Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Have some balls and be honest about $h€l$

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    I was in Italy a couple of years ago. I was talking to a Fiorentina fan the day Junve were playing Man Utd in the Champions League. I asked if he was going to be cheering for United given the hostility between Juve and Fiorentina. He looked at me as if I had two heads (I don't) and said that he would never support a foreign team before an Italian team.

They kick their way through the eL? What a load of sh ite. Time to grow up. It doesn't take balls to support Depor this week, just a very very small mind.
    So given that you think this one fan speaks for some 50 odd million Italians, does this mean that Pablo speaks for all us Irish?
    I hope $h£l$ do well, but won't bother me if they don't.

60 Posts
    I'm not a Shels supporter but I think it is a sad reflection on Cork City supporters, if as posted above, they will be hoping Shels get humiliated.. The vast majority of football fans in this country were delighted to see Cork do so well in the InterToto – for the EL and for Cork. This run of Shels is bound to benefit the standing of the entire league. Most importantly it will make an impression of young school going kids, who up to now have probably regarded EL clubs as naff. It is a time when we can introduce these kids to the EL in a positive light
    Always look on the bright side of life

hope shels win

I THINK IF THIS WAS PUT ON A POLL most city fans would be backing shels, this is a team from IRELAND playing football at the highest level ,keeping loi alive on the european side of football .come on the shels

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy
    ....but I think it is a sad reflection on Cork City supporters, if as posted above, they will be hoping Shels get humiliated..
    There's loads of threads on this and while there may be more anti-Shels posts, I think if you read through you'll find there are more pro-Shels posters (or at leats CCFC fans who hope they give a good account of themselves and the league.)
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo

"Pablo's comments are no more than begrudgery of the worst kind and I don't think the majority of Cork City supporters agree with him."

I take great offence to that paudie its something i feel strongly about and i'm entitled to my opinion how dare you.
    How dare I what?

All I expressed was my opinion that your comments are begrudging towards Shels. Of course you're entitled to your opinion as well.

Pablo nobody wants to hear anymore of your depressing thoughts.this league has been knocked for years and we have all had to put up with it.shells are the best run club by a mile in the country. ollie byrne is a plug but as i have said before we would love him as chairman city would probably be winning the champions league by now
    with our fanbase he would have made serious progress.of course we would love to see city where they are but we not this yr.they have to do well after longford and bohs digracing us.
    Eskimos pussys are very cold.......

The el needs a club to make the group phase of the champions league.
    If its shels fair play to them or any other team for that matter.

This league needs every ounce of publicity it can get. I'll be in lansdowne rooting for them on wednesday.

As someone else said though we all have the right to follow whoever we want.
    Its a pity though that for this week at least the hatred cant be put on the back burner for the sake of an eircom league team on the verge of a great achievement.

Next year it could be cork!

all the best shels.

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy
    I'm not a Shels supporter but I think it is a sad reflection on Cork City supporters, if as posted above, they will be hoping Shels get humiliated.. The vast majority of football fans in this country were delighted to see Cork do so well in the InterToto – for the EL and for Cork. This run of Shels is bound to benefit the standing of the entire league. Most importantly it will make an impression of young school going kids, who up to now have probably regarded EL clubs as naff. It is a time when we can introduce these kids to the EL in a positive light
    I agree. This whole debate is ridiculous. I was at Turner's Cross to bellowing out my lungs to support City against NEC and Nantes. If ye are sore about Shels ( and I can understand about Ollie Byrne ) then berate them in the league and other domestic competitions. Not supporting an Irish club in Europe is like not supporting the Ireland team.

Not supporting Shels in Europe is not Supporting Cork city.

The stuff about celtic is rubbish as celtic became big and then had limited suvccess in Europe - not the other way round.

Norway is the same - all you have to do is look at the way Norwegain clubs do in Europe compared to their neighbours. The stadium facilities all over Norway - even up in the Arctic Circle.

Rosenbourgs grip is loosening and shels wont get bt Depor - its impossible but good luck to them

Quote Originally Posted by Flynninio
    but as i have said before we would love him as chairman city would .

speak for yourself

im happy with lennox

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    they have no fans.
    They have at least as many fans as 90% of eircom League clubs. What they don't have, or didn't have until a few weeks ago, is/was bandwagoners and sunshine supporters who only sing when they're winning.

They are good reasons for dislking Shelbourne. There are even vaguely understandable (if spiteful, small-minded and parochial) reasons for hoping they lose to Depor. Yours are just lame.

I don't want to see Shels going through. Wouldn't mind too much if they win the home leg for the good of the co-efficient then get tanked over in Spain.

My reasons are nothing to do with Shels as they're currently run / Ollie / all the "previous" between Pats and Shels. I'd be saying the same thing if it was Bohs or Cork or anyone else on the edge of what Shels are on - enough moolah to leave the rest of us eating their suddenly-expensive dust.

All this "for the good of the League" talk is utter cráp - how does it benefit the League if, for example, Shels earn enough money to entice Hunt and Crowe away from Bohs. The rest of us will spend our the remainder of our lives competing for second place. People have referred to the Rosenborg scenario - they've won the Norwegian league twelve years running. That's not good for any League.

If more people start going to Shels' league games on account of their exploits to date, well and good. THAT'S how you can measure whether there's any knock-on benefit to the League. Look at last week - Shels get all the media coverage for knocking out Hadjuk - and rightly so. Two days later, Pats play Cork (who also got a lot of positive press for their Intertoto expolits) in the only LoI match on in Dublin last weekend. Barely 1500 people there.

THERE IS NO BENEFIT TO THE LEAGUE FROM SHELS KNOCKING OUT DEPOR.

There would undoubtedly be a huge benefit to Shels. The barstoolers who everyone is so keen to impress would simply change their tune from "The whole LoI is sh1te, I'm not going to it" to "The whole LoI bar Shels is sh1te, but I might go watch Shels play in the CL". Anyone who thinks any other club will gain as well is being ridiculously delusional.
    Revenge for 2002

That is barmy. Rosenbourg have a tiny budget in European league Terms -€6million. Rosenbourg got their act together and then dominated the league and did well in Europe. Norway is the only country were one team dominates so much because of suppsed European success. name one other country! Norwegian football has progressed at all levels.

I cant believe people here are hoping shels dont do well.

Our league is laughed at, ignored, ridiculed. The ordinary joe in the street thinks its ****e. One good result in Europe wont make a difference - it has to be all the clubs in Europe on a fairly regular basis.

The idea that attendances wont rise because our clubs do well in UEFA competition is not mirrored in any other country that has improved its rankings. Improve your rankings = improved attendances = more money for investment = better players, stadiums etc.

A slovenian team got to the champions league and didnt dominate their country, ditto for all the other countries

dont even know why we are having this topic

shels wont and never will beat deportivo

not now,not next year,not ever

so for the fact that you know they wont go through,im hoping they get hammered and heads will be dowbn when they travel to the cross

[ i dont care who supports City as long as the Corkonians do because i know if we do well our support will be massive.

Come on Deportivo!!!!!!!!!!!

i know theres lots more here[/QUOTE]

I know if we do well our support will be massive.That sums youse up. You only sing when your winning.

Quote Originally Posted by eoinh
    Norway is the only country were one team dominates so much because of suppsed European success. name one other country!
    Scotland get 2 Champions League places, put that with all the extra support that Celtic & Rangers get from people who latch onto them because of their respective backgrounds, and it all adds up to a mickey mouse league bar the top two.
    I think a plan is just a list of things that don't happen - Mr Parker

The Old Firm would dominate Scotland even without Europe. If Hearts qualifyed one year chances are rangers and celtic would still share the title between them the next.

Quote Originally Posted by onceahoop
    You only sing when your winning.
    Don't upset the hoops fan, they don't even get that option anymore

There'll be enough 'barstoolers' who'll tell us our league 'is still sh!te' when Shels go out
    There'll be enough 'armchair experts' who won't recognise half the Depor team and will therefore assume it's a weakened one.
    There'll be enough 'neutrals' who'll cheer should Shels concede a goal on Wednesday
    There'll be enough 'pundits' who'll tell us an EL player will never be at that standard
    There'll be enough 'armchair experts' that will watch the Manchester United Qualifier on TV3

I'll be f*cked if I'm going to add my voice to that bullsh!t

Some team had to make the step up, while we all wish it could be our own it's great that one finally has.
    Do yourselves and the League Proud Shels.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by City Hero
    Scotland get 2 Champions League places, put that with all the extra support that Celtic & Rangers get from people who latch onto them because of their respective backgrounds, and it all adds up to a mickey mouse league bar the top two.

i know what youre saying. My point is that europe didnt make celtic and rangers strong in scotland - its due to domestic scottish reasons

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    dont even know why we are having this topic

shels wont and never will beat deportivo

not now,not next year,not ever

so for the fact that you know they wont go through,im hoping they get hammered and heads will be dowbn when they travel to the cross

Theres no way you can make a statement like that.

not ever is a long time.....

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast