Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Longford town (home)

Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    How people can blame Scully for that is beyond me. I'm not his greatest fan, but it's 90% the players' faults tonight.
    If it was a team of young inexperienced lads, then I'd say he's doing something wrong. Joe Gamble, Pat Purcell, Barry Ryan, Denis Behan, Shane Tracy, Paudie Quinn (i know the last 2 are young, but have both been in England so calling them experienced) were awful tonight. Paddy and Barry cost us 2 goals, Scully can't go play the game for them. Another day, Paddy runs it out, finishes 1 all and we all say 'meh, was ok, could have been worse' ...it's his fault for that goal, but people aren't calling for him to be sacked or dropped.
    I was behind the dugout too, he told them get it down and kept giving out when it was hoofed, to me that means they're not his tactics or the way he wants them to play. That's the players not listening to tactics.
    Was talking to one of the players afterwards bout the formation, he said it was 4 4 2 but Paudie kept dropping off. Garry was supposed to be in the squad too but got injured doing something else outside of training, Rory was sick during the week so didn't start, Bradley isnt fully fit, was only able for 30 mins. And, personally, from what I've seen with Sean Brosnan, he's useless on the wing, so I can kind of see what he was thinking with Kelly on the right wing, I'd like to hear others' opinions on who else could have played there though.

Disappointing result, but I think it's about time the players started taking the blame. Some look like they're just going through the motions, if they are not playing for the manager then yes, the board need to look at that situation then, but based on tonight, sack half the players. They look like they don't want to be there, like they don't want to work hard to get promoted. Why should I help pay their wages if Paddy can't be bothered working a little bit harder to clear the ball?
    Just my opinion on it though...
    You've basically said the players won't play for the manager...manager's fault surely??

Anyway Gillespie didn't move all night plenty of room in midfield, McGann not able to exploit, Bradley when he came on just dropped into those spaces and passed it around and we looked a bit better...thought it would be a fairly ordinary straight forward season with no tension like last year but it's us so we may f**k up or go up...Longford backed on the handicap that looks ok about now

Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post
    I cant see many of the 19s getting a chance in the league , first team players on big wages wont be dropped, pete mahon would be a great capture but scully wont be sacked nor will he walk.
    To a certain extent I agree. If Pete Mahon thought an under 19 would do a better job I think he'd play him. He'd at least put pressure on the senior team.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harpin View Post
    You've basically said the players won't play for the manager...manager's fault surely??

Anyway Gillespie didn't move all night plenty of room in midfield, McGann not able to exploit, Bradley when he came on just dropped into those spaces and passed it around and we looked a bit better...thought it would be a fairly ordinary straight forward season with no tension like last year but it's us so we may f**k up or go up...Longford backed on the handicap that looks ok about now
    Eaxactly bit strange that if he has been telling them to keep it down and play it all season they haven't done it yet.

Quote Originally Posted by harpin View Post

I'd agree to an extent, I think the amount of players who were willing to talk to fans after it about tactics says enough. I was talking to a different player than blueandwhitearmy who told me, Scully only says to hoof it for the first few minutes to push them back and make space. But if one player is saying one thing and another player is saying another, it means he is either not explaining himself well enough, or some players aren't listening.
    It's just my personal view, but I blame the players, we're not dealing with children here or some precious players on hundreds of thousands a week who could go play with someone else... if they're getting paid to do a job, they have to do it. If I went to work tomorrow and didn't do something my manager told me to, I'd face consequences. They are experienced players and some have played at a very high level. To say they go out and are clueless speaks more about them than it does the manager. Like, can you imagine Alex Ferguson having to tell Vidic "if that ball is going out, don't let them get it. Kick it far away or be strong and leave it out" ...my point is, they are basic errors the players are making which seem to cost us. We give goals to teams, and it comes down to players switching off. Some people are always going to be on the players side though and would rather sack everyone else except them. Football's a funny ole game.

420 Posts
    I'd agree to an extent, I think the amount of players who were willing to talk to fans after it about tactics says enough. I was talking to a different player than blueandwhitearmy who told me, Scully only says to hoof it for the first few minutes to push them back and make space. But if one player is saying one thing and another player is saying another, it means he is either not explaining himself well enough, or some players aren't listening.
    It's just my personal view, but I blame the players, we're not dealing with children here or some precious players on hundreds of thousands a week who could go play with someone else... if they're getting paid to do a job, they have to do it. If I went to work tomorrow and didn't do something my manager told me to, I'd face consequences. They are experienced players and some have played at a very high level. To say they go out and are clueless speaks more about them than it does the manager. Like, can you imagine Alex Ferguson having to tell Vidic "if that ball is going out, don't let them get it. Kick it far away or be strong and leave it out" ...my point is, they are basic errors the players are making which seem to cost us. We give goals to teams, and it comes down to players switching off. Some people are always going to be on the players side though and would rather sack everyone else except them. Football's a funny ole game.
    But how do you explain the fact that anytime we have had a big game under Scully we have been awful? There were completely different players there over the last 3 years but the exact same performances under the exact same manager.

A left back not good enough for Pike or Boro being the only left back in the senior squad.
    Our best right back playing on the wing.
    A 17 year old going up against Gillespie when Bradley was on the bench.
    Playing with 1 up top that has us playing crap and is leaving Behan useless and Quinn invisible in every game it has been played this season.
    Putting the totally right footed Kelly at left back and the totally left footed Shane Tracy at right wing when we were trying to get the ball into the box.
    Which of these things are the players fault? I can have more and more lists like that from big games with different players too.

If I went to work tomorrow and didn't do something my manager told me to, I'd face consequences. They are experienced players and some have played at a very high level. To say they go out and are clueless speaks more about them than it does the manager. Like, can you imagine Alex Ferguson having to tell Vidic "if that ball is going out, don't let them get it. Kick it far away or be strong and leave it out" ...my point is, they are basic errors the players are making which seem to cost us. We give goals to teams, and it comes down to players switching off. Some people are always going to be on the players side though and would rather sack everyone else except them. Football's a funny ole game.
    There should be consequences if thats the case and players should be dropped, or do something to improve things, but he seems to drop the wrong players for whatever reason he has.

If your boss or manager had you doing stupid things at work and kept changing his mind and changing peoples jobs and you didn't agree with what your boss was doing you would probably soon start to get demoralised and just go through the motions and not perform as ye should and would probably make these errors.

Also Scully dosn't seem to be a good boss to have, the amount of players who've left because of him, I've stood by Scully untill recently and not it's fairly obvious he's not the man for the job it's like Groundhog Day over and over and over again, seriously that many players can be wrong and Scully always right?

Quote Originally Posted by blueblood View Post
    There should be consequences if thats the case and players should be dropped, or do something to improve things, but he seems to drop the wrong players for whatever reason he has.

If your boss or manager had you doing stupid things at work and kept changing his mind and changing peoples jobs and you didn't agree with what your boss was doing you would probably soon start to get demoralised and just go through the motions and not perform as ye should and would probably make these errors.

Also Scully dosn't seem to be a good boss to have, the amount of players who've left because of him, I've stood by Scully untill recently and not it's fairly obvious he's not the man for the job it's like Groundhog Day over and over and over again, seriously that many players can be wrong and Scully always right?
    Does anyone really know why scully got a contract for 2 yrs before there was any success.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post
    Does anyone really know why scully got a contract for 2 yrs before there was any success.
    When i asked last year i was told "To make sure no-one else takes him".

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    When i asked last year i was told "To make sure no-one else takes him".
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

46 Posts
    http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/article...lacked-hunger/

HE says HE didn't see the first goal yet say it was a ridiculous goal.

I don't know why we dont start the season well ummo maybe because you haven't a clue what your doing.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 10/04/2012 at 7:25 PM. Reason: Personal abuse

Very personal comment thomas72, i do agree he should go but players who have played at a higher level than the first division should be as much at fault as the manager and chairman.

205 Posts
    One thing I forgot to mention before in the LTFC forum...

Your supporters were a delight. Congratulated us on a good win and wished us a safe trip home. I've been to most grounds in the country and never have I got such a reception. Thank you!
    Sporting F*ck All!

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    One thing I forgot to mention before in the LTFC forum...

Your supporters were a delight. Congratulated us on a good win and wished us a safe trip home. I've been to most grounds in the country and never have I got such a reception. Thank you!
    yes I have to say I don't remember a kinder welcome and send off from any ground in any sporting code. When we arrived some Limerick fans close by asked about our journey up, during the game they complimented our play and at full tine shook our hands, congratulated us and wished us a safe journey really top notch from you guys especially when there was so much disappointment in the air.

Credit.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

I vouch too for the lads that have said about the good willing from the Limerick fans even in defeat. from the person in the turnstiles to the fans beside us it is very rare that you get this from any rival fans.. We really appreciate this and hope ye get promoted along with us..

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post

This dawn is not so false, .
    It's not too late to retract this statement

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234