sh**. What was all that about the great Irish supporters and how they travel so well and make friends wherever they go?

But I guess I'm in the minority here. I have been in the company of English fans and paid them the due respect when their team was playing. Found I got as good as I gave. But as I say, I'm in the minority.
    What sh*t? It's banter, as countless others have said. You're so wrong about decent 'Ingerland' fans it's untrue. We just respect each other. End of.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    All this behaviour shows to the average English person is that we are a small nation still carrying a chip on our shoulder. The English generally couldn't give a **** about the Irish team, we are not even on their radar most of the time.
    Where have you been living?
    Or are you oblivious to the last 800+ years of Irish history??

2,284 Posts
    I agree. All this behaviour shows to the average English person is that we are a small nation still carrying a chip on our shoulder. The English generally couldn't give a **** about the Irish team, we are not even on their radar most of the time.
    Dunno about that. They seemed pretty pumped up for a friendly the last time we played them:

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    You love Jedward Tricky.
    Certainly do, got all their records, and wait outside their hotel screaming my pants off!!

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Certainly do, got all their records, and wait outside their hotel screaming my pants off!!
    That's a very important "s". I read it a bit too quickly there a second ago.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

621 Posts
    I am really surprised by all these comments, apparently it was the English fans who started chanting "Thierry Henry" at the Irish fans.
    What it shows to me is a bunch or bored Irish fan's going to greet the English team in typical football fan irreverent manner.
    This kind of stuff is bog standard in the English leagues between rivals, except that this is far milder and friendlier.
    Had a Man U coach drove through Liverpool it would likely have had it's windows smashed.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    That's a very important "s". I read it a bit too quickly there a second ago.
    I see what you mean!!

1,825 Posts
    I am really surprised by all these comments, apparently it was the English fans who started chanting "Thierry Henry" at the Irish fans.
    What it shows to me is a bunch or bored Irish fan's going to greet the English team in typical football fan irreverent manner.
    This kind of stuff is bog standard in the English leagues between rivals, except that this is far milder and friendlier.
    Had a Man U coach drove through Liverpool it would likely have had it's windows smashed.
    Imagine if they drove their coach through Sligo.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

621 Posts
    I see the video has 'gone global' on the youtube sports most viewed page!!
    Unsurprisingly I might add.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Imagine if they drove their coach through Sligo.
    Or even worse, Doire. Or more seriously Dundalk!!

Not Ringsend, mind.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Dunno about that. They seemed pretty pumped up for a friendly the last time we played them:

Though actually I'm wrong. These cretins the Guards struggled with initially should remember Ringsend.
    The first part of their downwards spiral that evening...

417 Posts
    What with the racism, the various situation of injuries, and bound to be surprise teams, plus the usual problem of "its not a party without the Irish" solved...
    This may be one hell of a time.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

Quote Originally Posted by mark12345 View Post
    This is hooliganism? My good god are you for real?

Yeah, I am for real. Are you?

Look at what happened and how it's going to be perceived.

A bunch of Irish showed up at the England team's arrival reception and started shouting: "you'll never beat the Irish" and also called John Terry a racist. First of all they went out of their way to show up at an event which had nothing to do with Ireland and therefore it will be perceived that these clown were looking to start trouble. And that is exactly what they were doing.

English people, anywhere they may be, can only feel slighted by that sort of behaviour - given that it was unprovoked - and who the hell can blame them? And that could very easily translate into a hiding for some innocent Irish person during the tournament if the Irish / English paths should cross. I mean it's simple logic.

As JByrne says. How would we feel if a group of English fans did the same?

If you can't see that logic my friend, well.........................
    Seriously lad, if this is what you think hooliganism is, you're living a very sheltered life.

Like most, I wouldn't give a flying feck if English fans do the same. It's football. There's was nothing over the top and no 'party tunes'. You're 'logic' is sensitive over the top nonsense.

610 Posts
    Both of them? Cool!!!
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234