Thread: New offside rule

Question New offside rule

I heard on Sky Sports News the other night. "And he took full advantage of the new offside rule to slot the ball past the keeper" Did I miss something, what is this new rule?

This seems to be a reference to the guidelines from last season
    http://worldsoccer.about.com/b/a/038626.htm
    No new rules concerning offside were introduced this season
    http://www.fifa.com/en/regulations/r...1584,3,00.html

One interesting proposal that we're familiar with from Rugby was rejected though:
    "The IFAB chose to reject proposals to increase the maximum length of the half-time interval from 15 to 20 minutes and to advance free kicks by 9.15 metres if a player from the penalised team fails to retreat the required distance or prevents the free kick from being taken."
    Might not have been such a bad idea though....?

Quote Originally Posted by Harry Tipper
    and to advance free kicks by 9.15 metres if a player from the penalised team fails to retreat the required distance or prevents the free kick from being taken"
    So say the free kick is from about 12 menter out..........
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

'Right! Up in the stands with ye!!'

also; .15 what's that all about ya reckon? "Hang on a sec lads i'll just craic out me tape measure"

Good to have you aboard Harry but I have to ask....why Norway?
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

3,491 Posts
    to advance free kicks by 9.15 metres

So ten yards, so? Damn Europeans!

What about video referees then as in rugby? For penalty and other goal decisions (offsides etc)??

Why Norway?
    I ask myself the same question everyday between November and March each year. It's a roller-coaster tale of a fair-haired woman, a starry-eyed Paddy and copious amounts of alcohol. And eh.. yes a Volvo. I apologise.

What about video referees then as in rugby? For penalty and other goal decisions (offsides etc)??
    This sounds good but the main worry is slowing down the game-though at the expense of a fair result slowing it down seems mild-we've all heard the 'it's part of the game' but it still sucks getting cheated out of a match especially Cup finals (Celtic) and World Cup knock-out matches (Spain)

Why Norway?
    I ask myself the same question everyday between November and March each year. It's a roller-coaster tale of a fair-haired woman, a starry-eyed Paddy and copious amounts of alcohol. And eh.. yes a Volvo. I apologise.
    lol sounds fun no worries mate!

The 'experts' on the TV don't waste any time deciding if the refs made a mistake or not! Fair point though. Personally I think that the way it is now 4 'human' officials is an importan characteristic of the game. If you hang around football long enough you're going to come out quits in the end. We've had a few important decisions go our way too through the years.