Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Limerick away 1st V 2nd

True, I'm the only one from Limerick going on about the age thing, so thats hardly a pandemic now is it?
    Enjoy the trip down lads...it'll feel twice as long on the way home , hopefully!!

81 Posts
    So is there many going from LTFC? Hopefully a big crowd! Is the bus going?

420 Posts
    Where will Kirby play Friday? If you have a right winger any way handy we are in serious trouble down that side.

862 Posts
    Just to mention anyone still looking to travel to the game there are just 3 seats left on the supporters bus leaving Longford at 5pm on Friday.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

205 Posts
    Karl Bermingham played right wing against Waterford and ripped them apart. It was a joke. Hopefully him and James will link up well again.
    Sporting F*ck All!

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    Karl Bermingham played right wing against Waterford and ripped them apart. It was a joke. Hopefully him and James will link up well again.
    We are fine so

in fairness to Des Hope he has only come back since the Leinster Senior Cup tie and has missed practically three quarters of the season so far so for a man who has played little football hes doin well to be joint top scorer! hes being top notch since he come back and is hitting his peak since he signed for us..

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Just to mention anyone still looking to travel to the game there are just 3 seats left on the supporters bus leaving Longford at 5pm on Friday.
    Is 5pm not very late to be leaving for this? It's a 100 mile journey, on roads that aren't great in a bus. I'd say you're looking at 2 hrs 15 mins at least. If anything goes wrong, traffic, p1ss stops etc, you're cutting it fine to be there for kick off.

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Is 5pm not very late to be leaving for this? It's a 100 mile journey, on roads that aren't great in a bus. I'd say you're looking at 2 hrs 15 mins at least. If anything goes wrong, traffic, p1ss stops etc, you're cutting it fine to be there for kick off.
    Our usual driver always gets us there just in time twice last season we arrived at grounds just as the teams came out I have every confidence in him
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Fair enough, and as its good friday there shouldn't be any traffic issues...

623 Posts
    ye might want to reconsider that 5pm leaving time alright, I do that trip a few times a month, and your going struggle to get there on time especially in a bus, any traffic and your fecked. 4:30 would probably be safe enough.

46 Posts
    GReat to see a good travelling support how many do ye reckon will travel down?

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    It's bad luck to see kick off. Or is that just me?

Going from Limerick to Longford takes me 2 hours on the button. Going the other way could be trickier, especially on a bus. There are road works all over the city at the moment so its hard to know how long it will take to get into Jackman Park. 2hrs 45minutes should give just about enough time but I would definitely push it to 4:30 if possible. A good crowd is expected so there may be a queue to get in which means another delay.

623 Posts
    And Jackman can be a bit of a hoor to get into, especially as like expected there'll be a decent crowd.

189 Posts
    How do I get to Jackman Park coming from Longford? Making my first visit tomorrow so I'm fairly clueless.

It's actually a hoor to get to from out of town.

I would say follow the sign posts for the train station but what sign posts??

Quote Originally Posted by aa route planner
    Leave the M7 at junction 29 (Ballysimon Junction), then at traffic signals turn right onto Ballysimon Road - R527 (signposted Limerick)
    37.08 Continue forward onto Ballysimon Road - R527 (signposted Limerick)
    37.95 Continue forward onto Ballysimon Road - R527 Entering Limerick
    38.03 At roundabout take the 2nd exit onto Ballysimon Road - R527 (signposted City Centre)
    39.62 At Tipperary Roundabout take the 2nd exit onto Ballysimon Road - R527 (signposted City Centre N24)
    40.88 Limerick Greyhound Stadium
    41.31 Continue forward onto Upper William Street - R527 (signposted City Centre)
    41.44 At traffic signals turn left onto Upper Gerald Griffin Street - R527 (signposted City Centre, All Routes)
    41.62 At traffic signals turn left onto Parnell Street - R858
    41.73 Turn left onto Parnell Street
    41.76 Arrive on Parnell Street
    The ground is actually on Carey's Road, but the thingy wouldn't take Careys Road. If you've found Parnell Street you're more or less there.

The boys leaving on the bus you're cutting it fairly fine. There's going to be pandemonium outside the ground before kick off.

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    And Jackman can be a bit of a hoor to get into, especially as like expected there'll be a decent crowd.
    Ya best bet is to head towards the city centre and ask for directions to the bus/train station. Once in that area park around there and follow the thousands descending upon the stadium.

Just as a note: Childers Road has been closed the last few days and has caused a lot of traffic around the train station as traffic going in a few different directions has been forced to go this way.

1,104 Posts
    Are any Lims heads up for a bit of a ruckus outside before the game? Danny Dyer style, proper naughty. Won't be there myself but Martinho was wondering.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Are any Lims heads up for a bit of a ruckus outside before the game? Danny Dyer style, proper naughty. Won't be there myself but Martinho was wondering.
    It's one area the club is badly lacking in after years in the First Division I'm afraid.

Take a left past the ground up Hyde Road and make a nuisance of yourselves and I'm sure the locals will oblige.

There was no hurling in Dublin till the Shels lads came down in 2007 and saw the sticks. Revivals nothing to do with Anthony Daly.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast