Thread: Harps Away

420 Posts
    Best performance ive seen in a long time being honest...

Started really well got straight on top and took the lead....We handed them there goal it should have been saved.
    We played well enough 1st half dont think we were threatened that much and we had a few chances....
    Came out second half and were excellent controlled the game i cant remember a real Harps chance in the second half.

Gamble and Bradley are different class ran the midfield and really got us pushing on.....Gambles ball from midfield to the wing for the 1st goal was unbelievable.
    2nd goal was a well swung in corner and Guthrie got on the end of it.
    Not quite sure what happened for the 3rd but i think Guthrie got had an effort that came off Behan and went in.
    Had a 4th disallowed for Gaffney climbing on someones back.

After the 2nd goal it was really just a matter of how many we were going to win by we controlled the game.
    Defence looks far better with Tracy at left back. Guthrie and Corie very solid too. Brosnan and Coughlan weren't too involved 2nd half i think they were a bit weak up against the Harps defence but Garbhan did score so from a Brossie cross so well done to them for that.
    Best game ive seen from Behan so far held up play and linked up well got a lucky goal but hopefully it will give him a bit of confidence now.
    The more the season goes on the better its going to be watching Gamble and Bradley.

Delighted with last-night.

2,446 Posts
    Superb Limerick performance. Well up for the game. Good Limerick crowd and good craic to be had.
    Disappointed with Harps performance, we've played much better than that past few weeks.
    Harps lost all shape and organisation when Hutton went off and the loss of McBride in the middle made things even worse, which by the way, I thought was definitely a sending off. It was waiting to happen.
    Fair play to ye, good side, fully expect to you to run away with it from here.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Superb Limerick performance. Well up for the game. Good Limerick crowd and good craic to be had.
    Disappointed with Harps performance, we've played much better than that past few weeks.
    Harps lost all shape and organisation when Hutton went off and the loss of McBride in the middle made things even worse, which by the way, I thought was definitely a sending off. It was waiting to happen.
    Fair play to ye, good side, fully expect to you to run away with it from here.
    Shocked at how good he still is i must say.
    Enjoyed some good banter with the Harps lads over by the seats.
    That Clarke (Adam?) with ye is a very good player too.

2,446 Posts
    Ah that would have been myself with the drum. Clarke is a handy player going forward but is suspect defensively. Don't think theres a huge amount of overly disappointed Harps fans as we would have expected a loss especially with Felix Healy's ridiculous comments during the week.

420 Posts
    Ah that would have been myself with the drum. Clarke is a handy player going forward but is suspect defensively. Don't think theres a huge amount of overly disappointed Harps fans as we would have expected a loss especially with Felix Healy's ridiculous comments during the week.
    Had good craic with you and the lads with you so.....Makes the trip better when you get some banter like that.

Great to hear Gamble and Bradley had another good game together. They seem to have clicked in the Cork, Wexford and now harps games. Bradley for me has been outstanding in those games (cork and Wexford anyway) calm, cool and collected on the ball and doesn't overplay it. S.Tracey at fullback seems to have settled the back four a bit. It's as if the centre backs weren't that comfortable with bhandarkar with him being so young and inexperienced in that position and they are more comfortable with Shane and more comfortable playing it out of defence.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Great to hear Gamble and Bradley had another good game together. They seem to have clicked in the Cork, Wexford and now harps games. Bradley for me has been outstanding in those games (cork and Wexford anyway) calm, cool and collected on the ball and doesn't overplay it. S.Tracey at fullback seems to have settled the back four a bit. It's as if the centre backs weren't that comfortable with bhandarkar with him being so young and inexperienced in that position and they are more comfortable with Shane and more comfortable playing it out of defence.
    Exact same against Harps.

think he made a difference

Think he made a difference in the longford game also for the time that he was on.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Great to hear Limerick played so well. Can anyone shed any light on what exactly happened with Barry Ryan?
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Great to hear Limerick played so well. Can anyone shed any light on what exactly happened with Barry Ryan?
    From what i could see he got involved in an argument with the Harps lad that got sent off didn't see him hit him or anything so was a strange one.....All depends on what he said i suppose he was having heated words with the player and 4th official. Was a few people in the way around it so one of the Harps lads might have got a better view of it.

From my vantage point on the far side (a poor one that is) he certainly didn't seem to touch anybody. So I presume it was for mouthing though like BWA I wouldn't offer my opinion up as fact on this one.

2,446 Posts
    Word on the street is he threatened Tommy McBride, called him a scumbag and said he was coming after him, when the 4th official told him to calm down he told him to go f**k himself. Ref had no hesitation sending him off anyway.

586 Posts
    Word on the street is he threatened Tommy McBride, called him a scumbag and said he was coming after him, when the 4th official told him to calm down he told him to go f**k himself.
    Well, that's not very nice is it?

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Well, that's not very nice is it?

I suppose not. Well spotted.

so i take it sully is staying on as manager and we got it wrong

586 Posts
    I wouldn't say that criticism of Scully in the aftermath of the Longford game was wrong, it was very well deserved in my opinion, but subsequent results speak for themselves.

Agree with neverfeltbetter the complaints about Scully where spot on but he seems to have addressed the problems and fair play to him.

When he does ridiculous things with the team he deserves the criticism but when he sorts it out and gets it right he deserves the credit.

Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post
    so i take it sully is staying on as manager and we got it wrong
    Scully for president
    to be fair, I criticised the players for the Longford game, said Paddy and Paudie should be dropped 'til they got the finger out. The players deserve the credit when it goes right like that, in the same way, when it goes wrong again they'll deserve the majority of the blame. Lets hope there is a big crowd Friday for Waterford.

Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    Lets hope there is a big crowd Friday for Waterford.
    Not too big either though!