Page 18 of 32 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: Who's Gonna Win FAI Junior Cup 2004/05

Locally Balla & Carew Park looks to be the pick of the ties in last eight. However I think that we are looking at it with hearts rather than heads ...

Best tie is Killester vs Westport and I would expect that the winner will come from this tie !

Im sure the other three teams in the last 4 would like to avoid the winner of the above match. Anyone know the format that the semi will take regarding home advantage??

Is it played at neutral venue and if so how do they determine where to play game????

Question F.A.I. Junior Cup Semi Final

Quote Originally Posted by Supersub
    Anyone know the format that the semi will take regarding home advantage??

Is it played at neutral venue and if so how do they determine where to play game????
    The semi final would be at neutral venues. The first and third teams drawn would play at a neutral ground that is nearest to them, for example, if Killester United draw Galway Hibs, the match would be in the A.U.L. Complex and if Ballynanty Rovers draw Waterford Crystal, the game would be in Mick Cooke Park in Tipperary. That is going from recent experience. Now, if Westport United drew Bellurgan United, the game would be likely to be held in Milebush Park in Castlebar and if Park Rangers drew Carew Park, that game would likely take place in The Fairgreen in Limerick. Interesting permutations lay ahead of us.

I see you are covering eery angle TB !! What are your picks for the four semi final places ???

Semi Final

I see you are covering eery angle TB !! What are your picks for the four semi final places ???

Ballynanty Rovers, Galway Hibs, Killester United and Waterford Crystal would be my last four.

Thought that would be the case seeing as they were the first four that you named ..

Might as well go one step further and tell us who you think will win it out??

The Grand Finale

Thought that would be the case seeing as they were the first four that you named ..

Might as well go one step further and tell us who you think will win it out??

I think that Killester United will edge past Ballynanty Rovers in a closely contested final. Both are good teams and Killester have got this far pretty quietly. The least hyped favourites usually succeed.

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster
    The semi final would be at neutral venues. The first and third teams drawn would play at a neutral ground that is nearest to them, for example, if Killester United draw Galway Hibs, the match would be in the A.U.L. Complex and if Ballynanty Rovers draw Waterford Crystal, the game would be in Mick Cooke Park in Tipperary. That is going from recent experience. Now, if Westport United drew Bellurgan United, the game would be likely to be held in Milebush Park in Castlebar and if Park Rangers drew Carew Park, that game would likely take place in The Fairgreen in Limerick. Interesting permutations lay ahead of us.
    if a limerick team get a home semi it is played in Jackman/Hogan - the rule is it is played in the leagues ground or if that ground is also used by a club ie St Michs from tipp it would go to the next best club ground in tipp ie clonmel

Quote Originally Posted by whistler
    Tb, It Seems Like You Are The Type Of Person Who Backs All Favs In Horse Racing Despite Of Form Of Other Runners.
    I Would Be Almost Certain That All Your Four Mentioned Teams Will Not Win ! Maybe 2 Or 3 But Not 4.

SO WHO ARE YOUR 4 FOR THE SEMI FINALS??

I'll go with Park, Balla, Hibs and Killester.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    I'll go with Park, Balla, Hibs and Killester.
    Its hard to leave Westport out, after their excellent win over Pike

My Four Would Be Westport,balla,galway Hibs And Park !

KILLESTER, HIBS, WATERFORD CRYS AND BALLYNANTY...
    HIBS BALLYNANTY FINAL..

i think pike were too cocky and caught by the element of suprise by westport.i doubt kilester will do the same, if westport are good enough to win this game i think they will lift the trophy but at this stage its all about who performs on the day.

Quote Originally Posted by The Gaffer
    Its hard to leave Westport out, after their excellent win over Pike
    I saw Killester play in the AUL last season on their way to winning the Premier. I have always thought that as long as they get a home draw they will be very hard to beat.
    Westport I'm afraid I know nothing about only they are well supported and beat Pike 3-0 in Limerick...

Glad to c I sparked a little debate about the semi finalists .. For the record I will go for Balla , Killester , Waterford & my shock(seeing as everyone is writing them off!!!) Bellurgan ....

carew park

good to see ye all writing off carew park by tipping yer last four already. i would not write this carew park team off just yet. balla and carew have not met since the cup fianl last season this is a very diff... carew side than last season. they added five quality players this season to a good side they already had. atlot of people think all balla have to do is turn up im not saying people on here. if your going to the match you will see what i mean i hope they beat balla they deserve a bit of luck and who knows 3rd time lucky over losing them two fianls

in case you want to know who the five players are

jason devlin (10goals)
    ter bou...(14goals)
    cyril maher (9goals)
    paul quinn
    mike mc.. (he plays on the wing great crosser of the ball great player but he is cup tied martin redden snapped him up when carew played holycross in fai this year.)

Tb, It Seems Like You Are The Type Of Person Who Backs All Favs In Horse Racing Despite Of Form Of Other Runners.
    I Would Be Almost Certain That All Your Four Mentioned Teams Will Not Win ! Maybe 2 Or 3 But Not 4.
    I don't put money on horses. I'm not a gambler.

Foot.ie! Westport United to win the F.A.I. Junior Cup?

Quote Originally Posted by passer
    i think pike were too cocky and caught by the element of suprise by westport.i doubt kilester will do the same, if westport are good enough to win this game i think they will lift the trophy but at this stage its all about who performs on the day.
    Westport United were historically the bridesmaids of the competition and will remain so. A quarter final place is actually seen as a historic achievement in the town and the team is never fancied against Dublin opposition. Would be nice to see Westport United to become the first Connacht side to win the F.A.I. Junior Cup in 76 years but I don't think so.

Foot.ie! Semi Final Venues

Quote Originally Posted by backodanet
    if a limerick team get a home semi it is played in Jackman/Hogan - the rule is it is played in the leagues ground or if that ground is also used by a club ie St Michs from tipp it would go to the next best club ground in tipp ie clonmel

So the semi final venues would be Jackman Park/Hogan Park for Ballynanty, Carew Park or Park Rangers; Milebush Park, Castlebar for Westport United, Terryland Park for Galway Hibs, A.U.L. Complex for Killester or Bellurgan and R.S.C or Ozier Park for Waterford Crystal.

Question Supporters

Any Galway Hibs or Westport United fans out there that would like to add to this forum?

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster
    Any Galway Hibs or Westport United fans out there that would like to add to this forum?

I would call myself a Galwat hibs fan.. Think that the team is improving rapidly with every game.. They have a bit of confidence going into the quaters but at the the same time are very realistic.. they will take each game as it comes.. I know one thing for certain, that is they are not afraid of any team.. home or away..
    They would of loved a trip to Balla.....

Page 18 of 32 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast