Thread: Radio 5 Live now - 90 mins of BIG talk

2,693 Posts

Radio 5 Live now - 90 mins of BIG talk

An hour of Ireland under Big Jack. Then at 9pm to 9.30pm a preview of the BIG at Euro 2012.

Sorry to start a new thread, but best way to bring to everyone's attention.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 05/06/2012 at 7:57 PM.

199 Posts
    Ireland AM are having a Euros special tomorrow morning too.

2,693 Posts
    This is quality stuff. Aldo, Dave O'Dreary and Packie reminiscing about E88 and I90.

446 Posts
    And USA'94 coming up...

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    link? listen back service?

446 Posts
    On the highlights thread.

'Listen Again' via the BBC site also.

It's also a "Football Daily" podcast.

1,912 Posts
    The podcast link was posted in another thread by TCM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/5lfd

229 Posts
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

2,693 Posts
    Loved the bit about them staying in a 3 star hotel with no air conditioning all the time they were in Sicily. I never knew that.

Bonner came across as a real gent, as always, but also as quite a wit. He says that when he met the Pope, JP2 told him he used to be a 'keeper himself. I remembered that bit alright. Anyway, at HT during the Italy game in Rome after Bonner had made a poor effort at saving the Donadoni shot that led to Italy's goal, Big Jack is supposed to have said to him "the Pope would have done better".

Its true though, and packie fecked up against holland again, often wondered if he was on the take, for making such obvious mistakes.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 06/06/2012 at 1:31 PM.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Its true though, and packie fecked up in holland again, often wondered if he was on the take, for making such obvious mistakes.
    Controversial Paul, controversial.

1,912 Posts
    It's not true that Packie fecked up in Holland.

I thought Jack always blamed some incident that led to losing the ball in the Italian half, about 5 moves previous to the shot on goal.

Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    Controversial Paul, controversial.
    ah ok i didnt really mean that

2,693 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    It's not true that Packie fecked up in Holland.

I thought Jack always blamed some incident that led to losing the ball in the Italian half, about 5 moves previous to the shot on goal.
    Aldo lost the ball cheaply

229 Posts
    Brilliant listen - The hairs are standing on the back of my neck here - I am buzzing for this weekend now!!!!!

Some great stories as stutts has mentioned above.

Also...

-Aldo admitting to trying to knobble Hagi in the first half against Romania. Got a yellow should have been a red in his words
    -The commentary on Roy Houghtons 'chipper' against Italy in the Giants stadium.

Loads of others too (I wont spoil it)...a must listen imo before the fun starts on Sunday night.

I am not O'Learys biggest fan and some of his comments are a little nauseating but to be fair to him he doesnt come across too bad at all (considering we know he has a little bit of an axe to grind with Jack about that period). He seems to remember it generally in the spirirt that we all do (or thats what I took from it anyway).

Aldo - is just like listening to your teammate from Sunday league football - brilliant, just one of lads who put his heart and soul in to it.

Packie a gent as always.

Link for the last half hour below

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode...rt_05_06_2012/
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

I haven't finished it yet (that'll be the way home tonight), but the first half hour or so was very good. Impressed with O'Leary so far - honest about a couple of things which he probably could've got away with given the time that has passed.

2,693 Posts
    Yep, O'Leary looked back at it all quite fondly given he had every right to have a chip on his shoulder.

I got a lump in my throat listening to the commentary of the Timofte save.

I actually still remember wondering how PB went the right way for every kick despite going thr wrong way for all but 1 of aberdeen's in the SFA Cup Final a month earlier. Amazing the stupid things one remember through life, though I don't recall Aldo's hack at Hagi.

Fair dues to Packie Bonnar for giving credit to Gerry Peyton for helping him with analysis on the penalties.

2,693 Posts
    I thought it was amazing that Davy Langan tweeted the show just to say hi to the lads.