from what i've been told, the club have requested 50 stewards from the fai or rovers fans will not be allowed into the ground.
i know some people think this is not possible, but flancre park is private property after all.
does anybody know if there is any extra security measures in place for the cup match ?
we need extra gardai for a start,4 or 5 won't do.
the scenes at the last game cannot be repeated.
from what i've been told, the club have requested 50 stewards from the fai or rovers fans will not be allowed into the ground.
i know some people think this is not possible, but flancre park is private property after all.
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
I think the FAI ae providing extra security plus I would think there will be significantly more gardai
Get real FFS. Maybe the fact that you have to split the gate would prompt such a stupid move. It would be Health and Safety insanity to lock out a potentially very large away support. Even Longford Town aren't that thick... or are they?Originally Posted by max power
No One Likes Us, We Don't Care
I dont think it'll come to that. It's just a case of getting the FAI to take responsibility for security, which will probably suit ye too
here is a strange idea, if ya don't like it stay at.....eh home....
sorry but after the trouble of the last game money is not the main worry, health and safety is, of our fans within the ground.
having a half build ground for 3 years is thick, letting scum ruin the name of your club is thick......look closer to...home ( if ya had one ) before mentioning our club.
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
There's no way they can stop Rovers fans coming in anyway. Unless it's all ticket, with none on sale on the day, Rovers fans without colours will always get in.
Secondly, we need the money from the gate too much to consider a ban.
Thirdly, how many complaints about the stewards in Flancare does it take for Longford fans to accept that trouble isn't necessarily the fault of the away fans?
Certainly at the league game, if the Rovers fans had been let down the other end there would've been no trouble, and whatever about the incident that started the fighting, some stewards hardly helped calm the situation and infact repeatedly inflamed it.
macy why should they be let move ?? ya can't move in any other league, english, spain, italy.....away fans are put in a certain area.....just as we are in richmond when we play them....ya don't see us fighting about it..
sorry macy yes you can ban ANYONE from private property, simple legal fact....the money would be nice, but a stand needs to be taken by some club about the thug element within rovers, and why not us.
Yeah our stewards can over-react alright but as regards last time the Rovers fans were told to stay behind the goals why did they insist on going down the other end, whats the point in having segregation if its just ignored. Thats just a small issue.I would think they'll all be let in the far side with our fans either going behind the goals or in the main stand
Section O ????????Originally Posted by Longfordian
They may have to have another temporary home for the night, dont think its been decided yet though
on a seperate but slightly releated issue, will Section O have to move for the league cup final also....
Dont know but I would guess they won't..
Segregation? You are taking the píss. A properly segregated area would mean no mixing between the fans. Not keeping them in an area that Town fans have to walk past (and vica versa if we're giving them the section O side) to go the jacks etc.
If we are going for the psuedo segregation, why give in to the trouble and let them move in the end? If it was that big an issue, the stewards and guards shouldn't have given in. If it wasn't that big an issue (as it isn't for every other club in the league), then they should've been let move in the first place and then there wouldn't have been any trouble. As far as I can remember they have been let move before, so why stop it for that game?
tbh It seems to me that it's all about people in the club/stand getting on the high horse - "they should do what they were told", when the people down the section O side had no problem with them changing ends, even after the trouble. I didn't see anyone move around the ground as a result of the Rovers fans being let down.
To me, the bottom line is either get the ground sorted so that proper segregation is doable - Seperate Entrance, Seperate Jacks, Seperate Shop, or treat the away fans with respect and let them swop ends if they want. The Club/Stewards/Guards let Rovers reputation proceed them, and made sure they got what they expected.
some good points there macy, but the simple fact remains that there was no seperate shop, etc for me either in richmond.....we are not the only club in this boat and improvments are needed.
the league cup final will be another one, will the away support be given a specific area, for example will section O have to move again, given the night and the athmosphere thatis needed that would be a crying shame.
plus the ground wasn't the only place rovers "fans" caused trouble on their last visit...but proper stewerds and training for them is needed badly in flancare and other EL grounds.
one question i would ask is what are the rovers board doing to stop this element with in their club, little from what i can see.
There is a separate gate and there will be separate jacks and shop in place as there was for the UEFA game. The club wasnt blameless but it wasnt all their fault either, it wasnt handled right but hopefully it will be in future
lads i thinks its pointless who was/is to blame.
i have my own thoughts on it but the point should be that in the interest of safety that adequete security must be in place.
what longfordian has said regarding separate areas should help but the personnell must be there in case people(rowdies,from either side)show up looking for a digging match
Contrary to popular belief Rovers fans don't "show up looking for a digging match" but when we are treated like scum we tend to react whether this is in Cork, Longford or anywhere else. The constant high horse nonsense from other fans doesn't help and only reinforces our seige mentality.
Check out my signature, it's there for a reason. Personally I hope and expect that there will be zero trouble on Saturday, my only worry is your new found form and our total crapness.![]()
you don't care, thats the problem...what have your club done to root out these guys, i have heard they are involved in the 400 club so the club wont turf them out...Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
its amazing rovers never cause trouble at home ( no pun intended ), maybe someone might see them and something would be done...
they are a club with a lot of history and its a pity this element is destroying the good name of rovers, maybe if the fans actually cared instead of backing up this scum element, then the problem could be solved for good.
Christ Almighty!! It's like talking to a brick wall.Originally Posted by max power
Macy, have a word with this chap will you?