Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Longford town (home)

46 Posts

Longford town (home)

HOping we get over a thousand for this game good Friday and all.

BIg performance needed hope we don't bottle it again in a big game in front of a large crowd.

Steven bradly is back I thought he did very well when he came on v athlone its obvious he wasn't fit to start the game hopefully Dominic foley is fit if not I'd start gary sheehan up front with behan.

with it being Good Friday I can see us bringing a larger than expected away support.. we brought a larger than normal away support base to galway last weekend..

There's my Holy Thursday gone putting up the segregation chamber.

If Dom is fit you're looking at

Ryan

Tracy/Kelly
    Purcell
    Guthrie
    Bhandarkar

Tracy
    Gamble
    Bradley
    Gaffney

Foley
    Behan

Which on paper should be smashing them.

Don't think Gary has 90 mintes in him yet, reckon he'll be kept on the bench and sprung with a half an hour or so to go when win, lose, or draw, we'll be hacking the ball in all directions.

Our crowds have been excellent so far this year so I'm going to be optimistic and go for a top of the table clash in front of 1200+ (if it's dry)

As for the result, I can't for the life of me see us winning. Cos, well, we never do do we?!

Draw written all over it. They will be solid enough and we will start to hoof. The crowd will get ****ed off and we will start hoofing more and more getting desperate to score but……………………..

……………i'm going to for once try be confident about the result. 1-0 us with Dom scoring.

att: 998

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Somebody bring two friends for appearances sake!

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Surely the well attended, key home game, faltering jinx has to be lifted at some stage ...

I am liking Friday for it, win comfortably and in style, follow that with a win in Wexford next week and spend the rest of the season as Champions in waiting, bullying the division.

Don't want to dwell too long on the discontent a 0-1 while by passing midfield would foster.
    Last edited by CraftyToePoke; 02/04/2012 at 2:17 AM.

622 Posts
    ah we can't keep a clean sheet to save our lives, I'll be delighted with a draw from a longford perspective. I expected to be at this game, have to work now, balls to that

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    ah we can't keep a clean sheet to save our lives, I'll be delighted with a draw from a longford perspective. I expected to be at this game, have to work now, balls to that
    997 then...

81 Posts
    Is Jackman Park a long walk from the City Centre?

Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    Depends what part of town your coming from but it would be about 5 to 10 minutes max. It's pretty much in town.

420 Posts
    Cant see us winning this unless Dom is fit. Hopefully Bradley is fit to start he might at least try to keep the ball on the floor with Gamble.
    Play how we have in any game except Salthill and can see a 0-0 or 0-1. If we have Dom and actually get it down and play it could see us nicking a win.
    Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 02/04/2012 at 1:22 PM.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    yeah its easy to get to, just ask directions to the bus station, and from there Jackman's 5 mins away, Lim's a pretty small city anyway handy to get around

44 Posts
    would be great to have a large travelling support! Be great if we could get a win but ill be a hard task, were finding it very hard to finish off teams, were sitting back too much when we score allowing the other team to control the game, if we keep the foot on the gas for the 90 min we mite just clinch a win.. im saying 2-1 town

limerick 4/6
    draw 5/2
    Town 7/2
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒

861 Posts
    Ye I agree with Fitzpatrick 10 we are taking our foot off the gas but I don't think the lads will have that mentality against Limerick I reckon WHEN they score one early on theyl look for more and I can see us winning this one considering Limerick always seem to bottle these big games so here's hoping

Have to say I haven't seen anticipation for a game like this in a very very long time it's great for football in both regions.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

46 Posts
    DOminic foley out of fridays game and will miss two more weeks with a knee injury big loss.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    DOminic foley out of fridays game and will miss two more weeks with a knee injury big loss.
    thats a pitty he'll be a big loss in this game..I'd take a chance and start Gary,himself and Denis could prove a handfull for the Longford defence....

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fc hammer View Post
    thats a pitty he'll be a big loss in this game..I'd take a chance and start Gary,himself and Denis could prove a handfull for the Longford defence....
    I can see Scully having his usual big game panic and going back to 4-5-1
    I think Foley is a massive loss especially with Behan having a real lack of confidence at the minute.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    I can see Scully having his usual big game panic and going back to 4-5-1
    I think Foley is a massive loss especially with Behan having a real lack of confidence at the minute.
    I suppose a share of the points in this one would'd be that bad ,but playing 4-5-1 at home with the players he has at his disposal is not acceptable...

I hope to go on Friday.. I think a draw would be a good result.The good news for us is Gillespie will start from the beginning. so normal service should be restored with him kirbs and collie james in midfield..

Quote Originally Posted by capello View Post
    as for the crowd i think they will be lucky to get anywhere near a 1000 because Limerick is not a soccer city and never will be and people should not get hung up on the negative's and be positive if the club is to finally move forward if thats possible.
    I remember not too long ago when the club had one of its many false dawns tthat we played Monaghan at home on a good friday night in Hogan Park, and the fact that there was a bit of potential there, and it was a good friday where people had nothing to do there was 2,000 people in attendance.

This dawn is not so false, its Good Friday and Jackman is more accessible than Hogan... no reason at all as to why there won't be a bumper crowd.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast