Thread: Documentary on City Fans, Club & players, your thoughts

Documentary on City Fans, Club & players, your thoughts

Want to get your opinion on something.
    Myself and a few friends are thinking of doing a short film / documentary on the Club focusing in on the second half of the year with a specific slant on the fans and everything that goes on behind the scenes. We would also hope to get access to Pat and some of the players etc. We hope to get permission to bring the cameras into the ground for a game to film "the best supportrs in the lad" in action.

Just wondering what you all think? Would it be well recieved - would people be interested in the final item if we were to put it on DVD etc.

We would hope to talk to groups of fans from the different sections of the ground as well as those involved in the fanzines, forums, websites, official programme also so if any of you guys are interested just let me know.

What do people think?
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

a good idea and something that has been spoken about already by some fans. theres quite a bit of footage floating about from this years away matches too

I'm sure Colm would be only happy to further his media career, so maybe he could be the "presenter".......

Excellent idea Crow, I'd definitely buy it.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    I'm sure Colm would be only happy to further his media career, so maybe he could be the "presenter".......
    Dont encourage him!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    I'd be more than happy to oblige.

I think it's a great idea Crow. As Pablo said, a lot of people have plenty of footage of the fans from the European oddyssey and other away trips on buses. If we were to put that together with any future footage you'll have, pick out the highlights and throw in some interviews, it would be a very nice package. I'd say there would be massive interest in it.
    Champions!

Great idea - especially if you could get it out for Christmas.
    Personally, I think the more game / goal footage the more it will appeal to a broader audience - but I'd buy it anyway.

Oh yeah, and the access to players would be super - remember John Creedon getting Flanagan coming off the pitch after that inter-toto cup game..."poxy goal"

Quote Originally Posted by SSS

Oh yeah, and the access to players would be super - remember John Creedon getting Flanagan coming off the pitch after that inter-toto cup game..."poxy goal"
    Speaking of which, is Creedon's program available to buy?

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    I'd be more than happy to oblige.
    So will your top be on or off for it??
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

think james is doing something along these lines

be great to just have a camera on crowd the whole game,be mad to see some reactions to fouls,goals refs(stokes ) etc.......

Quote Originally Posted by Ruairi
    So will your top be on or off for it??
    It depends which would appeal to the audience more!
    Champions!

I can just see the title now

"Nekkid Colm does city"

KEEP IT ON BIY WILLA????

Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

relax lads,thats a european thing

You'd better be quick if you want to get Colm to be the presenter, word through the grapevine is that he fancies himself to take over Oisin's spot at the X on matchdays!!!

Definitely a DVD/Video needs to be done ...... there are a few people trying to do one so i'd recommend people get together on this one, or at least take a differnet slant on things if there are two.

I'd only buy a DVD if the money is going to the club or if it going towards getting flags etc. or into getting a good broadcast quality camera for the club or something along those lines.

I'd have a few ideas for a production, different shots and sketches etc. I have a few ideas for diferent features on a DVD and few possible ways of broadening the audience for the video aswell.

Things is ..... if this is to be done .... it needs to be done well. I'd hate to see a shoddy effort being done, seeing as there is a chance to do a kick áss one for the Christmas market.

I'd say it's be better if ye started one at the start of a season. i know there's inter-toto footage available and all but ye could make a better fist of it if it was from the start that ye were doing ye're own stuff.
    I'm gonna take a blow torch to everyone who writes "any info on......." on the desks in the ucc library.

Who's with me

On! please god on!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by A face

I'd only buy a DVD if the money is going to the club or if it going towards getting flags etc. or into getting a good broadcast quality camera for the club or something along those lines.

WELL,IF I HAVE ALL EURO GAMES ON MPEGS AND FOOTAGE OUTSIDE JOHN MCBYRNES. ALSO A LOT OF PICS. HOPFULLY I CAN OFFER SOME OF THESE WITH THE MONEY GOING TOWARDS ITY FANS IN TERMS OF FLAGS ,BANNERS,ETC....

fair play a face,thats the way it should be

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Things is ..... if this is to be done .... it needs to be done well. I'd hate to see a shoddy effort being done, seeing as there is a chance to do a kick áss one for the Christmas market.
    Yeah I agree with that point. And not only the quality of the footage, but the editing needs to be spot on to make the finished product meet the standard to attract the market, and maybe get it shown on telly. This costs money. Whoever will take this on might be able to get a few bob from the Cork 2005 office under the Credit Union sponsorship package. Also, there is a community video company called Frameworks doing 12 short films about Cork for 2005. Emma Bowell and Eddie Noonan are the people behind it. They might have other ideas about how to source funding for shooting and editing. Frameworks have their own editing equipment too, and might be interested in doing the job at below market cost.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    WELL,IF I HAVE ALL EURO GAMES ON MPEGS AND FOOTAGE OUTSIDE JOHN MCBYRNES. ALSO A LOT OF PICS.
    the corner
    any chance of burning them onto cd as we discussed there b4 and getting it to me, cheeers . have made a start on editing already

anyone else with pics / footage / ideas drop me a PM here or email me

jamesATcorkcityfc.net

Manser / SOC we might meet up at some stage convenient too yea ?

Quote Originally Posted by James
    the corner
    any chance of burning them onto cd as we discussed there b4 and getting it to me, cheeers . have made a start on editing already

sort u out on saturday