Crystal are very average but are getting great luck this year, they have played every round to date at home and obviously now thw 1/4 final aswell. There very poor attacking.Originally Posted by widow
Originally Posted by The Gaffer
tommy is the manager of local lims side shelbourne in div 2 a i think,
Crystal are very average but are getting great luck this year, they have played every round to date at home and obviously now thw 1/4 final aswell. There very poor attacking.Originally Posted by widow
No not tommy lynch.Albert finnin and neil o'brien.Park are rubbish do you know the waterford cry. lads tell them that they will have no prob go out there thinking its a handy one 5,6 nil at least no need even to train the next couple of weeks.Originally Posted by The Gaffer
Ye I know Crystal and I reckon your a Rangers player/supporterOriginally Posted by willy mcspud
Originally Posted by kingpin
Dident they play Granville away up at the pike and beat them on penos
Yeah your right, i forgot about that game. As far as i know that's the only away game they've played in the competition
Kingpin , you seem to be aCarrick supporter ... What is your knowledge of Wat Crystal ... No doubt if you are a Carrick supporter you would like them to be beat as I believe there is no lost between the clubs. Bit like Pike & Fairview in Limerick !!!
Galway Hibs will be the happiest team with the draw ...... Bookies believe Bellurgan and Park to be the weakest of the teams left ...
Lads, at the end of the day, it's not who they play, where they play, what they won by, it about winning!![]()
At this stage it is about winning although I am sure that the result in the Balla v Carew match will not tell the whole story .. Cannot wait to watch that match , it should be explosive !!!
Have to fancy Balla though , as they have more class players !!!! This is when it starts to get good !!!
Im a little bit more than a supporter!! Crystal are solid at the back and have a very good keeper, the main reason why they've gotten to the 1/4 finals. There game plan is purely defensive, they tend to sit back and soak up a lot of pressure. There very poor going forward and are lacking in width in my opinion, they also had a lot of luck when beating carrick but this is an essential ingredient needed to be successful in this competition. I wish them the best of luck, but would be sickened if they got any further because in my opinion they have fielded an illegal player several times, and the main reason they simply are'nt a good footballing side which usually the deserving winners are!!Originally Posted by Supersub
Originally Posted by whistler
carew have actually 4 ex balla players 5 including the manager
Paul Quinn, Jason Devlin, Dave Liston, The Mad Italian and Geezer Reddan
I have heard that they like to play 4-5-1 even at home and leave it late to push forward... They would probably need to concede early to bring them out of their shell ...Originally Posted by kingpin
Park have not been scoring a lot of goals of late themselves but they always have a go. If there are any weaknesses in the WC team lets hope the LL team can profit from them.
In fairness to Park they are only a small club within the LL(i.e don't have the history of the Pike . Fairviews Ballas etc ..) so WC would probably be happier having drawn them that either of the other two LL teams left in it ...
Whats the general consensus down your way about the draw and their chances ??
ok whistler point taken
The Balla v Carew match was gonna be a tough one without the lads playing against their former team .. Throw that in and you have got one hell of a battle ..
Think that the two teams will have to put in for a free week the following Sunday ... Another point , how many players will the winning team have suspended for the semi final ????
Waterford Crystal to scrape past Park Rangers, Killester United to overcome a gallant Westport United, Ballynanty Rovers to overcome Carew Park, narrowly, after an explosive game of football and Galway Hibs to dispose of Bellurgan United. Permutation permitting, I would go for a Killester United V Ballynanty Rovers final and the Dublin side to sneak it, because they went about their business quietly.Originally Posted by Supersub
Quote One from Killester Forum: Anything is possible in football, all you have to do is take one game at a time and see what happenes.
But I have to take my hat off to you.
I have never heard of any other junior football team that has had your sucess without any junior players, any x-league of Ireland, any x-pros or any x-internationals.
Great achivement and a credit to all involved from day 1.
Where do you find these players?
Quote Two from Killester Forum: Killester 1 Usher 0
Desperate game. With the pitch soft and bobbly and the wind blowing the ball everywhere the game was a disaster. They were always goin to come out kickin after the 5-1 thumpin earlier in the season.After 10 mins both teams down to ten men. Ian cumiskey flung himself into a challenge and won the ball. The only thing you could say was wrong was his studs were showing. it was one foot to the ball and and it was along the ground. usher were incensed(as if they can complain about another teams challenges) and a lot of pushing and shoving began. tranner then decides to punch hannier(who was breakin it up) in the face for no reason (we all no why he went for hannier though, ye windy f*ck). philly broderick then went for trannor. but was pulled back the ref then sent philly and tranner off. Few late tackles after that then as well. hannier taken off with a swollen ankle. and how the usher midfielder wasnt sent off is a mystery. davo has the ball at his feet and the usher lad goes straight for the knee. studs marks all across his knee which the ref can clearly see and he doesnt even book him. ye couldnt pick the better team from this because there was no football played and a lot of bad tackles. ref let too many of them go too. both teams hit the crossbar but killester prob ahd the better chances. the game was one with two minutes to go when kenny curly nodded home a shane dunne cross. Usher need to take a good look at themselves..from prem A Champs to this is a travesty.
Premier A League Table
Team P W D L F A GD PTS
Portmarnock 11 9 2 0 23 5 18 29
Valley Park United 13 8 2 3 22 17 5 26
Ballymun United 11 6 4 1 21 10 11 22
WFTA 13 7 1 5 21 14 7 22
Usher Celtic 13 6 4 3 22 21 1 22
Killester United 9 6 0 3 20 8 12 18
St. Kevins Boys 14 4 5 5 22 20 2 17
Baldoyle United 13 2 4 7 13 21 -8 10
Raheny United 12 2 4 6 11 19 -8 10
Kilbarrack United 11 2 2 7 7 21 -14 8
Howth Celtic 13 2 2 9 12 30 -18 8
St. John Bosco 10 2 1 7 12 20 -8 7
As you can see, Killester not doing too spectacular, but can move to second with their games in hand.
Killester United are away to Howth Celtic in Carrickbrack Road on Sunday at 3:00. Hopefully if there are any Killester fans that can give a report on the forum.
David Sheridan is their top scorer with 15 goals with Ian Graham on 9 and Philip Madden also on nine. The squad is as follows: Goalkeepers; Keith Donaghue and John Paul Brown. The veteran, Thomas Stanley is the sweeper with Ian Graham, Philip Broderick, Darren Murphy, Dwayne Keegan, James Askins and Stephen Scallan as centre halves. The wing backs are Shane Dunne, Ian Cumiskey, Andy Fitzsimons, James McGrath and Karl Meehan. The centre of midfield is made up of Philip Hanney, Alan Murphy, Jay Donnery, Stephen Murphy, Warren Boyle, John Duffy, Brian Togher, Ciaran McLoughlin and Eddie Hayes. The forwards are Tony Alcock, David Sheridan, Mark Alguaidy, Gerard Redmond, Michael Keogh, Philip Madden, Thomas Keenan and Keith Brown. I would suspect that Killester United likes to play with a 3-5-2 when pushing on and revert to a defensive 5-3-2 with a sweeper, given the actual player positions stated. Looks like that Ian Graham is the target man from set pieces.![]()
Kingpin,Originally Posted by kingpin
Who is the illegal player??? Did the FAI not throw this out on numberous occasions? Is this bitterness on your behalf? You say you are more than a Carrick supporter, it ****es me off when individuals/clubs in leagues wont support there own. I was at last years final in the RSC and was standing with at least 8 to 9 Crystal members all of whom were shouting for Carrick. Im not a Crystal member myself
The Gaffer.Originally Posted by The Gaffer
Just because the FAI dimissed the 3 objections does not mean he was legal.
Two of the objections were thrown out on technicalities.
I have been told that two rules from the FAI Rulebook were broken. The rules are rules but as we know the FAI always seem to do what they like.
Aside from all that I think Park have a very good chance going down there. I saw Crystal in Limerick and they were outplayed in large parts of the game by Granville a 1A side in Limerick.
Fair enough. Then why was the third one thrown out? Because the FAI dismissed three objections he is legal. He is legal until proven otherwise isn't he?Originally Posted by Twinkle Toes
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair