Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 311121314 LastLast

Thread: Mid-season friendlies

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Saw it posted on Twitter by Gael Clichy https://twitter.com/gael_22 and Facebook as well by local Limerick lads

Some idiot who wouldnt even know where Jackman Park is more than likely.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage...merick-FC.html

288 Posts
    “The individual will be banned from all future games at Thomond Park and Jackman Park and the matter will be passed on to the police.”
    Hilarious. I'm sure they'll be heartbroken by that.

The punishment they should be facing is criminal charges.

46 Posts
    OMG the last the they will come here

56 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post

“The individual will be banned from all future games at Thomond Park and Jackman Park and the matter will be passed on to the police.”
    Very disappointing, though

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    There was over 20,000 given as attendance where are people getting the 16,000.
    20,672 given on the Irish Independent, but I couldn't see the East Stand, being in the East Terrace.
    Last edited by ped_ped; 06/08/2012 at 9:07 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post

Well that's up to the guards I suppose once the two lads were handed over. There was two guards standing by where the banana was thrown on so surely they were involved with removing who did it.

Hopefully who did it gets named and shamed.

20,682 was the attendance, whether ye like it or not

Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Clubs have never had a problem attracting big crowds for games against foreign teams. See how many of them are back the next time ye play a league match is the problem. A
    When is the last time ye had 20,000 at a game?

56 Posts
    Look lads I really don't see why this has to turn into petty bickering like everything else on this forum does.

There were 20,000+ in Thomond last night, the vast majority to see Manchester City, not Limerick. Nonetheless it was a massive event for the club in terms of its reputation in the public eye.

City - being City - sliced through Limerick with ease on a number of occasions with two regular goals and two massive mistakes from Limerick defenders, but in periods Limerick played a passing game where they could and got big cheers when they did get up the pitch. It was nice to see the majority of a crowd so large cheer Limerick on, but let's be realistic: the majority of them won't be in Jackman before this season's out.

Now enough with the accusations of bitterness from Limerick fans - they're not.
    And enough with pointing out that we don't have 20,000 new fans - we know that.

We got 20,000+ in the gates last night - the vast majority to see Manchester City, not Limerick. Nonetheless it was a coup by the club and the city and a lot of thanks are owed to Pat O'Sullivan. Very few if any are going to be in Jackman three weeks from now

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Market's Field View Post
    When is the last time ye had 20,000 at a game?
    2011 FAI Cup Final

My point is that it is easy to knock others efforts. We know that very few of those people will be in Jackman for the next home game. However if you have spent a long as we have in the backwater that is LOI 1st Division you be delighted to get 20,000 through the gate to see your team play.

288 Posts
    Fairplay to Limerick. I hope a fortune was made on it.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cuyahoga View Post
    There is a family fun day in Ferrycarrig Park Wexford on Sunday August 19th . A wexford youths pink team v Wexford youths black team will take place. It is a fundraiser for Nicola Furlong's family. She was murdered in Japan a couple of months ago.
    Full details on this can be found here
    www.wexfordyouthsfc.ie/NicolaFurlong.html and here http://foot.ie/threads/169934-Nicola...lay-Like-A-Pro
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Market's Field View Post
    My point is that it is easy to knock others efforts. We know that very few of those people will be in Jackman for the next home game. However if you have spent a long as we have in the backwater that is LOI 1st Division you be delighted to get 20,000 through the gate to see your team play.
    That wasn't your point though or else you would have said that rather then trying to have a dig at when we had 20k at a match. Yes it's great ye had a big crowd but it sounds like there is no long term benefit from the game to ye.

I'm not expecting ye to get 20k at league match (or even 2k in the first division) but I would have hoped that in a city like Limerick with a team top of the first division that ye'd be able to average more then 650 for the season.

288 Posts
    I'm not expecting ye to get 20k at league match (or even 2k in the first division) but I would have hoped that in a city like Limerick with a team top of the first division that ye'd be able to average more then 650 for the season.
    It's a very poor First Division. It would be hard to expect them to attract more than that with the quality of the opposition and the facilities or lack thereof in Jackman Park.

19. Thanks From:

That wasn't your point though or else you would have said that rather then trying to have a dig at when we had 20k at a match. Yes it's great ye had a big crowd but it sounds like there is no long term benefit from the game to ye.

Believe whatever you want. Yours was the first dig with there's never a problem getting a crowd for foreign teams. Not many have managed to pull in 20k for such games which was the point in my comment. I've no interest in knocking Sligo - how would that help the cause?

We've been so long in the first division that there is a whole generation who have no idea what's it's like to have a decent football team to support. Anything that brings them in contact with the senior soccer team in the city is a positive

21. Thanks From:

122 Posts

That chap will be delighted to hear that Limerick are moving to the Markets Field next year then

23. Thanks From:

37 Posts
    Limerick FC should be applauded for organising this game, creating an awareness of their club and making money.

Why do threads like this always turn into a bitch fest?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

25. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Limerick FC should be applauded for organising this game, creating an awareness of their club and making money.

Why do threads like this always turn into a bitch fest?
    Most LOI fans (indeed, most people in general) are odious, dislikable tossers basically.

I appreciate your recognition that the Man City game was a good thing for us though. Seems to be eluding some people here.

2,447 Posts
    Don't think anyone is doubting it was a good thing for the club.

144 Posts
    We've got Blackburn on Sunday at 2pm.
    Here's hoping it goes ahead, unlike their last attempt to play a "friendly"
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...f-rioting.html
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 311121314 LastLast