Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Limerick away 1st V 2nd

I think the easiest way to get to the ground is to go on the motorway from athlone to galway turn off at loughrea and once there follow signs for gort. You then have motorway practially the whole way. When you are coming into the fringes of Limerick city follow the signs for the city centre /Thormond Park.You go past the rugby ground and if my memory serves me correct the end of the road is opposite the bus station and you wont be too far wrong.. the ground will be just around the corner on the road opposite to the right and then careys road on the left. please feel me to correct me if I am wrong. But thats the way I would go and there wont be much stoppages either compared to goin by Athlone/Nenagh.

You're a long way from Jackman when you hit Thomond Park, not sure which road you're refering too!! (sounds like a handy way across town actually if you wanna pass it on.)

Your best bet from that side is to follow the motorway on through the tunnel and take the ROXBOROUGH exit.

Continue straight along this road (you'll see Hogan Park on your left and a Maldron Hotel on your right) At the end of this road there's a T Junction, take the left here and carry on straight over a set of railway tracks. Then take a right at the next set of traffic lights and you're on Hyde Road. Jackman Park is at the very end of this road on the right.

THE ABOVE ADVICE IS POINTLESS IF CHILDERS ROAD IS CLOSED.

I'm not sure whether it is or it isn't but if it is do the following if travelling from that side:

Take the CAHERDAVIN exit off the motorway, continue straight on through a few roundabouts and you'll come to Ivans cross. (You'll see the Gaelic Grounds in the distance in front of you on your left) Go straight on, passing the Gaelic Grounds on your left and keep going straight the whole way into town over Sarsfield Bridge and along William St. At the top of William St you'll come to a junction with the TSB on your right and AIB on your left. Go right at this Junction and straight on up along Gerald Griffin Street and veer left onto Parnell Street and you're there.

Now ye better behave yereselves tomorrow night, that's the nicest I've ever been on this forum!!

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Are any Lims heads up for a bit of a ruckus outside before the game? Danny Dyer style, proper naughty. Won't be there myself but Martinho was wondering.
    We are saving ourselves for the bebo schooligans reunion fight at the end of the season. It's gunna propa ard.

420 Posts
    You're a long way from Jackman when you hit Thomond Park, not sure which road you're refering too!! (sounds like a handy way across town actually if you wanna pass it on.)

Your best bet from that side is to follow the motorway on through the tunnel and take the ROXBOROUGH exit.

Continue straight along this road (you'll see Hogan Park on your left and a Maldron Hotel on your right) At the end of this road there's a T Junction, take the left here and carry on straight over a set of railway tracks. Then take a right at the next set of traffic lights and you're on Hyde Road. Jackman Park is at the very end of this road on the right.

THE ABOVE ADVICE IS POINTLESS IF CHILDERS ROAD IS CLOSED.

I'm not sure whether it is or it isn't but if it is do the following if travelling from that side:

Take the CAHERDAVIN exit off the motorway, continue straight on through a few roundabouts and you'll come to Ivans cross. (You'll see the Gaelic Grounds in the distance in front of you on your left) Go straight on, passing the Gaelic Grounds on your left and keep going straight the whole way into town over Sarsfield Bridge and along William St. At the top of William St you'll come to a junction with the TSB on your right and AIB on your left. Go right at this Junction and straight on up along Gerald Griffin Street and veer left onto Parnell Street and you're there.

Now ye better behave yereselves tomorrow night, that's the nicest I've ever been on this forum!!
    Do that childers road is open again.

46 Posts
    AGree with you there will be a huge Que to get into the ground anyone that was there before will know there is only one pay point into the ground with hopefully and expected about 1000 trying to get in there will be delays I would leave half four ish maybe even 4:15

622 Posts
    To put it in words the longford lads will understand, tis like that cattle crush that's just a bit too thin, and you've got a rake of fat heffers trying to plough through it all at once.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    To put it in words the longford lads will understand, tis like that cattle crush that's just a bit too thin, and you've got a rake of fat heffers trying to plough through it all at once.
    LOL pretty much it. THank god its our last season up there its not a league of Ireland ground never was with a fantastic new stadium for next season it will be brilliant at last excellent facilities with dressing rooms bigger than a shoe box.

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Blazers on Stephen's Night springs to mind from that description.

47 Posts
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

1,104 Posts
    Get the fook in! Come on Town! Huge win, should give them real belief that they can have a right go at winning the division. Only slight concern would be our strikers not really scoring but as long as someone else is then happy days!

205 Posts
    Over the moon! I think we were well worth the win, they had half-chances but not incredibly threatening! Super header from James, rocketed into the top corner!
    Sporting F*ck All!

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    Over the moon! I think we were well worth the win, they had half-chances but not incredibly threatening! Super header from James, rocketed into the top corner!
    Don't think your giving Hyland enough credit he had to make at least 3 top class saves and anyone at the game will comment on his wonderful double save when he was lying on the ground only to jump up and punch the goal bound shot away. It was very similar to Aaron Shanahans against Shels in Tolka a few years back.

The 2 Limerick boys in front of me said at HT we were the far better team but Lims had the better chances and could have been 3 up and I fully agree with that.

What pleased me the most was the lads belief....to be pulled back in the 80th minute only to go and hit the killer blow in the 83rd was just fantastic and every single player gave it there all which was fantastic to see.

Stand out on the night were Hylo, Tommo, Gillespie and James who is showing some real class in the midfield this season with wonderful flicks and tricks and as said above what a diving header best I ever seen!

I said before last nights game we would be taking it 1 game at a time but us football fans never can so I'd be very confident of a win in the cup Tuesday even with a changed line up because Dundalk look sh1te tbh and then we have another very tough test against Harps our long time pals.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

420 Posts
    Fair play to the Longford fans that traveled down and well done to your team played some lovely football and fully deserved the win. The only value for money anyone of the big crowd got was watching ye play.
    That double save outspoken is talking about was unbelievable.

Also the look on his face when Martinho was called from the stand was brilliant .

Fair play lads.

19. Thanks From:

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Fair play to the Longford fans that traveled down and well done to your team played some lovely football and fully deserved the win. The only value for money anyone of the big crowd got was watching ye play.
    That double save outspoken is talking about was unbelievable.

Also the look on his face when Martinho was called from the stand was brilliant .

Fair play lads.
    Priceless....

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post

I said before last nights game we would be taking it 1 game at a time but us football fans never can so I'd be very confident of a win in the cup Tuesday even with a changed line up because Dundalk look sh1te tbh and then we have another very tough test against Harps our long time pals.
    Id say TC will play most of the non staters from friday night in the cup.
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒

861 Posts
    YE agree there but even our second string could beat Dundalk if you ask me! If TC plays the same team that he did against Bray in the LSC I'd be very confident.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

220 Posts
    Excellent win last night. Have to agree 100% with Outspoken, we were the better team but Lims had 3 great chances (2 great saves from Hyland including the double one and then somehow the Lims striker blasted over from 6 yards out!). Have to say Gillespie was excellent as was Kirbs ran himself into the ground. Salmo closed down every ball in what was a vast improvement on last week. Shaw had the 2 assists for the goals (I think it was him who flicked Crawleys throw for the first one) and was shattered at the end. Hopefully Ozzies injury isn't too serious to keep him out for long. I heard he twigged his back after challenging Ryan for the ball. Looking forward to Tuesday night to see some of our fringe players getting a run out!

Limerick are too good for this league, oh wait..............

Great result, no complaints, we will take that all day long. Well worth the trip.
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

What a win! I like to think I claim an assist for our first goal as tommo took the throw right beside us and I shouted at him! LONG!! some weapon to have his long throws bit like against Waterford..The second goal was right beside us too and shawsie did fantastic in chasing a lost cause and put purcell under pressure. his cross was superb and collie james header was the best I have seen! The power and distance it went was unreal..

Credit to the Limerick fans beside us.. Great banter between us and I was stunned to hear my name called out!Didnt realise I had a fanclub goin.. Pity it wasnt the females ! Best of luck to limerick for the rest of the season..

I am still concerned that we can do a Waterford as three years ago the blues were unbeaten for the first seven games and lost their way badly under stephen henderson..

btw if you ever are looking for somewhere decent to eat on the way home call into Luigis Borrisokane on the Nenagh Athlone road.. Top notch food and as i was leaving Philip Coffey,Kirbs,Mick Lee and Des Hope were ordering their well deserved food!! So theirs who can vouch my claim!

622 Posts
    good to know TC has them all on a super healthy diet :P

26. Thanks From:

205 Posts
    Finally posting properly on the game.

First of all Jackman park is one of the biggest dives I have been in a while! I've seen chicken coops in better nick. And people complain about Flancare?

Behan is packing a nice bit of weight. Niall Sheridan job. Does get alot of headers, but Hope and Deans took good care of him. One point I will make about him was the tackle on Haverty that the ref got wrong in the first half. He came in with a high foot, and got Haverty in the chest. Then he proceeded to roar into Haverty's face when he was on the ground. Disgusting. Anyway, I was delighted for him at 90mins.

We were far better anyway. Hyland was super. And Salmon was unreal. Coming out of nowhere to pick up possession. Kirby and Gillespie ran the show in the middle. I was impressed with James too, a super header!

Shaw played well I thought, but was tiring badly towards the end. Great ball in for the winner! Was disappointed to see Skelly get taken off with an injury. Hopefully he won't be too long in coming back.

Was a very short journey home with that win!
    I also don't think there was 1200 at that game last night. Closer to 1000.
    Sporting F*ck All!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast