Thread: Give Away Fans Less Space

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Is the derrynane side the smaller stand facing the big stand
    Yeah, away fans will now be situated exactly across the pitch from where they used to be...

(on a side note: I think it's a bit daft doing this as away fans will have to walk in front of the shed to get around there, bound to be a few idiots who'll make this a problem)
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Yeah, away fans will now be situated exactly across the pitch from where they used to be...

(on a side note: I think it's a bit daft doing this as away fans will have to walk in front of the shed to get around there, bound to be a few idiots who'll make this a problem)
    I think the plan is that away fans enter from the St. Anne's end from now on?

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    I think the plan is that away fans enter from the St. Anne's end from now on?
    Didn't realise that, still think it'll be a problem though
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

126 Posts
    quite a few of them went in the st anne's entrance anyway

IMO away fans should be segregated from home fans, whatever the game. It's done at every game over the water, so why not here?

Away fans should be directed to the St. Anne's end, under Garda escort if needs be. Their section should be fenced off and all the facilities they need, toilets, hot dogs, programmes etc, should be available to them without them having to walk around the ground. This would then eliminate any problems and make the Cross a really safe place to visit. Yes, there's hardly ever any away fans at City but it should still happen.
    Football is life. The rest is mere detail...

Quote Originally Posted by colblimp
    IMO away fans should be segregated from home fans, whatever the game. It's done at every game over the water, so why not here?

Away fans should be directed to the St. Anne's end, under Garda escort if needs be. Their section should be fenced off and all the facilities they need, toilets, hot dogs, programmes etc, should be available to them without them having to walk around the ground. This would then eliminate any problems and make the Cross a really safe place to visit. Yes, there's hardly ever any away fans at City but it should still happen.
    Thats a bit too much! Theres not that much trouble between fans in our league, Id agree with you otherwise!

Quote Originally Posted by colblimp
    Their section should be fenced off and all the facilities they need, toilets, hot dogs, programmes etc, should be available to them without them having to walk around the ground.
    I dunno .... i used to hate that in Italy, 10 foot barriers and huge pits in front of stands, .... really off putting, as it is only a game of ball, not a war zone.

In fairness that is one good thing about grounds here, you can mix with the other supporters and there generally isn't any hassle, just friendly banter if anything.

Maybe down the line if there is a need but we should enjoy that fact right now.

I think segregation is the best thing to do. Take last Saturday in Finn Park as an example. Most City fans spent ages before the game in the pub with harps fans, great atmosphere. During the game the atmosphere was grand as well, but then a few kids started messing with CCFC flags, and all of a sudden there's a confrontation between City fans and stewards which COULD have boiled over. After the game, things were grand again. I'd much rather there was no need for segregation, but all it takes is one kid messing and one angry response and you have trouble on your hands. If people want to mix with away fans, they can do so before/after the game. We've never had any really serious incident in this league, and IMO is best to eliminate any chance of hassle before anything happens.

The best safety move by the club in recent seasons is when they tarred over the stony ground around St. Annes end. It proved too tempting for some Rovers "fans" who threw stones into the crowd just after a game the season before last.
    I would not agree with a cordon at this stage, since things are reasonable OK still most of the time.
    One thing I would do, better than any cordon IMO, is have a minimum standard of stewarding. From what I have read in this forum, some of the stewards around the different clubs sound like thugs who are more likely to inflame a situation than calm it. I wonder if this matter is dealt with under the UEFA licensing process. If it is, I would like to see incidents reported, in order to force clubs to employ professionals, and not gougers.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    The best safety move by the club in recent seasons is when they tarred over the stony ground around St. Annes end. It proved too tempting for some Rovers "fans" who threw stones into the crowd just after a game the season before last.
    I would not agree with a cordon at this stage, since things are reasonable OK still most of the time.
    One thing I would do, better than any cordon IMO, is have a minimum standard of stewarding. From what I have read in this forum, some of the stewards around the different clubs sound like thugs who are more likely to inflame a situation than calm it. I wonder if this matter is dealt with under the UEFA licensing process. If it is, I would like to see incidents reported, in order to force clubs to employ professionals, and not gougers.
    The older guy at finn harps what a nutter!
    First Division Champions

24 Posts
    Most away fans do congregate together as it gives a better athmosphere. Cork's idea of a dedicated away section is good and hopefully some of the other clubs might follow. I think putting up barriers is going too far as there is little trouble. Leaving for Cork at 12.00 and looking forward to a good game.

Quote Originally Posted by kevincronin2000
    The older guy at finn harps what a nutter!
    I can agree totally with that, and can tell you that quite a few of the stewards at Harps don't have a very high opinion of him either!

Lads whats the story with entering the ground now with this new sh*te?

Can you enter the normal way and just walk around the big stand?

Or do you HAVE to enter through the St. annes end? (btw where the f**k is that entrance - at a guess I presume its turn right when you come out of the horseshoe, around the corner?) If you HAVE to enter the St. Annes end can you buy tickets there or do you still have to buy them at the main entrance?

Cheers!!

126 Posts
    On Monday, Sheliban Fans Went Out Past The Shed

Quote Originally Posted by anti dub

seems to defeat the purpose of the steps at the st annes end
    First Division Champions

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Lads whats the story with entering the ground now with this new sh*te?

Can you enter the normal way and just walk around the big stand?

Or do you HAVE to enter through the St. annes end? (btw where the f**k is that entrance - at a guess I presume its turn right when you come out of the horseshoe, around the corner?) If you HAVE to enter the St. Annes end can you buy tickets there or do you still have to buy them at the main entrance?

Cheers!!
    I think large groups of away fans will be directed to go in the St. Anne's end.

One or two away fans not wearing colours would get in the main entrance I'd say.

You're spot on with directions to St. Anne's end. Come out of Horseshoe, turn right up the hill and right again at the top. There is a ticket outlet at the St. Anne's end.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Yeah, I walked past them at the back of the Derrynane. No stewards around to keep them in their seats for a while or direct them away from the Shed.

No trouble on Monday but organisation didn't seem the best.

By the way the view from the new away section must be terrible! I was further down the Derrynane stand on Monday and had to stand up to see the corner.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Cheers Paudie

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paudie
    Yeah, I walked past them at the back of the Derrynane. No stewards around to keep them in their seats for a while or direct them away from the Shed.

No trouble on Monday but organisation didn't seem the best.
    It's a joke, we're always saying how professional the stewards at the cross are, but that was ridiculas.................imagine if it was Rovers fans after losing 1-0 walking out past the shed

Maybe it was a case of just letting them out that way to their bus as it was a wettish night, $hels fans are not known for causing any trouble at games.....or for even too many of them being there!....(had to get that in.....)