Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Foot.ie what's the future

1,550 Posts
    I think once we move back to a 16 team league with a proper pyramid structure, playing in winter and as an All Ireland League, this forum will take off like a rocket again.

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    i think the main issue is probably the fact that you have to have a school or work email address to register? no free mail addresses accepted
    Ridiculous.
    Sporting F*ck All!

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    I think once we move back to a 16 team league with a proper pyramid structure, playing in winter and as an All Ireland League, this forum will take off like a rocket again.
    Argh, where's the thanks button when you need it?
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Formerly skibbereen co.cork but now Oregon USA
    25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    i think the main issue is probably the fact that you have to have a school or work email address to register? no free mail addresses accepted
    I think i used a free one, but i registered on this forum like 7 years ago and maybe they were not as strict then?
    west cork district league
    west cork commandos

2,770 Posts
    Lads, I'm sorry. I know what everyone is getting at here. I'll try and start posting more regularly again in the future. Bear with me and try to keep this website going until I sort my act out. Again, sorry. And to you Adam, sorry.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

31 Posts
    It's full of knobs..............................

Oh **** I'm on it now!

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    Ridiculous.
    Can only presume that rule is to stop people that were banned from reappearing (would not be the first time). Many reasons for drop off in contributions but most obvious ones are the lack of any real controversy so far this season - for Gods sake, Bohs have not sold dalymount once this season - although it is early days. Many posters kept the flame alight in the off season and have now run out of pedantic issues to debate (for a short while).

I still think the forum has merit, and is the best "neutral" (non club affiliated) LOI site out there. With the pletera of forums/media out there it is getting more difficult to maintain market share and FOOT.IE is no different. Apart from one individual with an agenda I always found Moderation on here consistent and reasonable and doubt that is a factor in drop off.

Don't despair, with Roddy at large, the never ending ability of clubs to shoot themselves in both feet and of course Fred And Irene I have no doubt we will soon have plenty to debate/rant/ridicule/all of the aforementioned.

75 Posts
    The forum is a dead duck . If it wasn't for the limerick fans it would be gone.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

name change to wonga.ie

2,770 Posts
    foot.ie has jumped the shark?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

164 Posts
    I couldn't post for ages there - think server wouldn't let me. Maybe others had the same problem. I've a few suggestions to boost the activity on the site again:

(i) Spread a rumour that Tom Coughlan is getting involved with Cork again.
    (ii) Try to set up a new club called Atletico Blanchardstown.
    (iii) A good old-fashioned points deduction.
    (iv) Limerick could try to arrange another friendly.
    (v) Rovers and Sligo could play each other in a football match.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    I couldn't post for ages there - think server wouldn't let me. Maybe others had the same problem. I've a few suggestions to boost the activity on the site again:

(ii) Try to set up a new club called Atletico Blanchardstown.

Grand. I'm trying to offload Termonbarry Alberts.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    lol.Alberts fans WILL NEVER be bought or sold out. Alberts TID.

622 Posts
    Its just not been the same without Kildare County

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Its just not been the same without Kildare County
    And we await the post from that Kildare County lad...

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    lol.Alberts fans WILL NEVER be bought or sold out. Alberts TID.
    It hasn't been the same since ye sold Naomh Barach to the United scum.

Hibs are and always will be the true club in town.

Put it this way you won't find Paul Dempsey with anything but a Hibs scarf behind the bar of the Purple Onion.

TH4L

942 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Good luck with that, Bonnie - but I fear that there will be problems, if today's Squirish Times is anything to go by:

'Some 29 small Garda stations closed last Friday, more than half of them in the western half of the State, including six in west Cork.

'A further eight were already non-operational: Castletownshend and Ballygurteen in west Cork, Ballinure and Ballinderry in Tipperary, Ballywilliam in Wexford, Doochary in Donegal, Geashill in Laois/Offaly and Tarmonbarry in Roscommon/Longford.'
    (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...314296566.html)

Without Garda presence for the substantial crowds that attend their home games, the writing is on the wall for Termonbarry's continued existence.
    Last edited by Eminence Grise; 03/04/2012 at 10:40 AM. Reason: Forgot the URL
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    The forum is a dead duck . If it wasn't for the limerick fans it would be gone.
    That's probably the nicest thing that a Galway fan has ever said about Limerick. And I'm not even sure it was a compliment!

Future of foot.ie? same as the past and the present. A load of blokes with too much time of their hands waffling about football and other related ****e. Now and again someone makes a decent joke, maybe less often someone gives a bit of knowledge, but generally, its all waffle. Maybe 5% of foot.ie users have a clue what they're talking about. That hasn't changed in its history

Its an internet forum lads, stop worrying about it, and let nature take its course. If people want to use it, they'll do it, if they don't, they won't. It really is tht simple

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Maybe 5% of foot.ie users have a clue what they're talking about.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast