Page 15 of 81 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565 ... LastLast

Thread: Shay Given

2,693 Posts
    I see our national broadcaster hasn't saw fit to even mention the injury on their website yet.

1,912 Posts
    They are leading with the story now, dislocated shoulder, relatively good news, better than could be expected.
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0424/givens.html

Quote Originally Posted by SUB of the day View Post
    Mancini looked genuinely concerned, Stephen ****** langer Ireland was laughing like a schoolboy.........
    What? U saw this or you just assuming he was??

Quote Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post
    What? U saw this or you just assuming he was??
    I was watching live on ESPN, absolutely shocking game, the injury to Shay woke me up.As he was recieving oxygen the camera panned to Mancini, and then the City bench,the golum double was laughing his arse off, obviously his own private joke, as the rest of the squad remained serious.God only knows what had him so amused, but given what was happening to Shay, a little cop on,wouldn't have gone astray.

59 Posts
    Saw it too, to be honest considering the save, he came off lightly. Dislocated shoulder isnt really career threatening so im glad, thought it was a broken hand at first.
    Only upside to this i guess is we'll get a proper look at westwood in the next friendlies and maybe trap will give murphy a run out now aswell

82 Posts
    Any news on the recovery period? Mentioned this morning Armenia game may be a doubt. If its the first dislocation my understanding is that its a fairly rough operation followed by a lengthy recovery period. You only pop it back in Bruce Willis style after subsequent dislocations.

537 Posts
    its always advisable to get a pin put in it or it will keep coming out again. duff had the same thing before

3,314 Posts

1,912 Posts
    I thought it just had to be popped in, relocated.

Operation as in surgery? is that not a next to last resort ? That would mean there's a lot of damage.
    I just remembered though, is it the same shoulder he had serious trouble with before?

130 Posts
    Ya the same shoulder, didnt realise the lad has turned 34 this year. Hope this injury doesnt become a persistent one as it is the type of injury that could see the demise of a goalkeeper.

The ever knowledgeable Lawro was on the last word yesterday evening, he apparently had the same injury and said he never fully recovered from it ie cant serve playing tennis etc. Admittedly the treatment he got 30 odd years ago is probably alot different to whats there now.

2,693 Posts
    Brian O'Driscoll made a full recovery from a similar injury though, in a far tougher sport.

My understanding is that the ligaments get stretched and have to be tightened to keep the shoulder in. Something like that anyway!

3,314 Posts
    Duff and Clinton Morrison have both suffered it in the recent path. Duff took judo lessons after it happened to learn how to fall without hurting himself IIRC

2,693 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Duff took judo lessons after it happened to learn how to fall without hurting himself IIRC
    Prompting some here to take it as meaning he took lessons in how to dive!

1,912 Posts
    More alluding to that the injury risk was greater from the fall, than what caused him to fall.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Duff was merely killing two birds with one stone.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SUB of the day View Post
    I was watching live on ESPN, absolutely shocking game, the injury to Shay woke me up.As he was recieving oxygen the camera panned to Mancini, and then the City bench,the golum double was laughing his arse off, obviously his own private joke, as the rest of the squad remained serious.God only knows what had him so amused, but given what was happening to Shay, a little cop on,wouldn't have gone astray.
    I have it recorded from MOTD highlights, he does seem to be having a bit of a laugh.

488 Posts
    Don't take this the wrong way lads, but I'm kinda glad for Shay we aren't going to South Africa now. He would have been devestated to miss out like this.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post

Duff is a diver sadly...

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    Its a very odd feeling to want to punch someone square in the face when u have never met them or even seen them
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Meditation & Yoga or maybe Prozac should help with that...

Page 15 of 81 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565 ... LastLast