Thread: Well Done Shels Thread

Well Done Shels

You did the league proud!

Deportivo at home will be a different prospect to last night but the team can hold their heads up no matter what happens now.

Yes a big well done to Shels last night. We were 3 county fans who made the trip and throughly enjoyed the match and the atmosphere. The fans last night were superb. At times it was better than the atmosphere for international games.

The football played by Shels was a joy to watch and Wes Hoolahan was a star. It must have been one of the best individual performance by a n irish player in europe for a long time.

I felt if Shels just pushed on a little bit more they may have got their reward.
    They had some decent chances and I wouldn't rule out a shock result in spain. They have nothing to fear. When you dont conced at home you are always in with a shout even if it looks like a distant shout. You rattled the spanish at times although when they did start to play they looked dangerous.

Great to see everyone so behind Shels. To hell with the begrudgers.
    All the best in Spain.

i think its fair to say it was a very poor match overall,that said shels were the better team
    j'accuse!

Well done Shels, best European result in Eircom League history bar none! Who knows, an away goal in the next leg and anything can happen! Best of luck

seagullsnest

Well Done!

Well done to Shels team and their supporters. Yous were a credit to the Eircom League. Hoping you can finish if the job in Spain.

Congratulations shels

I just want to put in my tuppence worth.

I was extremely impressed with Wesley last night he really had the measure of Depor and I felt the Depor really did not know how to handle shels or the atmosphere.

Another point I want to make is that I was incredibly proud to be a seagull / EL support last night and to see that even with all the comments and knocks that EL fans give shels that so many turned out to support shels. No matter what happens now I hope all the clubs in the league use last night as an inspiration and a springboard to bigger and better things. And hopefully this will cause corporate Ireland to stop sitting on their hands and start to truely support the league. McManus / Magnier put some of your fortune into any EL club and we can be having nights like last night for many years to come.

There was talk years ago of moving Wimbledon to Dublin. Lets get behind our own clubs and give them the chance they have been crying out for as the last few weeks has shown there is a huge market in Ireland for a successful club.

Well Done Shels Thread

Merging all those other threads in here...

Quote Originally Posted by tippex
    I just want to put in my tuppence worth.

I was extremely impressed with Wesley last night he really had the measure of Depor and I felt the Depor really did not know how to handle shels or the atmosphere.

Another point I want to make is that I was incredibly proud to be a seagull / EL support last night and to see that even with all the comments and knocks that EL fans give shels that so many turned out to support shels. No matter what happens now I hope all the clubs in the league use last night as an inspiration and a springboard to bigger and better things. And hopefully this will cause corporate Ireland to stop sitting on their hands and start to truely support the league. McManus / Magnier put some of your fortune into any EL club and we can be having nights like last night for many years to come.

There was talk years ago of moving Wimbledon to Dublin. Lets get behind our own clubs and give them the chance they have been crying out for as the last few weeks has shown there is a huge market in Ireland for a successful club.
    well said! If the likes of O'Leary, O'Brien and other rich tycoons invested in our league then the feelgood factor and commercial opportunities would be worth it, we all saw last night that us Irish are hungry for high profile soccer as all we get to see is the Internationals on home turf
    We are the Wanderers from Bray

well done shels. i hope this does for the league what euro 88 did for the national team
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)

well done

well done shels

well done shels..thought that wes hoolahan was absolute class last nite..

Well feckin done Shels.More of the same in the second leg.

Brilliant stuff, Shelsea

Quote Originally Posted by tarzan_bray
    If the likes of O'Leary, O'Brien and other rich tycoons invested in our league then the feelgood factor and commercial opportunities would be worth it, we all saw last night that us Irish are hungry for high profile soccer as all we get to see is the Internationals on home turf
    Do you know something we don't? J.P. MacManus is rumoured to be selling his Man U shares. A few of his millions invested in the EL clubs would probably be a sound long term investment. BTW, for me, Owen Heary was the man of the match. His work rate and commitment were amazing. Hope he takes it a bit easier tomorrow.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.