the horse and jockey, best of luck to yee, mcdowells is your best bet, never a sign of any rovers fans in there.
or black lion either, but i'd steer clear of horse and jockey myself.
pity i'll be in blahford, i would have liked to go to that game.
Great to see so many Exiles in Drogheda supplementing the huge City crowd up from Cork on Monday night. Thanks to everyone who offered to give people a spin from Dublin. Pity we couldn't all meet up beforehand but Friday is our chance again. Despite the result in Drogheda, this is still a huge game so we need a big turnout and as always all are welcome.![]()
St. Pats is usually my favourite match in Dublin and it would be much better if we could gather for some chat before kickoff. These are the options in Inchicore.
McDowells: right beside the ground. It's where all the Pats faithful go but they are a pretty friendly lot compared to some of their cross city cousins! Would be good craic.
Horse and Jockey: 2 minutes walk. Rovers fans have made it their own for their "home" matches but this obviously won't be a problem on Friday night. Welcoming to soccer fans. We could make it a Cork City pub for Friday evening.
The Black Lion: 2 minutes to west of ground. Decent pub. Would be a good few Pats fans there.
Donoghues: On Emmet Road. Not really a traditional soccer pub. I don't know much about it.
What do ye think? Let's get this finalised early so there will be no confusion.
Last edited by Snatch; 04/08/2004 at 9:40 AM.
the horse and jockey, best of luck to yee, mcdowells is your best bet, never a sign of any rovers fans in there.
or black lion either, but i'd steer clear of horse and jockey myself.
pity i'll be in blahford, i would have liked to go to that game.
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
If there's a good group of people meeting up then McDowell's will be too packed. If you do go in there and you bump into Brian Kerr, don't forget to remind him that John O'Flynn and Danny Murphy are available for the Bulgaria gameOriginally Posted by Snatch
Lads Taveys is just across the road from McDowells and is more than decent (and spacious). McDowells does for most away fans but if you lot are travelling (and drinking) in big numbers it does get a bit too cramped.
The Black Lion is also good but just depends which way you're travelling from as its not as close as the other two pubs mentioned. If you dont mind being poisoned than its the Jockey all the way - notorious for undrinkable pints!
From an Inchicorian.... (and not one of those blow ins above)
Donohues/The Glen... Furthest from thr ground. Small, decent pints. Definitely not a football pub.
Molloys... Busy, good few Pats fans. Beer OK. After the game has music/karaoke and full of 18year olds
Taveys... Small pub but good drink and good friendly staff. Good few Pats fans
Horse and Jockey... Worst pub in Inchicore. World famous for its dodgy pints
McDowells.. My favourite. Can get too packed (not recently though)
Black Lion... A food pub. Drink good. Quite place though
Village Inn... 2nd worst pub in Inchicore. Horrible kip
Enjoy!
Well there is a full bus on its way isn't there? plus the exiles so it might be better to opt for somewhere else though McDowells is usually good craic and is near the ground.
As the dodgy one says not much chance of MacDowells being packed with home fans these days.Originally Posted by Dodge
Easier to stick with MacDowells as thats where everyone goes anyways.
Originally Posted by Dodge
shut up or us blow in's will buy up the rest of the place as well, including richmond![]()
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
I think McDowells. take the place over before the Pats fans get there!
yea im up for mcdowwels should be good craic friday nite in dubland down to copper face jacks afterwards![]()
save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford
Thanks for the advice lads.
I reckon McDowells would be the best bet. If some of us get there early enough, we can establish a City outpost there. Anyway, as I said above, the Pats fans there are decent supporters and it should be good craic.
McDowells from 6 o' clock on.
As ever, if you have any friends from Cork in Dublin with nothing to do on a Friday night, bring them along.
For anbody unfamiliar with Richmond Park, check here for directions.
McDowell's is right beside the entrance to the ground. We'll be in the lounge, not the old bar.
See ye tomorrow.