A lot of what he's saying is correct to an extent and his match reports are always brilliant.
The ref, Coombes, (who I can't remember seeing before on an aside) was weak as **** and very inconsistent for long stages to boot. His pally chats with, and playful pats on the bum from, the Finn Harps manager, didn't help his cause in my eyes, and didn't stop until he was bawled at by a few people at half time.
Gambles yellow was a yellow. Poor challenge but very difficult to send someone off for a dangerous tackle on that pitch, which was absolutely disgraceful. Six stone Stephen Bradleys yellow was for flattening a Harps player by dragging him back as he was about to break away. Behans yellow was for giving out to the referee about the fact that he was being consistently fouled by the refs buddy, Hutton, and his centre half partner, whats his face. I don't have superhuman hearing so was unable to pick up on any C words tbh.
No yellow cards for any Harps players while all this was going on. Despite the persistent fouling of Behan. Despite the constant diving and whinging of Kevin McHugh (who, to be fair to the guy, could have be diving because he thought he was at the local swimming pool) and despite the fact that your number sixs soul purpose for large parts of the game was to arrive just a little bit late and kick things.
When during the second half the referee actually began to apply the rules and punish Hutton for his persistent fouling he left off a string of invective at his former best buddy the referee which caused the wall next to me to start to bleed. Was Peter booked? Maybe remembering happier times, the ref decided against it.
Anyway the point of this long Sunday evening drawl, is it is the maddening inconsistency of referees which, well, maddens, people at times.
The "big spending Limerick" label has become a bit tiresome in the sense that it's constantly aimed at Limerick, as if we stood alone astride the league like some kind of solo 20 grand a week spending colossus. Our budget is bigger than Harps you say? Yawn.
The "cynical" label is very lazy as well and is thrown around a lot. It's like people see we're an awful lot better than them and go "OMGZ they are so on top, they must be being cynical."
Apart from Bradleys yellow (which any player worth his salt would have taken) can someone explain how Limerick were cynical last night, more cynical than Harps? Take into account Kevin McHughs constant diving and cribbing and Peter Huttons constant fouling and cribbing when answering.
The red was a definite red as well. Your man went to do Shaun Kelly. He failed, thankfully.
Even the normally placid and mild mannered Barry Ryan was up in arms about the tackle.
Delighted with the game overall. We're a serious, serious, outfit now. Again Scully made a big call, dropping the captain, and again it was fully vindicated. We played as much football as the disgraceful conditions allowed, created chances, kept the ball and choked the life out of the opposition. I can't remember Harps creating a single thing all game. Gamble was superb and Bradley, to my surprise, didn't go hiding in the shocking conditions. We look good. We are clicking. We should be fine.
We are finally starting to play like the team of eccentric millionaires we've all come to expect.
Just a final note on pitches. The pitches so far this year in the First Division have all been a disgrace, either an arid desert like in Athlone or a quagmire like last night in Ballybofey. (Harps lads, instead of complaining about all the sand on Athlones pitch, it would have been more in your line to steal some!)
It baffles me after the uneventful winter we had.
This standard of pitch simply isn't good enough for Limerick and our travelling squad of artisans. I sincerely hope things will improve as the year goes on.
Thanks.