spot on. what would you expect though
$helbourne are in the process of undoing the bit of good they did for the image of the League last night by cashing in on the game against Deportivo.
First they give up the advantage of playing away from home,
now, they're gonna play it in Lansdowne! For the sake of an extra few grand.
Shouldnt expect much more of Ollie the Cigarette seller.
They'll get wallopped5/6 nil at Lansdowne. I felt they had a small chance of keeping them to 1/2 at Tolka, maybe even scoring themselves.
They make me sick.
I hope I get a chance to tell Ollie when they're down next week.
spot on. what would you expect though
Yawn !!!!!!!!!!!
How can ye be so negative?
And, why is this in the cork section. It should either be in the shelbourne section or general. Wake up and try and get a broader view.
It gets worse.
Dunno where I saw it but apparently Shels have a friendly against some English side lined up for Saturday, cancelling their league game against Home Farm.
How do they get away with it.
thats Bray not shels.
I'm sure if City were playing against a top European side and there was a 40000 stadium in Cork then we would do the same. Its good money for the club and you can't blame them. Look at Arsenal playing CL games in Wembley a few years back. They had bad results there but earned them a good few bob, they spent it wisely and look at them now.
Shels are right to move there game to lansdowne ,it would be alot easier to get tickets ,i hate all this negative talk about a team whom are doing the league proud,i for one would love to get up to dublin to see them play if there was a bus going .
Here ya go thenOriginally Posted by ccfcgirl
http://www.buseireann.ie/site/home/
Sorry, couldn't resist![]()
ive already got an email from ticketmaster offering tickets for the match!![]()
Eoin, the broader view is that they should have played the first leg away and played their home tie in Tolka. This way they might have stood some small chance and would still have made a lot of money. However, they have conceded defeat and chosen to take the pay day instead of trying to have a go at Depor and see what happens.Originally Posted by eoinh
Champions!
plain and simple
just a small club there to make up the numbers
damage limitation.
sad really innit
That's it exactly.Originally Posted by thecorner
City are a big club with top class players and noisy intimidating supporters (both home and away) and we knew we were good enough and had the confidence to take on any of Europes top clubs. Shels however are small time and are happy just to take the pay day, it's pathetic really.
Champions!
Originally Posted by Cas'Grande
Come off it Cas' Grande. That is a pure negative and dare I say jealous attitude. A couple of extra yards in the width of the pitch won't neccisarily make a 3 goal difference. Anyway, they can narrow the lines in Landsdowne.
Moreover, I'm sure City would do the same.
According to the news section on their official website, they couldn't play the game at Tolka due to UEFA Licensing restrictions, what's the story, do they have an A licence or what?
from www.shelbournefc.com
"The home leg of the third round Champions League Qualifier against Deportivo La Coruña has been switched to Lansdowne Road to be played on next Wednesday 11th August.
Shelbourne FC would much dearly prefer to play the game in Tolka Park, but unfortunately due to UEFA Licencing restrictions, are unable to do so. We apologise to our fantastic fans and supporters because of this and wish also to thank all fans of other EL teams who turned out in Tolka Park in great numbers to support us last night.
One other consideration in moving the match, is in order to cater for the massive interest in the match from supporters, sponsors and media, which we could not accommodate in Tolka Park."
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
I think the story there is that they would have lost 1- 2,00 off the attendance so the game could have been played at Tolka but with reduced capacity. I think this is begrudgery of the highest order. Shels are dead right to move the game to Lansdowne Road. What price would they have to charge to Tolka to make up the difference in revenue? Then they'd get slated for cashing in. Cork City would do exactly the same given the chance. So would any club in the league. Shels are among the few clubs in the league trying to bring the full-time set-up forwards. They need big pay days when the chance come along. It is more than a "few grand extra" - it is in the region of 100k.Originally Posted by tiktok
To accuse Shels of being small time is laughable - the first and imo best full time outfit in the league are hardly small time.
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
In all seriousness lads, this is a ridiculous thread. City, and every other club in the country would do everything they could to maximize revenue from this game. We changed with Malmo to get the home leg first, and be honest, this was to try to get as many people at the game, and to avoid a situation where the tie might be "dead".
I am really jealous of $h£l$ and the money they are going to get in, just like every other club in the country is. This thread is a simple case of the green-eyed monster coming out in all of us. We all wish we were in the same position........
well said.Originally Posted by eoinh
Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?
If shels want to move the game then thats their right but must say its been funny to hear the excuses...
LOLShelbourne FC Chairman Finbarr Flood said today " The desicion to move from Tolka Park to Lansdowne Road was not taken lightly. I feel it is in the interest of Irish Soccer and we don't want to disappoint fans and supporters who want to see this historic match "
If they want to move for the cash then why not just say so?
I think there are more stringent conditions required the further you go in Europe. A ground suitable for 1st and 2nd qualifying round mightn't necessarily be good enough for 3rd qualifying round. The floodlights have to be brighter, the further you go for one thing, plenty of others too.Originally Posted by tiktok
Originally Posted by Colm
Yeah, Cork would murder Depor. 3-0 home and away, if Cork were talking it easy that is, because their just so much more big time than little ol league winning champions league third round competing shels.