Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Longford Town Limerick match saturday!

Quote Originally Posted by capello View Post
    A lot of attitude up on the posts lads, one good result in the league and yere behaving like those sick fans of MU.
    Calm down and have a bit of class, i don't recall any away fans that have left Jackmam Park with 3 point being
    so UP THEIR OWN ASS.
    Longford Town- good club, good players and recent good history, when we have that in Limerick then ye can shout like morans.
    Well their head steward was a complete dick towards myself and a few other Limerick fans

863 Posts
    Well I don't know what sort of angle ye had of Colly James shot but we were at a perfect angle in section O and the ball was struck perfectly from around 20-25 yards out and was on it's way in until the very last second when it just spinned a wee bit and smashed the outside of the post ( and ye I don't know where or why the corner came from).

As for Ryan's saves il be more specific he made 2 excellent saves (one from a Gillespie corner which was met by tom Crawley if I remember correctly and the other from shaw who was only a yard or two out and somehow failed to convert) apart from that you are right in saying he saved a few week headers and the rest of his work was gathering.

As for the red card we were the wrong side of it in section O and I only saw the foul but I didn't know by who so we had no idea Cashcara booked the wrong player until I read it on this but he did indeed dive for his first booking but like you guys said he didn't make the foul and if there's any justice in the world the FAIlure will overturn his red card but I doubt that very much.

Cheers for the kind words about Flancare and fair play on the good travelling crowd I thought there was a good atmosphere and good banter on the night so all I can say now is enjoy the euros and let the battle recommence!
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by leedsfan88 View Post
    Well their head steward was a complete dick towards myself and a few other Limerick fans
    Considering the low numbers Longford have been getting in the gate this season (relative to their position), surely this is something that should be dealt with (that is, someone affiliated with the club treating away fans with dismissive and arrogant behavior)? Seems like a common sentiment from several fans on here, Limerick and Longford.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Apparently there was 700 at the game last night...i must be going blind

all I am goin to say is that ye lads were brill to us in defeat in limerick and I would like to return the favour. the better team won on the night end of story. thank god for the 3 wks break as we havent played since we beat ye in limerick

863 Posts
    Ye I saw 750 est. On extratime at time I thought it was more like 550 but then again I'm not use to looking into the stand I'm usually in it (:

Quote Originally Posted by capello View Post
    when we have that in Limerick then ye can shout like morans.

Climb down off the high horse there's a good chap.

For my own part, aside from the fact that everything I write on these forums contains at least 40% thinly veiled wind up there's fellas on here that have endured literally dozens of bitter disappointments following Limerick, the odd time something goes right they're entitled to a bit of craic.

Again for my own part I've no beef with the plain people of Longford, good people who never give any hassle. My problems were with the event comptroller and cheating Phil.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Ye I saw 750 est. On extratime at time I thought it was more like 550 but then again I'm not use to looking into the stand I'm usually in it (:
    No one will convince me that stand was anywhere near half full, a third of the crowd in it seemed to be Limerick for a start.

I shant be losing any sleep over the break because of it though.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post

PS: Fair play on bringing such a large away crowd but we outsung ya
    Expect to see all of your new fans at jackman park so next time round because cant recall longford ever having a good away crowed . your fans weren't singing much after Denis Behans brace .

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluepowers View Post
    Expect to see all of your new fans at jackman park so next time round because cant recall longford ever having a good away crowed . your fans weren't singing much after Denis Behans brace .

They had a good crowd in Jackman this season so so your memory is not very good.

There was only one set of supporters singing after the game Saturday . That was the one game I missed this season was there a good sing song at jackman that night

863 Posts
    What happened in Jackman was we were all spread out around the pitch and none of us seen the singing town fans at the far side of the stand until it was too late to bother moving over but yes our away attendances this year have been very good. By the way lads any word on the market fields? Will you be playing their for sure next season (even if you somehow dont go up)? And whats it going to be like in terms of capacity, stands etc? cheers.

Only getting a chance to get on this now,I'd like to repeat what Marty said...Limerick fans were very gracious in defeat down in Limerick and they were by far the better team on Saturday night!We started off well but once we went down we just ran out of ideas and Limerick always looked dangerous on the break, even when they were down to 10 men!We had no new ideas to throw at ye and your defense dealt with any mindless long ball ****e we threw at ye!Thought Barry Ryan was very solid, as was mentioned he never had to deal with anything spectacular but he was very solid nonetheless and very good at holding onto the ball. Very sorry to hear about the way ye were treated regarding the flags, it really is beyond me what gets into our steward's or official's heads that they think they can treat one of the only decent number of away fans we get all season like that. I was talking to a fella that was stewarding on sat that wouldnt usually be stewarding and he said that the club were expecting trouble, not sure if ye could see over in the stand but there were two stewards at the gate of the cage over beside section o opening it and closing it as each of us had to walk over to the other side.....really very strange considering how Limerick fans were down in Jackman..
    Last edited by Bosco; 04/06/2012 at 1:06 PM.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    and he said that the club were expecting trouble, not sure if ye could see over in the stand but there were two stewards at the gate of the cage over beside section o opening it and closing it as each of us had to walk over to the other side.....really very strange considering how Limerick fans were down in Jackman..
    Really? When was the last time there was serious "trouble" at a First Division game?

If this season has made me think anything, it's that both Limerick and Longford should be going up. Too good for lower tier.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

The exact same as Monaghan last year so from a stewards perspective. They see limerick and hear of a crowd coming up and automatically assume there will be trouble. The worst limerick fans have ever got is a bit loud with chants and that but that's it.

Well the steward who told me was even laughing himself at the notion of there being any trouble!Not sure exactly if he said it was the club expecting trouble or the guards because I know sometimes the Guards get these notions in their heads and I was suprised to see them at the match the other night.Either way its irrelevant anyway....they are only really wasting their own time and when the day comes that there is trouble at a match no doubt we'll complain that they didn't do enough....although not letting ye have your flags over the seats is stupid I don't think it compares to any of the problems and general heavy handedness we've had with some of the stewards in the past...
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

No one will convince me that stand was anywhere near half full, a third of the crowd in it seemed to be Limerick for a start.
    It's a bit of an irrelevance, but the stand looked well over a third full from over the far side, which has it well up over 500 for a start then plus what's around the ground. Rubbish whether it's 500 or 800 though - I fookin hate this first division hell hole.

As for the game thought ye were well worth the win. We did have few unlucky deflections, hitting the post etc second half, but we didn't really create anything in open play and played poor enough so I wouldn't go as far as saying we were unlucky, but on a different day we might have fluked a point. Here's hoping any mo you got dissipates over the break After the last couple of weeks it certainly couldn't have come at a better time for us...

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    I know sometimes the Guards get these notions in their heads and I was suprised to see them at the match the other night.Either way its irrelevant anyway....they are only really wasting their own time and when the day comes that there is trouble at a match no doubt we'll complain that they didn't do enough...
    Not the case sadly. The Gardai are very well paid for their attendance at all sporting fixtures.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234