Given that Trap has form in naming optimistic initial squads with regards injury recovery you'd have to consider it a real possibility that Fahey may not make it to the Euros give his recent and still ongoing troubles.
With hindsight, Kerr should have told/ordered Robbie to stay at home when his father died.
Given that Trap has form in naming optimistic initial squads with regards injury recovery you'd have to consider it a real possibility that Fahey may not make it to the Euros give his recent and still ongoing troubles.
Just realised that McClean, aged 23, is the youngest player in the squad, whilst the average age of the squad is 28.
We surely have the oldest squad there so?
Slightly off topic but this was a debate I was having with a mate last night. Do you think the team that lines out against Croatia in June will be much different to the team that lines out against Kazakstan? Enforced changes (injuries and retirements) aside, do you think the next campaign will see young players bedded into the first team?
Probably not for the first game (Kaz) but hopefully over the campaign. It will probably depend on how we fare at the Euros as well. If we are totally outclassed and put up a poor showing Trap may feel more of a need to bring others through. Overall though I think Ward may be exposed and lose his place, possibly Kelly coming in at right back and O'Shea moving left. I think Duff is the most likely retirement and McClean will replace him. McCarthy and maybe Gibson will probably start to get more and more game time (progress depending). Doyle will have to pick it up big time also as Long and Walters are snapping at his heels.
Trap has already hinted that Wilson will get his chance.
But any mass influx of new players will probably depend on retirements
Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.
Keith Fahey and Kevin Foley are the main injury concerns with ten of the squad having joined up for training in Dublin today: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18112374
The others to join up were Keiren Westwood, David Forde, Darren O'Dea, Sean St Ledger, Darron Gibson, Stephen Hunt, James McClean and Simon Cox."The doctor thinks in maybe a week or 10 days they could be fit," said Republic boss Giovanni Trapattoni.
"They are both important for us. It was important to have this check.
"They could also stay at their clubs but we can see what happens here with our physio and doctor."
Trapattoni oversaw a training session with 10 of his squad at Malahide on Thursday.
"I said thanks to this group because for them it was a little sacrifice. We know they had a very long, tough season," added Trapattoni.
"I know they have family but I said also, remember there is also other national teams, for example in Italy who finish Sunday.
"Then they go 40 hours at home but they have always reported.
"It's a sacrifice but we have to be proud to play for our country."
Not sure about ye lads but with the more and more media coverage(just seen the Shay Given interview for example), the days counting down, the excitment levels are starting to get to fever pitch for me!! 2002 seems so long ago, let alone 1994, 1990 or 1988!! Enjoy this lads, enjoy it!! These are the best days as an Irish fan - who knows what the next four to six weeks will bring, but one thing for sure is that lifetime memories will be had!!
From the lows of paris to the highs of Poland!!
Back to the worry beads now.
4 out of the 7 defenders are currently injured, plus Shay Given.
Strange state of affairs. McShane should stick around after the friendly game, there might be a spare seat going for him
I reckon it's precautionary and the players will be fine. Trap just doesn't want to risk aggravating/worsening what are currently minor knocks.
I don't know Danny, the alarm bells are ringing - over half our defence is hobbling on the sidelines and we have yet to play any warm up games.
A hobble here and a hobble there means certain trouble, a certainty that someone valuable will pull out.
Yes, the FAI protestations that all the knocks are only niggles and sure they'll all be grand reminds me a bit of the Emperor of Japan's radio announcement after being nuked by the Yanks: "there have been developments in the war not necessarily to our advantage".
Keep Calm and Carry On.
According to Trap, Damien Delaney and Paul Green have also been given a heads-up about possibly joining the squad while Paul McShane could travel all the way to Poland as a precaution.
Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?
Oi oi! Paul Green is in the squad.
Http://rte.ie/sport/touch/soccer/int...hey-withdraws/
Green being in the squad makes me weep.
There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.
Gutted and all that I am that Fahey out, the real tragedy in all this is that Paul Green will "grace" the Euros. Ridiculous that this guy ever got near the squad, ability wise. I'm sure he's dedicated and a nice fella etc etc but fckin hell.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
The team setting off today:
Can't spot McClean or Forde... Green will probably join up later and Fahey isn't travelling, obviously.
So these are the famous Kieth Andrews suits. The talior didn't really do a good job of fitting them; most of the jackets on the players who have them closed look a bit tight around the mid drift and on other players they fit well.
Compare O'dea and Cox for example. McGeady's is nearly hanging off him. Looks like some some of the lads got their jackets mixed up in the lounge before getting on the plane![]()