Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: security for rovers match

1,109 Posts
    I believe a number of recognised trouble makers are banned from Richmond, that was part of the deal to let Rovers back in. Shouldnt be that hard to spot them at away games either, but I have to agree that we cause a lot of our own problems with them, as I'd imagine other clubs do too, in terms of handling them right

typical response, ignore all i asked. Me and Macy having a chat, not likely.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

why should we have to handle them, we don't have to "handle" shels or cork. But our stewards are badly trained, if trained at all.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Contrary to popular belief Rovers fans don't "show up looking for a digging match" but when we are treated like scum we tend to react whether this is in Cork, Longford or anywhere else. The constant high horse nonsense from other fans doesn't help and only reinforces our seige mentality.

Check out my signature, it's there for a reason. Personally I hope and expect that there will be zero trouble on Saturday, my only worry is your new found form and our total crapness.

if you check my post it says quite clearly from EITHER side.
    absolutely no high horse in sight here i can tell you.

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    absolutely no high horse in sight here i can tell you.
    yeah i heard your more of a pram man

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Macy, have a word with this chap will you?
    I try to avoid him WAR, tbh....

Longfordian, I tried not to imply it was all the clubs fault, infact I'd put it down to individual stewards/ guards as much as anything. However, the stewarding has been a constant complaint since our second season in the premier and has severally effected goodwill towards the club. There's been less trouble at previous Rovers matches in Flancare than there's been against Bohs, yet it's still Rovers Scum this, Rovers Scum that. IMO the alledged trouble involving Rovers fans in Tarmon totally influenced their treatment in the ground, and had people "up" for the trouble.

IMO, it's very hard to ban individuals from any club without prosecutions and banning orders (are they even over here?). They only work in England as they're made to sign in at a Police station at kick off time, although most grounds have a CCTV set up similar to the one the bogballers where going on about last week (if though they're the only ground in Europe to have a set up like that ) Whatever about banning people from Richer, I remain to be convinced how it would operate league wide, and an totally against any bans without the offence being proven.

1,109 Posts
    Thats a very good point about the alleged trouble in Tarmon, it did put some stewards and Gardai on edge before the match now that I think of it. I suppose banning people from your ground for no reason except that they misbehaved at another ground wouldn't really be enforceable legally, I was thinking more of them being pointed out so you could keep an eye on them. To be honest I'd prefer to just look forward to the football match which given our improving form should give us a real chance of making the quarter finals again this year..

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian
    Thats a very good point about the alleged trouble in Tarmon, it did put some stewards and Gardai on edge before the match now that I think of it. I suppose banning people from your ground for no reason except that they misbehaved at another ground wouldn't really be enforceable legally, I was thinking more of them being pointed out so you could keep an eye on them. To be honest I'd prefer to just look forward to the football match which given our improving form should give us a real chance of making the quarter finals again this year..
    Banning someone from the ground is enforceable, for any reason you like. I'm sure you have seen the phrase "the management reserve the right to refuse admission", it's probably on most tickets to anything you have tickets for. Although no matter how right you might be banning an individual supporter from any club, the reality is that it could cause more trouble if his (or her) buddies find out.
    I think a plan is just a list of things that don't happen - Mr Parker

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Can't imagine you being too brave on Saturday Macy. You'd run a mile ! But at least you'd be courteous about it.
    Why should I be brave or otherwise, I don't have an illogical fear of Rovers fans! I have no more problems with Rovers fans, than with any other clubs. If they were treated the same as every other club that comes to Flancare, there wouldn't have been trouble the last time. If stewards hadn't kept going back in for more the trouble would've been over far quicker the last time too. If the guards had been nicking people that day, there would be Longford people charged as well as Rovers.

Bully boy tatics are what has tarnished the clubs image - everyone's impression of Rovers maybe of hooligan fans, but equally everyone's image of Longford is of over zealous stewards.

The opinion of people that side of the ground that day was "what were they doing not letting them through in the first place". That was people that would have to "suffer" them walking past us. It seems the people who have the biggest problem with all this are the yes men in the stand who won't/weren't anywhere near it in the first place.

[QUOTE=Macy]

everyone's image of Longford is of over zealous stewards.

QUOTE]

well said, heard it from fans of a lot of clubs.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    [, but equally everyone's image of Longford is of over zealous stewards.

What do you expect when visiting fans come West looking for trouble ? If Town fans acted similarly, don't you think we'd get a similar reception at Tolka, Richmond, etc., etc. ? Do you honestly think Ollie wouldn't have a couple of heavies at the top of Richmond road ready to beat the living hell out of any of us out to cause trouble ?
    Why should we be expected to lie down and let this thrash element walk all over us ? Would they be allowed do it in your beloved Old Trafford Macy ? Like hell !
    That's right, every club comes to Longford looking for trouble. Including Galway who actually head east looking for trouble, or Derry who are coming South. What exactly did all these fans do to provoke the stewards? Mind you, they're right to be scared cos we have so many problems with the Dubs in McDowells/the Bohs Bars/The Shels bar etc. Can't set foot in them without being attacked. No wonder the stewards have to be vigilant.

Wouldn't happen at OT, as the policing/stewarding is professional (and if over zealous it's aimed at the home fans ), and United fans wouldn't let it happen. However, I see few of the "crack down hard on the Rovers fans" brigade volunteering to steward for the game, just as there wasn't a mass exodus to "protect" all the "innocent" Longford fans that were involved in the trouble.....

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    That's right, every club comes to Longford looking for trouble.
    what?i go to the away matches with my fuppin dad and grandad and i dont remember causing havoc.

cork city fans regularly travel to longford and as my away trips a re curtailed to 2 or 3 a season i make the most of them and indeed lonford is a good place to go to,if anything the stewards take the pi$$ outta me
    j'accuse!

Quote Originally Posted by ccfcman
    what?i go to the away matches with my fuppin dad and grandad and i dont remember causing havoc.

cork city fans regularly travel to longford and as my away trips a re curtailed to 2 or 3 a season i make the most of them and indeed lonford is a good place to go to,if anything the stewards take the pi$$ outta me

read macy's sig........

1,109 Posts
    I think you may have missed the tone of the post there ccfc

Quote Originally Posted by ccfcman
    Do you like my signature?

Bully boy tatics are what has tarnished the clubs image - everyone's impression of Rovers maybe of hooligan fans, but equally everyone's image of Longford is of over zealous stewards.
    Who is this "everybody" you talk about?? Iv talked to fans from bohs, cork, derry, pats (all clubs basically) in the past in Longford and never has this great hatred of longford stewards being an issue.. Only last week i met 3 rovers fans on the way into town after the rovers waterford game in richmond park and they we re planning they re trip to longford for the cup asking me for places to stay etc. They said how they loved the away trip to longford and thought it was a great place to go..

So please man stop making such sweeping general statements with no basis in fact.

And if ur seriously blaming the stewards for the disgracful violence/coin throwing/general hooliganism that took place the last rovers match then u must be having a laugh

sorry it doesn't happen very often but i agree with a lot of macy's points. even as a town fan i've had a problem with the stewards in the past, if you've been a steward what trainng have you had in crowd management and control ???

Do you like my signature?
    *holds hands up*
    j'accuse!

did you get any training from the club or were you just handed a jacket and told, keep the peace ????

you seen at the rovers game what a lack of training can do.

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boots

So please man stop making such sweeping general statements with no basis in fact.

And if ur seriously blaming the stewards for the disgracful violence/coin throwing/general hooliganism that took place the last rovers match then u must be having a laugh
    Read the first sentence, pause for a moment to let it sink in, then read the second sentence.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast