Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI cup round 2 latest

46 Posts
    ref is screwing limerick big time in talla 2 stonewall pens turned down disgrace it was a pen in ice hockey

Just out of Mass for my cousins husband months mind. Think am gonna go to mass instead of matches from now on!!!! Whooohooooo!!

126 Posts
    Thanks Mons

38 Posts
    The bit of poop must be gutted going out at such an early stage...

71 Posts
    Phoenix put in a good shift against UCD tonight, they were well organised and hungry for the tie. Superior quality and fitness won out in the end though.

Always nice to see the favourite go out straight away, allows the dream to grow just that little bit more.

448 Posts
    we were so poor for the first 30 minutes or so. slow, ponderous, passing all over the place. Athlone really took the game to us and could have been up by 2 or 3. Once we scored the first though we never looked back. Vinny Sullivan scored three and was unlucky not to get a a fourth with a beautiful chip that looked to have beaten the keeper but just went over the bar.

Tadhg Purcell should have had 4 or 5, he had one chance early on, just before Vinny scored our first where he was one on one with the keeper and rather than shooting allowed their defence to catch up with him and only ended up with a corner (which we proceeded to score from). Still nice confidence boost for the team and we got to give a couple of younger players a run out.

675 Posts
    Three excellent goals for City out of the four scored against Harps. McLaughlin's second is a contender for goal of the season - flicked the ball up with his foot before hitting it on the volley from 20 yards, looping over Gallagher and in the top corner. Screamer.

Harps were a little unlucky, created a couple of decent early chances, and you could tell they were struggling for personnel.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Very tight game in Tallaght ruined by the referee. Played at a pre-season pace for 75 minutes, yet he was brandishing cards for nothing. Limerick didn't threaten much bar a few long throws and Rovers held out well, except for two stonewall penalties, one in particular in injury time...deary me.

Hopefully Hancock on Monday and Buttimer today are put back on u-8 game duty and never seen at a Rovers game again.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Encouragingish stuff for us in Tallaght tonight all things considered

Our midfield and attack consisted of a 23 year old defender, a 22 year old, two 19 year olds and two 17 year olds. I fully expected us to be walked on after a bright start but it never happened.

Can kinda see how Rovers could struggle to break teams down doesn't seem to be any massive plan to them (I've had a similar complaint about ourselves all year)

Lot of "simulation" going on with them as well at times but I suppose that's Premier football.

As for Buttimer.

Firing yellow cards around like snuff at a wake.

To not give that second penalty after turning down the first one and dishing out that red card.

He was looking right at both the penalty shouts as well the coward.

Overall, happy enough with the performance and if we couldn't win I'd rather the defeat to the draw. Life goes on.

Any Rovers fans have the crowd?? Kinda hard to guage from where we were. Far stand looked pathetic but stand we were in looked quite full (but hard to guage)

38 Posts
    Was Alan Keane sent off for simulation last night? The big girls blouse....

Quote Originally Posted by Dave_SRFC View Post
    Plenty of that from shams lads last night too, Twigg, McCabe to name but two.

Buttimer destroyed that game last night. For a ref that is usually so picky he left Powell take foul throw after foul throw, rolling ball non stop from free kicks, gave Limerick one or two frees that were Shams frees and vice versa. Sent off Paudie Quinn after 30 seconds for what seemed a very very harsh decision. Two penalties right in front of his eyes he pretended he didn't see. Hopefully MNS pick up on his mistakes because the ruined the game for everyone there.

We were missing Gamble, Behan, Derek O Brien, Gary Sheehan, Dave Ryan and Dominic Foley and had to play a majority of under 19 players. Thought we held our own very well and David O'Leary in the middle of the park was probably the outstanding player from both sides. Daryl Kavanagh changed the game when he came on though as had been expected. His pace and skill killed our back 4 while Twigg and O'Neill probably suited it a little better.

126 Posts
    Fair play to ExtraTime.ie, live updates and a match report on our game produced by volunteers.

Compare that to RTE, who don't even have a ****ing match report on their website. Pathetic doesn't do it justice.

64 Posts
    The "simulation" from our top players has become a joke by now. I suppose they have to do something in training, being full-timers, perhaps if they spend some time on improving their ball-control and passing the standard of the league might improve a little bit. No surprise about the performance from certain refs either, yet all these guys got paid for their efforts last night, and some people are surprised that crowds are declining.

71 Posts

Our midfield and attack consisted of a 23 year old defender, a 22 year old, two 19 year olds and two 17 year olds. I fully expected us to be walked on after a bright start but it never happened.
    That's what we call a bunch of veterans in Belfield.

The bit of poop must be gutted going out at such an early stage...
    Looks like somebody's still hurting from that humiliation in the Showgies. Don't worry, just make sure Buttimer's fit for when we go to your halting site in August - man of the match for you last night by all accounts.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Plenty of that from shams lads last night too, Twigg, McCabe to name but two.

Buttimer destroyed that game last night. For a ref that is usually so picky he left Powell take foul throw after foul throw, rolling ball non stop from free kicks, gave Limerick one or two frees that were Shams frees and vice versa. Sent off Paudie Quinn after 30 seconds for what seemed a very very harsh decision. Two penalties right in front of his eyes he pretended he didn't see. Hopefully MNS pick up on his mistakes because the ruined the game for everyone there.
    At least you managed to keep your sense of humour.
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

185 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Looks like somebody's still hurting from that humiliation in the Showgies.
    in light of the humiliation dealt out by the worst team in the league on your own team, at home as well, would you like to rethink that statement?
    no, let me guess... your manager wants to concentrate on the league anyway . Probably a good choice of his behalf because you will need all the concentration youse can get to take the title off us,pal.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Looks like somebody's still hurting from that humiliation in the Showgies. Don't worry, just make sure Buttimer's fit for when we go to your halting site in August - man of the match for you last night by all accounts.
    Thats right poopy boy...

126 Posts
    Anyone know when the draw for the next round is... this Monday or the following?

Thats right poopy boy...
    Going to have to give up here - there's no way I can handle this devastating wit and intellect.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast