Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Match Officials + Impartiality

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by codology View Post
    Woman ref done the Rovers Bohs match in Tallaght,she was ok.Rhonda Daly was her name is she related to Paddy?She had to endure the "does your kitchen know your here "chant.
    She was ****ing brutal. At one point she awarded Bohs a goal kick, only to change her mind and award a corner when all the players had completely ignored her and were setting up for the corner anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by Sonny View Post
    Yous have nothing to worry about as Doyle always overcompensates for his past allegiances by reffing us off the park.
    He is a terrible referee anytime he is involved in a Rovers game. He did the postponed UCDD game last season. Shocking. Only in the LOI could you find worse in Buttimer and Hancock.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by codology View Post
    Woman ref done the Rovers Bohs match in Tallaght,she was ok.Rhonda Daly was her name is she related to Paddy?She had to endure the "does your kitchen know your here "chant.
    That is absolute quality.

Time to bet on a Cork penalty or Rovers red card...
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    not as cruel as the 'who let the dogs out' chant towards the then limerick physio when we played in the 1st div. poor woman

Quote Originally Posted by askmehoop View Post
    not as cruel as the 'who let the dogs out' chant towards the then limerick physio when we played in the 1st div. poor woman
    Jesus that is mean.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CSFShels View Post
    Jesus that is mean.
    incredibly, it was right in her face as she walked by. and you know how close the fans are to the pitch in the main stand in Tolka. That was the same match as the bread board incident. Sometimes i miss the first division.
    Last edited by askmehoop; 13/03/2012 at 8:36 PM.

96 Posts
    Is it? I thought it was fairly pathetic myself.

Hang on, I imagine the "its only a joke/bit of banter" retort is on its way.

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gormacha View Post

i dont think any of the lads that chanted that would go home and say it to their wife/gf without getting a slap, im sure she took it in her stride

96 Posts
    i dont think any of the lads that chanted that would go home and say it to their wife/gf without getting a slap, im sure she took it in her stride
    I'm sure she did take it in her stride. She wouldn't have got that far in the game without coming up against that type of cowardly bull**** all the time.

If they wouldn't say it to their wives or girlfriends, why do they say it to a lone woman in the middle of thousands of men? Cowardly and nasty. Big men.

Seriously though, and not blaming Shams or Doyle himself, how many refs are there in the league? How difficult would it be to give a game to a ref who's not identifiably a fan of one of the teams involved? It should be a given, and w.ould be anywhere else in the world, but never underestimate the muppets that run our league

Sometimes i miss the first division.
    So some of you do remember your time there?

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gormacha View Post

I do indeed think it's funny. To anyone with a sense of humour I believe it would be quite funny too.

Put it this way, why should a female linesperson be treated any different to a male linesman? I've heard some shocking things being said to linesmen over the years, why should a lineswoman be treated any different? It's football, if she doesn't want abuse, she's in the wrong game.

Yeah, let's throw in a bit of racism too while we're at it. If you can't see why singling out one person in the stadium based on no other characteristic than their gender isn't totally out of order then I'm afraid you'll never understand. This isn't political correctness gone mad, it's just basic common decency.

2,446 Posts
    Likewise CD that works the other way around too. Singling out one person because of their gender over all the other abuse that goes on at a football match is a bit over the top don't you think? Regardless, the point is, a Lineswoman, or Linesman, should be able to take any sort of abuse thrown at them whatever their gender, colour, height, weight or anything. It's part of the job.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    If you can't see why singling out one person in the stadium based on no other characteristic than their gender isn't totally out of order then I'm afraid you'll never understand. This isn't political correctness gone mad, it's just basic common decency.
    It's basic common decency not to abuse anybody, player, physio, or match official at a game, but it happens every game, everywhere, just the same.
    Last edited by osarusan; 13/03/2012 at 9:55 PM. Reason: woman in question was a physio, not match official

96 Posts
    To anyone with a sense of humour I believe it would be quite funny too.
    I told you the "its only a joke" defence would be the first thing wheeled out.

Regardless, the point is, a Lineswoman, or Linesman, should be able to take any sort of abuse thrown at them whatever their gender, colour, height, weight or anything. It's part of the job.
    What utter nonsense. That's a manifesto for racism, sexism and homophobia and whatever else you're having. That might be your idea of acceptable behaviour, but its not mine. Fairly pathetic to be honest.

I suppose you were one of the people defending Andy Gray and that utter slimeball Richard Keys? "Just a bit of banter." http://thefcf.co.uk/2012/03/01/stop-banter/14866/

Likewise CD that works the other way around too. Singling out one person because of their gender over all the other abuse that goes on at a football match is a bit over the top don't you think? Regardless, the point is, a Lineswoman, or Linesman, should be able to take any sort of abuse thrown at them whatever their gender, colour, height, weight or anything. It's part of the job.
    1. I don't think so. Singling out somebody for something unrelated to their performance or character is the most petty and hurtful type of abuse.
    2. No, they shouldn't. If so, why stop at kitchen chants? Why not go for the jugular and say something truly depraved? If they should be prepared to take any sort of abuse, you should be prepared to chant the worst thing you can think of. Really ****ed up, Chuck Palahniuk-type nastiness. Go for it.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    It's basic common decency not to abuse anybody, player, physio, or match official at a game, but it happens every game, everywhere, just the same.
    Of course, but most abuse is at least performance-related and generally non-specific. It's not like Bohs fans will be shouting "nice arse!" at Killian Brennan when he returns to Dalymount. Or maybe they will, they're an odd bunch.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    1.. It's not like Bohs fans will be shouting "nice arse!" at Killian Brennan when he returns to Dalymount. Or maybe they will, they're an odd bunch.
    When did you first notice Killian had a nice arse?

Coincidentally, right after he signed for Rovers!

24. Thanks From:

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast