Thread: Longford Town FC vs Finn Harps - 14th April

205 Posts

Longford Town FC vs Finn Harps - 14th April

So, final game of the first phase. I'd say we should have no trouble in dealing with these, top it off with a home win. Have to say that 19 points out of a possible 21 is a fantastic return.

No idea about Hope. Judging from the nasty pic of his leg, the skin is split and will have to sit this one out.

Come on the Town!
    Sporting F*ck All!

861 Posts
    It wont be an easy game at all. Harps are a much improved team this season and with Pizza Hutton back Marshaling their back four they should be a tough nut to crack while the legend that is Kevin McHugh is still leading their line and his stunning 30 yarder against us in last seasons stunning 3-2 game in Flancare just shows what he can do!

If Hope cant play I'd expect Dowling to play CB where hes played quite well a few times this year apart from that it will probably be the same team that started against Limerick and if they play anywhere near those levels we should be more than ok.

Prediction - Another very very very very nervy 2-1 win against our good old friends from the hills of Donegal!
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

622 Posts
    Most importantly I should be able to make it to this one
    I'd say 2-1 as well, we don't like to do things the easy way.

Would Haverty at centre back not be an option with James or Dowling at right full?

Quote Originally Posted by Frank76 View Post
    Would Haverty at centre back not be an option with James or Dowling at right full?
    I much prefer havo at CB instead of Dowling.. dowling imo was poor the other nite against dundalk..
    let collie james at right full and allow him the opportunity to attack when needs be..

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank76 View Post

Id imagine that will be the case if Des doesn't make it, Haverty will be centre back with either James / Dowling full back.
    I hope cousins retains the 4-4-2 formation as I think it is more balanced, and gets the most of Bermingham up top, and does not leave Shaw isolated on his own... 4-3-3 seems good on paper but we didn't have the legs in midfield for a player to support shaw.

Looking forward to the game, hopefully a decent crowd will be in attendance, Harps wont be a pushover and they will feel they can get something from the game.. We are prone to conceding so id expect the attacking players will have to be on their game. I would love to see a comfortable 2 nil win, especially after last weeks result, but would take any win..

Come on the town!

205 Posts
    I think Havo should be centre back, with Dowling out at right full.
    Sporting F*ck All!

861 Posts
    I don't like Colly playing RB he's a fantastic midfielder and that's where he should stay...I think Dowling is still finding his feet after coming back from injury but let's give him a go at RB!

Don't think yous will have much of a problem tonight. We have been poor defensively so far this season, Hutton has helped when he has come in though with his talking and experience.

I'd snap your hands off for a point right now. Can't see it though.

861 Posts
    Many of ye coming down?

47 Posts
    Would take a 1-0. We don't keep too many clean sheets though...
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Many of ye coming down?
    Wouldn't think so. We had buses to both Limerick and Athlone but the bus had to be cancelled for this one due to lack of numbers.

I'd hazard a guess at 20?

861 Posts
    All talk of Dowling playing RB or CB can be forgotten about now because it turns out hes injured (according to Extratime.ie)
    That leaves us very short back there with Nial O'Reilly still out however, I didn't see any mention of Flood but I'd guess he's still out...Hope rated 50-50 I very much doubt he will play and anyone who saw his picture on Twitter will know why he had to get 3 plastic stitches and as I said before the knee can be one of the worse places to get a cut like that. Looks like we might have to play Colly at RB.

220 Posts
    Looking forward to the game tonight (but every week I'm looking forward to the games!) Last couple of seasons I've been going to Flancare in hope more so than expectation but this season sees that reversed. However, I feel tonight will be a very tricky game and over the course of the 4 rounds I think Harps will be one of the toughest teams we'll meet this year. The injuries seem to be building up although I think I seen Craig Walsh out doing a warm up last Tuesday which is a bit of good news. Hope will be a big loss at centre back although Haverty is an able deputy in there. If Cousins goes 4-4-2 I think Haverty will be centre back with James at right full. Kirby will be paired on the opposite wing by Duffy or Purdy although Sean Skelly could be pushing for a starting slot also. I'm going for a tense 2-1 win with Kirbs and Salmo to grab the goals!

205 Posts
    Good call on Kirby anyway! 1-0!
    Sporting F*ck All!

205 Posts
    Balls!
    Sporting F*ck All!

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    Balls!
    Didn't see that coming.

205 Posts
    No one did really. Ah well. Still top after the first phase will do grand for me.
    Sporting F*ck All!

220 Posts
    Absolute disgraceful refereeing. Hyland played the ball and got a straight red!! I don't know who was worse, the ref for giving it or the linesman who had a clear view and didn't over rule the ref.....although after the ref over ruling his decision twice before he played it safe!

205 Posts
    Harps had 21 frees tonight.
    Sporting F*ck All!