Thread: Ireland team.

Quote Originally Posted by carnstien
    I'm gonna put my neck on the line and say that by the end of the season O'Shea will be 1st choice in the United midfield, which means he probably will be in the Irish side too.
    for the sake of the irish team I hope he's getting regular football but

Ronaldo Scholes Keane Giggs looks solid to me and

Miller P.Neville Kleberson DjDj and especially Fletcher are still in the reckoning
    Unfortunately if Heinze turns out to be anyway decent I can see O'Shea playing less than 20 games.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

I think O'Shea needs to pick a position and stick to it, and say I am only going to play in this position, I can't see him making progress as a utility man. Maybe even go out on loan if he can't regular football once Rio & Heinze return.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Nationalism is an infantile disease, the measles of mankind

182 Posts
    Go on loan me arse. Solskjaer is a utility striker/right winger who didn't start full time in the Man Utd team, but I wouldn't mind if he was Irish, would you? (Not at the moment of course, with his injuries) If anything, O'Shea getting rested every now and then will only benefit the Irish team.

Stop expecting too much of John O and let him play his football in peace. Have you seen the Dutch squad Van Basten picked? He would kill to have a player like O'Shea.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    for the sake of the irish team I hope he's getting regular football but

Miller P.Neville Kleberson DjDj and especially Fletcher are still in the reckoning
    Unfortunately if Heinze turns out to be anyway decent I can see O'Shea playing less than 20 games.
    Well that the midfield you would expect but when you consider that Scholes will spend alot of time playing up front due to injuries, Saha is out unitl Xmas, Keane could end up playing centre back and I don't rate Giggs at all. I think O'Shea has a great chance of establishing himself in that midfield.

Tomorrows game against Chelsea is massive for him, if he performs he could nail down a place for the season.

Thoght O'Shea did well today in the United midfield, to me he definately looks the best option to partner Roy in the middle.

Miller looked very impressive today, he should get the nod on the right.

Saw Heinze in the Copa America and he looked like **** on a stick. Adriano made bits of him.

I reckon that's about right when united have all their players back. Thought O'shea did well and Miller worked his guts out yesterday but there will be changes and unfortunately i can see the Irish lads bar Keane making way.

.....when you consider that Scholes will spend alot of time playing up front due to injuries, Saha is out unitl Xmas, Keane could end up playing centre back and I don't rate Giggs at all...l.
    VanN won't be out much longer and Fergie is looking to sign a striker
    Rio will be back pretty soon so Keane will be freed up in CM
    Fergie does rate Giggs

I know there'll be injuries etc., but from an Irish viewpoint you want Miller and o'Shea playing in every game, not warming the bench, at the moment

Howard
    G.Neville Rio Silvestre heinze
    ronaldo Scholes Keane Giggs
    VanN Smith

seems to be the team that Fergie is planning as his first eleven.
    I'd be more worried that Quinton is keeping O'Shea out at Left back to be honest.

Both Miller and O'Shea did well yesterday

Not sure the press agrees with you.
    In the Times today the ratings were as follows:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article...218088,00.html

Quote Originally Posted by Condex

Bit harsh that. Hardly the two worst players on the pitch (I know Forlan got 4 too but he doesn't count)

Thoght O'Shea did well today in the United midfield, to me he definately looks the best option to partner Roy in the middle.
    Agree. If it's not broken, don't try and fix it.
    Tea. Corduroy. Space Travel.

Quote Originally Posted by green goblin
    Agree. If it's not broken, don't try and fix it.
    by that logic, surely he should be kept at left back for Ireland

irwinsalegend
    Originally Posted by carnstien
    Thought O'Shea did well today in the United midfield, to me he definitely looks the best option to partner Roy in the middle.
    O'Shea will never be a top midfield player. Centre half or left back is his best position. He'll still play plenty of games for United this year so will be fine for Ireland but long term he looks like being used as a utility player such as Phil Neville has been for the past 100years.

I thought Miller had a pretty poor game but it will take time for him to adjust to the English game compared to the Scottish league. He looked yesterday like he was still playing in Scotland and thought he had more time on the ball which he just won't get in England

By the way rumors are in Manchester that United are preparing a bid for Andy Reid this week. we'll see

Looking forward to Wednesday night and a good performance to get the Int season started

Anyone know the reason Duff was left out of the Chelsea squad yesterday? I thought he was back to fitness.

From the Irish times , may answer question about Duff

Duff not ready says Mourinho
    Republic of Ireland v Bulgaria
    Emmet Malone

Chelsea's new manager, Jose Mourinho, said yesterday he is hoping a strong showing by Damien Duff in Ireland's friendly international against Bulgaria will help the Dubliner to overcome what the coach described yesterday as the player's "mental competitive block" during the club's recent preparations for the new season.

Even with his competition for the slot on Chelsea's left flank, Arjen Robben, ruled out of yesterday's Premiership encounter with Manchester United by injury, the Dubliner failed even to make the bench in his club's league opener.

After the game, which Chelsea won 1-0, Mourinho was asked about the Irishman's absence and said, "Duff isn't ready after the shoulder problem. He has been selected for the Republic. I don't think he's ready for that either but maybe playing for them will help him to overcome the mental competitive block. I know he's a very important player for them."

The former Porto boss didn't elaborate but it seems that he is concerned that the gifted winger is finding it hard to reproduce his former competitiveness in the wake of a shoulder injury that severely disrupted his first season at Stamford Bridge and finally forced him to undergo surgery towards the end of the campaign.

Given Robbie Keane's absence this week, the news that Duff will be available to him for Wednesday's game will be welcome to Brian Kerr even if, as his coach in England clearly feels, the 25-year-old is not yet 100 per cent.

In other areas, however, the manager looks set to be well covered, as his insistence that Wednesday's game marks an important step in his final preparations for the new World Cup campaign seems to have prompted a strong turnout from his players, 17 of whom had turned up for the opening training session of the week, while another four were due in last night.

Definitely out of the game are Charlton's Matt Holland and Andy O'Brien of Newcastle United. Holland limped out of Saturday's defeat by Bolton early on and is due to have a scan on his ankle today. It is believed he has sustained ligament damage and could be a doubt for next month's qualifiers against Cyprus and Switzerland.

O'Brien was one of the many players at Newcastle to come down with conjunctivitis recently and the central defender has not trained for two weeks. It was hoped his condition would have improved sufficiently to allow him to travel but in the end fears that other players in the Ireland squad might develop the problem after coming into contact with him killed off any chance of him coming to Dublin.

David Connolly, Stephen Carr and Steve Finnan, meanwhile, all sat out yesterday afternoon's training session after picking up minor knocks in club games but all look likely to be available for Wednesday. Also in are Manchester United's three Irish players, Roy Keane, Liam Miller and John O'Shea, who, their club said after the game in London, had flown out together to report for international duty.

Kerr said yesterday he was also expecting Kevin Kilbane to arrive although only after the Everton midfielder had two stitches after sustaining a foot injury during yesterday's 4-1 defeat by Arsenal

Don't really like the sound of that. Sounds like Mourinho is questioning Duff as a player at this moment in time. Not that Duffer would be short of offers if he wasn't favoured by Mourinho.

Not sure about that, this is the only quote from the article from the manager, the rest is all by the journalist. I think that maybe Duff, is minding the shoulder a bit at the moment.

"Duff isn't ready after the shoulder problem. He has been selected for the Republic. I don't think he's ready for that either but maybe playing for them will help him to overcome the mental competitive block. I know he's a very important player for them."

I hope this "mental competitive block" he refers to though is just a language thing as it suggests to me attitude problem which is the last thing i think Duff could ever be accused of having.

Quote Originally Posted by Condex

How the feck did they give Fortune 5 and O'shea and Miller 4..... the mind boggles

"Duff isn't ready after the shoulder problem. He has been selected for the Republic. I don't think he's ready for that either but maybe playing for them will help him to overcome the mental competitive block. I know he's a very important player for them."
    Don't like the sound of that either - "mental competitive" block is not something that we would usually associate with the Duffer

I think you are getting overly worried, I am not saying I know what Mourinihio think, but i would guess that he means that Duff is minding his shoulder a bit, which is understandable and the competitive mental block, is that maybe Duffer is not going full throttle into challenges as he does not know how he shoulder will hold up. Once Duff gets the first challenge out of the way, he will be fine