Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: security for rovers match

75 Posts

Im a trained steward have attended over 3 different course under the FAI and ive never seen Stewards like the ones in Longford with a group of them more interested in causing trouble than keeping a calm atmosphere and being helpful to home and away fans.

The myth of Galway Fans and broken seats in Flancare is still going on I was there that night and there was one seat broken when we scored the winning goal ive been going to GUFC games home and away for 19 years and ive yet to see any rouble caused by our fans .There was two Longford Stewards that night who abused women and children and wanted to pick a fight with all and sundry one of whom was particularly annoyed that we knew his name and went ballistic when someone told him they would be reporting him.

The FAI also have a problem with the attidude of Longford stewards and there has been run ins with them at u21 matches and the cup semi final last year.

Having read the numerous posts on this topic over the last few days i have to say that i am amazed at the amount of idiots using this forum.There can be absolutely no excuse what so ever for the behaviour of a certain amount of Rovers fans in Flancare.It was a disgrace to themselves,their club & the Eircom League.All they had to do is sit where they were told to sit and that's it.Anyone who tries in anyway to make excuses for this is braindead.The amazing thing about all of this is that it is not an isolated incident with the Rovers fans but funnily enough there never to blame.The fact is that if they behaved themselves like most other EL fans then this thread would be non existent.You can blame all the Stewards in the world but people are responsible for their own actions so whoever you are and whatever club you support when you go to a game follow the instructions of the stewards,cheer on your team,give the ref & linesman hell,go for a few pints afterwards to discuss the match but most of all enjoy yourself without causing trouble.99% of people who go to sport events can do so it can't be that hard.As for the match in Flancare lets just all hope it's a great match with a great atmosphere and whatever the result no one has any complaints after.
    Last edited by Wiseguy; 18/08/2004 at 9:21 AM.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

sorry wiseguy this thread has developed into a wider debate about the stewards in general at the Flansiro, some are good, very good.

but some are just plain useless and make the club look bad. i deal with security staff 4/5 nights a week through my work and i have to say if these guys were on a door of a pub for one night they would land themselves in hospital.

i have had some training in crowd control for various work i have done in the past and when you see a problem developing and say it to a steward...and the answer you get is to just "fcuk off and sit down" then what do you say ???

on the pitch isn't the only place LTFC need to be professional, off it is just as important as these stewards, like it or not, or the public face of our club on match days.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Well Mark i'm sorry to hear you've encountered such an idiot in Flancare.I do hope you reported him to both his superior and the club because it is the only way to nip this in the bud.I also have crowd control/Stewarding training and that certainly isn't the way to react or deal with a complaint.I deal with very large stubborn crowds ( Connaught GAA Matches ) and common sence is everything.Spotting the potential of trouble and stopping it before it starts.All you have to do is talk people down.It's embarassing that LTFC stewards are behaving like this and if they are then people should report them but that is still no excuse for starting a mass brawl and that is the point i'm trying to make.If you are having genuine problems with a steward report him don't start fighting.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

oh well said, its like fighting with a door man because he won't let you in, what the point ??? I did say it to someone in the club and i was told he would be talked to.

Connaught Gaa matches, oh my God. I'm off to say a few hail marys for ya.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

I need those prayers.There is nothing quite like trying to deal with a thick whore from connemara who won't speak English to you and is about to trottle you for refusing him entry to the stand because he dosen't have a ticket.Rovers fans are pussy's compared to these guys mind you the behaviour of the Dubs in Carrick-on-Shannon V Leitrim was incredible.I don't think there was a sober one out of the 6 or 7000 that made the trip.One guy was going to kill me because it was raining.Now last time i checked i wasn't mother nature or god.

Quote Originally Posted by Incider
    The rovers fans will be in sections J, K and L. they will have their own shop and toilets and will have stewards that the FAI are sending down, there will also be Guards down from dublin. Longford fans will not be allowed the far side of the pitch. The stand and goal end will be open to town fans.

Does that mean we're behind the goal?
    If Longford fans aren't allowed on the far side of the pitch, surely we will be able to move freely?

Quote Originally Posted by Thirsty Hoop
    Does that mean we're behind the goal?
    If Longford fans aren't allowed on the far side of the pitch, surely we will be able to move freely?
    The bottom end goals are closed due to health and safety. It's undecided whether they'll be Town fans allowed in their usual sports opposite the Stand.

There's gonna be a big travelling support from the Hoops........hope your ready
    15 Leagues & how many cups????

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A..J.
    There's gonna be a big travelling support from the Hoops........hope your ready

it should be a cracking encounter.
    lets keep all the action on the pitch

and i can see shane robinson getting such a nice responce form de town fans

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    and i can see shane robinson getting such a nice responce form de town fans

Can you blame him? The lad needs to take out life insurance whenever he plays against Longford. You lads are the biggest hackers since Bray.

i'm on about the gestures he made to de town fans in inchicore, if he wishes to do stuff like that he is welcome to walk up to me and do it directly to me face and i promise to give him a choice of hopsitals to wake up in.....

i remember trevor molloy being kicked off the pitch up in longford last season.
    barry ferguson=dirtiest fukcer in the league.
    the rest of the longford players are not far behind either.
    longford are shyte but unfortunately their physical approach tends to work against us in flancare. im not confident of winning this game....

Quote Originally Posted by anto eile
    i remember trevor molloy being kicked off the pitch up in longford last season.
    barry ferguson=dirtiest fukcer in the league.
    the rest of the longford players are not far behind either.
    longford are shyte but unfortunately their physical approach tends to work against us in flancare. im not confident of winning this game....
    oh he is an aggressive defender..........not a dirty player!! In your eyes we may be "shyte" but we have won our last two games since our encounter with ye, yez have lost two!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

44 Posts
    I don’t know. Your poor supporters are being unfairly treated on the terraces, the team is being victimised on the pitch. Its everyone against poor rovers, is it?
    I never heard such shyte in all my life.
    It’s a accepted fact throughout the league, (and I know you don’t have to take my word for that) that your fans bring any trouble they get into onto themselves.
    As for the team, did they not get away with their last win in this fixture despite blatant hacking down of a player. We lived with it, you **** off and live with it too. It’s supposed to be a mans game.

Hard done by my arse.

now now its a ladies game too, remember mr robinson.

on another point i had to take public transport the other day ( awful expericence ) and i was sitting beside two rovers fans and we got chatting and guess what.....

they said they never cause trouble anywhere and that its the other clubs that do everything to them, to me that is the typical responce from any rovers fan i talk to.....cop on and get your house in order, no one is perfect but your taking the pi$$.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by max power
    i'm on about the gestures he made to de town fans in inchicore,..

very seldom a pro or semi player would react like that to the crowd.

as i've said above, he is welcome to do that to my face and see where he wakes up.....hard man when he has all his security to protect him......must let vinny know for sat, tell him to pretend its reynolds.....

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast