Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: FAI cup round 2 latest

400 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    in light of the humiliation dealt out by the worst team in the league on your own team, at home as well, would you like to rethink that statement?
    no, let me guess... your manager wants to concentrate on the league anyway . Probably a good choice of his behalf because you will need all the concentration youse can get to take the title off us,pal.
    I'm sure ye were saying "at least we're clear at the top" when we knocked ye out last year so it's the only saving grace we have from a bad week really.

Need to get a win in Dalymount to steady the ship. Although we had been playing pretty poor all season until the Drogs / Shams / Shels games so being 7 points clear without playing that well all season is a lot better then we're used to.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    I'm sure ye were saying "at least we're clear at the top" when we knocked ye out last year so it's the only saving grace we have from a bad week really.
    Most of us were happy. We were playing midweek games constantly and I never seen a team so tired in my life than they were that Monday night.
    Had bigger and better things to worry about, I believe we had Rubin Kazan the Thursday before hand. There will be more expectation this season should we not have consecutive midweek fixtures.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Going to have to give up here - there's no way I can handle this devastating wit and intellect.
    Why was Keane sent off?

400 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_SRFC View Post
    Why was Keane sent off?
    Off the ball incident of some variety

164 Posts
    Longford and Wexford currently losing to non-league opposition - both 1-0 down to Cherry Orchard and Douglas Hall respectively. Blues 0-0 at Everton so far. Gary Dempsey had a penalty saved after Seanie Maguire was fouled.

Cherry Orchard 2 up

164 Posts
    Blues one up. Second penalty. This time David Breen took it and scored.

164 Posts
    Wexford equalise.

164 Posts
    Blues won 1-0. Pats and Avondale through, Wexford get a replay, Longford out.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    Gary Dempsey had a penalty saved after Seanie Maguire was fouled.
    Do you really think so? Shocking tumble, went down as easily just before the penalty, McKell was appalling, second penalty was equally as harsh, embarrassing for Long
    Last edited by razor; 27/05/2012 at 7:37 PM.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

20 Posts
    Hi lads.

I was just wondering, does anyone know when the draw for the next round will take place.

65 Posts
    At a guess, Monday 4 June on MNS - but that's using logic, a term not bandied about lightly in Abbotstown.

126 Posts
    Looked up the details for last year. The draw was made the week after the fixtures took place. So probably not tomorrow but the following Monday instead I'd guess.

On a separate note, I just had a look at the betting odds for the replays this week. Bookies are quoting Douglas Hall at 8/1 to beat Wexford. I think Wexford should go through but that's a very high price IMO, Wexford only equalised through a peno with a few mins left today and are amateur themselves.
    Last edited by adamd164; 27/05/2012 at 11:06 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    in light of the humiliation dealt out by the worst team in the league on your own team, at home as well, would you like to rethink that statement?
    no, let me guess... your manager wants to concentrate on the league anyway . Probably a good choice of his behalf because you will need all the concentration youse can get to take the title off us,pal.
    Sticks and stones man, sticks and stones.... :P
    But on a serious not we're not the worst we've been unlucky in a few but we've also just not showed up in others. Money is everything in this game, if you have it you have success

447 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Morginho View Post
    Sticks and stones man, sticks and stones.... :P
    But on a serious not we're not the worst we've been unlucky in a few but we've also just not showed up in others. Money is everything in this game, if you have it you have success
    assuming you are a Mons fan... then what are you on? Your team is bottom, after 12 games. You are the worst team in the Premier Division right now.

As for money, its hard to get any money when you have almost no one turning up at your home games, its not like many LOI teams have sugar daddies buying them success these days

238 Posts
    Im sorry to steal Mons thunder here but if there is a worst team prize this season we are in with a real shout. It's been obvious that we have been building towards the title since 2008 and slowly but surely we're getting there.
    This could be our year.

My god, Rogers was horrendous for Monaghan's second goal. I still think Clarke is a far better goalkeeper.

142 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Im sorry to steal Mons thunder here but if there is a worst team prize this season we are in with a real shout. It's been obvious that we have been building towards the title since 2008 and slowly but surely we're getting there.
    This could be our year.
    You clearly haven't seen STD so, they were absolutel shocking on Friday, and three points from 12 games isn't exactly something to shout
    about. As for Keane's sending off, watched MNS and he clearly swung a punch at one of the Mons lads off the ball, a definite red
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Football, beer and sun - cant get better than that!
    Cherry Orchard V Longford - Longford never at the races
    Good set up they have at Tolka Rovers - nice ground, got in for a fiver so cant argue with that!

183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    My god, Rogers was horrendous for Monaghan's second goal. I still think Clarke is a far better goalkeeper.
    Its a conversation that a lot of our fans had at the start of the season. Although caught for the goal in fairnes to Rogers he has been fantastic for us in a lot of recent games. Rogers is far better in the air than Clarke, while Clarke would be better with distribution. Overall Id prefer Rogers but I wouldnt be suprised if some went the other way.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast