Thread: Left or Right Side of the Crash Barrier

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar

All men under the age of 25 would only be insured on a car with a limiter fitted.

We're all adults FFS!
    evidently those of us under 25 aren't
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

Quote Originally Posted by Magoo
    evidently those of us under 25 aren't
    Some less capable than others at behaving like one.
    Read the statistics Magoo.

Statistically 17-24 year olds are 7.7 times more likely to be involved in a fatal or serious injury collision.
    Source National Safety Council

The principle of insurance is to share the burden of accident costs. Age is not the only means by which you can rate a person's likely ability to drive. Don't give me that statistics rubbish. They can be taken up anyway you like. For instance, women are far more likely to be involved in low speed accidents and men in high speed ones. Do you much a speed minimiser in women's cars and a limiter in all men's. Sounds rediculous. Thats what it feels like to be under 25 paying inordinate amounts for insurance. Still haven't crashed (not that i would claim if i could at all help it) - four years on the road. The majority of my friends in the same age group... the vast majority ... have yet to make claims on insurance. I'm sure there are situations of lads in the same age who have all claimed. It's not your bloody age FFS. Giving people one shot at a reduced rate to see how they get on is surely worth a try. I'm so fcuking disillusioned with the lack of action against insurance comany cartels.
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

You've all come back with some answer being critical of the gardaí for not taking proper responsibility for your actions and the actions of other adults.
    Agreed, in theory we shouldn't need a police service at all, however if we do have and need one should they be concentrating on preventing death and injury or clocking up the convictions. Should they be concentrating on doing people for dropping litter, or trying to solve murders and rapes?

Some less capable than others at behaving like one.
    Read the statistics Magoo.

Source National Safety Council
    98.4367% of statistics are made up anyway

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Should they be concentrating on doing people for dropping litter?
    We have litter wardens for that

Most of us here would consider ourselves to be "good" people but the truth is that much of the police resources are tied up dealing with our indifferent approach to certain laws that we feel don't apply to us or aren't that important. I saw a man in Temple Bar last weekend, who was clearly intoxicated, trying to assault a doorman. When two members of the gardaí tried to restrain him he became so aggressive that they had to be assisted by two more officers and eventually a police van arrived to contain him.
    Six members of the gardaí were involved because one adult was incapable of behaving responsibly. Anyone who has been a victim of serious crime could tell you a dozen different ways in which those resources could have been better utilised. Having been away on many football trips and especially more recently the Cork City FC European adventure I'm satisfied that most people are very well behaved and drink with a fair degree of responsibility but it only takes a few yobs like that guy in Temple Bar to waste a lot of garda resources.

98.4367% of statistics are made up anyway
    It would be nice if the road death statistics weren't true but sadly they are.

And 6 guards doing people for speeding on the M4 on a Wednesday afternoon would be more effective patrolling country roads an 4am on Saturday night for people speeding, drink driving etc - but they'd rather get the easy convictions...

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    but they'd rather get the easy convictions...
    I really don't think that's the reason.
    If you wanted an "easy" life would you really join the force in the first place?

I really don't think that's the reason.
    If you wanted an "easy" life would you really join the force in the first place?
    whats so hard about being a cop. Most find it so easy they have one or two other jobs to boot.

Not to mention the hassle of being landlords on numerous houses. Tenants can be so much trouble.