Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Hats off to Shels

Did RTE show it?, congrats to Shels and all the fans, great achievement. Looking forward to Deportivo!

Even Shels go out there is still the great consolation of the Uefa Cup
    Last edited by petef; 05/08/2004 at 7:45 AM.

229 Posts
    Great result for Shels and the LOI. Don't follow the LOI much apart from what I read on here, but a great result and a mouth watering tie agaisnt the spaniards awaits.

I hope Shels do themselves justice in the next round and wherever they decide to play it in Dublin that they pull a big crowd.

Is there anywhere you can see the goals online? the first goal, the volley sounds like a cracker!!!

Junior
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

from uefa.com

Fenlon's opposite number Ivan Katalinic admitted: "This is a huge disappointment for us financially, we had expected to get through and we needed the money we would get from the next round. We lost the game in Split by letting Shelbourne get a second goal."
    surely shels would still have won.

Don't you just love the arrogance of the other (fairly mediocre) teams in Europe
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

only1kilbane
    Great crowd last night nearly capacity very few empty seats and great atmosphere. It was great to see all the other fans cheering shels on as well. HOpefully game will be in tolka and think the 1st leg at home would be good. If we go to Coruna first we could get soundly beaten and the home leg would be an anit-climax .

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Yeah definately a great result for Irish football, it's just a shame it has to be Shels of all clubs.

Have the 3 biggest European nights for Irish football all come this season? Surely you won't get much bigger than City's 2 victorys over Malmo or Shels victory over Hadjuk and you definately won't get bigger than City's victory over NEC*.

*unless Shels were to miraculously beat Deportivo!
    Shels has to be the winner this season, given the competition it was in. With all due respect for Corks achievements this season in Europe (and I do have a lot of respect for them!), Champions League and UEFA Cup are the main players and the one's that have the whole of Europe sitting up and taking notice. Even 5 live was talking up the Shels result last night....

btw 3 Biggest Nights? Last night was right up there, but what about the Aberdeen and Kaiserslauten (away) results that Bohs got the other year, scumlone drawing with Madrid etc.

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    I couldn't believe how good they were.

Tolka wasn't even full.

I saw more Man u jerseys and other foreign shirts than Shels shirts!!!

feckin Dubs! West Brits,,...!!!
    For starters, circa 10,000 is still the highest attendance anyone's got this season, and the people with United/Seltic/Lids shirts on are exactly who we have to be attracting to the grounds. Any Barstooler who was there must have a big eL buzz this morning, and hopefully be back (ditto those sat at home watching an eL team dominate a famous european name). That's exactly what the benefit of last nights result should/could be for the rest of the league*

*Once they are competitive against Depor, and don't get tonked...

44 Posts
    On an off topic note from the actual match last night, did anyone see the slightly disturbing pictures of sombody that looked like eamon collins holding a baby of about a year old on the ground as all the players dived in to celebrate after the final whistle.

thats the crocodile guy from australia. he was looking for a bigger challenge after crocs, so he decided to try and mix it with shels players.

found him dead at the bottom of the pile this morning. hand bitten off.

macy one of those barstoolers works with me here and his words this morning were" great game, best atmosphere i've ever seen at a game and a great win as well".....

but the next sentence out of his mouth showed just how hard we have to work to get there guys into the ground again, wait for it......"but irish football is still $hit"
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Great night. One of the best atmosphere's I have ever been at. Tolka was packed the only section with a number of empty seats was at the Ballybough End because the guards wanted to keep a few empty seats around the twenty or so Hadjuk supporters.

Ollie should switch the home tie to Tolka not Lansdowne. It would guarantee a sell out and another frightening atmosphere. If Shels went to Deportivo and got hammered the home leg would then be a major anti climax.

Congrats Shels, you did the LOI proud.

Now is the time for the FAI and clubs to build on this and show that LOI football is improving all the time.

Fantastic result, congratulation's Shel's. They were talked about over here and Pat fenlon was talking on Talk sport, even though they were called Shelbourne park by the presenter.
    Maybe if more people could get out and support local club's maybe we could have more night's like Shel's had last night and Cork had in the Inter toto cup.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Footie_Fan

Ollie should switch the home tie to Tolka not Lansdowne. It would guarantee a sell out and another frightening atmosphere. If Shels went to Deportivo and got hammered the home leg would then be a major anti climax.

think they have agreed for deporto to come here first

Quote Originally Posted by yur man
    great result for the league, well done

can only be of benefit the the league

i wonder will lopez be goin to dublin for the match?

He will no doubt be questioned by many over a few pint's tomorrow night.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Hats off indeed,brilliant stuff.Lets hope they do our league proud against the spainish giants.

Congrads to Shels, completely deserved win & good to hear Ollie Byrne give some thanks to the non-shels people who turned up.

Few words of pessimism:

- pitch looked in poor condition which didn't help passing football.
    - good first half but 2nd half was very flat & boring on tv until goal arrived.
    - shels hoofed the ball way too much but maybe pitch didn't help the passing.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    - shels hoofed the ball way too much but maybe pitch didn't help the passing.
    David Crawley is a fierce hoofer altogether. every time he got the ball he hoofed it up the pitch

Obviously shels got the result they needed so doesn't really matter but be interesting to see what bar stoolers thought of the quality of the play.

Liked Colm Murrays gaff on News 2 saying Deportivo were La Liga (i'm sure he was real proud he knew name of league) Champions.

Nice to see shels goal on Sky News headlines last night, They also mentioned on Euronews this morning where they said Deportivo "won't have too much trouble against irish minnows..."

congrats to shels. great pereformance. tactics spot on. alan moore what a preformance def motm. tought ollie cahill and jason byrne played very well on the flanks. they deserved the win. bring on deportivo. atmosphere was good but not electric. cork city's shed displays for their euro games were better.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    btw 3 Biggest Nights? Last night was right up there, but what about the Aberdeen and Kaiserslauten (away) results that Bohs got the other year
    Bohs beating Aberdeen was a good result but Malmo and NEC would be of a far higher standard. As for Kaiserslautern, wasn't the tie pretty much over by the time Bohs got the second leg result.

Anyway, as much as I hate the cnuts, Shels result last night was a massive result for the league as a whole. Hopefully, their continued Euro exploits will distract them now and we can catch them on the hop on Staurday week.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Bohs beating Aberdeen was a good result but Malmo and NEC would be of a far higher standard. As for Kaiserslautern, wasn't the tie pretty much over by the time Bohs got the second leg result.
    NEC higher than Kaiserslautern? Regardless, like it or not, the toto isn't one of the major European competitions - good for publicity, but ultimately no long term benefit.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast