Page 15 of 18 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast

Thread: A Couple of Questions Re Dundalk

1,524 Posts
    That was in the Sligo match thread on derrycitychat, mostly on the second page. There were a few comments about how problems may not be far away if crowds keep dropping.

I could well have missed stuff by the way, I shouldn't have been as definitive about it above. Wouldn't want people to think I obsessively read football forums!
    Last edited by Mr A; 17/07/2012 at 12:46 PM.

387 Posts
    Was just wondering as hadn't heard anything about it. Derry fans speculating about everyone then by the sounds of things!

Most clubs would be in trouble if crowds keep dropping all the same.

63 Posts
    The Derry rumour mill is well known to be full of BS. Some of the stories that've been spread around the town over the years are mental. Our crowds have dropped a bit, but the players were paid as far as I'm aware. If someone can prove otherwise feel free
    For once maybe someone will call me "sir" without adding "you're making a scene."

46 Posts
    any idea if anyone outside the Dundalk Trust has put in a bid to buy the club

178 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    If there are issues at Derry, there are no mentions of it on their forum (that I've seen anyway), and they did just sign at least one new player so I'd be pretty doubtful about this. Ironically enough, the only speculation I see about wages is that Sligo didn't pay their players last week!
    UEFA wont let you play in Europe if you owe monies to players or anybody else for that matter.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    any idea if anyone outside the Dundalk Trust has put in a bid to buy the club
    Yes there is one serious offer outside of the Trust afaik
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Yes there is one serious offer outside of the Trust afaik
    You're happy with a slab of Harp and a box of Hunky Dory's then?

I'll be round for the keys tomorrow.

433 Posts
    Make it a few bottles of bucky and we have a deal.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    You're happy with a slab of Harp and a box of Hunky Dory's then?

I'll be round for the keys tomorrow.
    Are you a Drog in disguise?

433 Posts
    Derry supporters in Oriel tonight:

1,813 Posts
    A week out of the loop. How's it looking?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

125 Posts
    i think we will generate enough funds to see out the season. a commendable amount of fundraising initiatives have been put together that really will hopefully bring in much needed resources.
    if we can sort out the ownership issue sooner rather than later that will bring more a more long term certainty and assurance to more supporters and hopefully we can build on the club from where gerry left off.
    apparently two bids are in. one from the trust but one unnamed. which is possibly fastfix/bond consortium. i havent checked my Euromillions tickets yet so I wont be putting in a bid as of yet.
    Long Live King Kenny

Theres kind of a glorious irony here in that the same fans who were chanting about Bohs going bust a couple of years ago are out in Dalymount tomorrow with the begging buckets.

Regardless I hope ye survive.

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bohs11 View Post
    Theres kind of a glorious irony here in that the same fans who were chanting about Bohs going bust a couple of years ago are out in Dalymount tomorrow with the begging buckets.

I can guarantee you that none of the fans chanting about the demise of Bohs will be doing a bucket collection in Dalyer on Friday. Those idiots have long deserted the club!

Quote Originally Posted by Bohs11 View Post

I agree it is. However on the terraces a bit of chanting is a bit of craic/banter, no-one wanted ye to go out of existence. Just like I'm sure none of ye wanna see us go under.

From my understanding It was Bohs that approached us on doing a bucket collection in the Jodi for us. That is serious craic going out of the way like that. Fair play Bohs!

Just like Some Shamrock Rovers paying double in when we played them 3 or so weeks ago, just like Derry going to the effort of making the "Save Dundalk" banner and donating something. Now Bohs are doing this bucket collection around the Jodi. A Pats fan has also got in contact personally looking to sort something out in them helping us.

Beyond the banter/hatred/ we may have for each other on the Terraces, it's amazing to see so many drop the rivalry and forget our differences. No matter how small it may be.

A big Thank you to all.

19. Thanks From:

305 Posts
    Dundalk based company i believe-

LMFM RADIO ‏@LMFMRADIO A major company may be investing a 5 figure sum in Dundalk FC for the naming rights to Oriel park. Stay tuned to our sports news for more
    Fyffes banana split park

Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Fyffes banana split park
    Surely the split won't happen until later?

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Dundalk based company i believe-

Fyffes banana split park

I recall a couple of years ago when Harps had 'Borderloo Toilet Hire' on the back on the jerseys, have visions of something similar for Dundalk.

288 Posts
    I hope the five-figure sum isn't ten grand... You lads need to do what you can to survive, but it would be a pity not to get value for it.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    I hope the five-figure sum isn't ten grand... You lads need to do what you can to survive, but it would be a pity not to get value for it.
    10k for a season is better than nothing for a season.

Page 15 of 18 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast