Thread: Big time charlies

Big time charlies

Lads, can our team only turn it on when they've got a massive support behind them or are up against top class opposition?
    We've lost crucial games to Limerick and UCD this season, and now we've lost to Drogs. FFS.

(And I'm sure we'll hear all Dolan's excuses tomorrow about fixture congestion etc.. Bull***t. He started the same 11 again tonight. If they were really tired there's plenty on the bench. Don't lose the goodwill built up after Europe by spouting thrash Pat!)

why not wait for a decent report of the match before jumping to conclusions?? sounds like city were playing well and lost a goal against the run of play just before the break. good teams have lost games they deserved to win in the past...
    UEFA Intertoto Cup 2004

P6 W3 D2 L1

Legends.

Jesus H. As the UCD fan sings - "Fickle Til Ye Die".

Where to start?

1. The game wasnt over when u posted. Or are you one of those people who leave before full time if things arent going well.

2. Drogs are currently 2nd in the league. Bad teams arent in 2nd place halfway through a season.

3. Citys away form this season has been the best we've seen in years. A minor glitch here and there is to be expected over the course of a season.

4. Belfield and o2 park are graveyards for City. It doesnt matter how well we are going, it just never seems to happen for us in these grounds (which a small few exceptions). And that isnt a Dolan problem. Its a City Manager problem. FULL STOP!

Okay, we lost tonight. Its a dissapointment. But we wil get over it, starting on Friday against a poor SPA team.

Remember, one win and one loss, is better than 2 draws.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Quote Originally Posted by jmc105
    why not wait for a decent report of the match before jumping to conclusions?? sounds like city were playing well and lost a goal against the run of play just before the break. good teams have lost games they deserved to win in the past...

I hate to say it but City certainly didn't play well tonight and the goals were not really against the run of play. Drogheda were well worth the win. We never threathened Drogs tonight. The odd half chance here and the peno shout there but no clearcut or well worked chances. City have not adjusted to the rough and tumble of the eircom league. Put simply, we never stamped any authority on the game.

It must be borne in mind that this drogheda team is a lot better than their usual style. As their league position suggests they are a very competent outfit. They are big, strong and fast. They were solid at the back and caught City on the break. They moved the ball around well and never let City settle.

Pity about O2 park though! It's like going back in time!

144 Posts
    It does really boil down to the fact that if we cannot beat Drogheda then we can't be seen as title contenders.
    We have lost 2 of our last 3 league games and in al honesty i don't think we'll win the league this season.
    I hope to God i'm wrong though.

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    It does really boil down to the fact that if we cannot beat Drogheda then we can't be seen as title contenders.
    Does the same go for Shels then?

I think we should all face up to it that we aren't really as good as we all make out, particularly in the eL. Nice to look at and some pretty football but no real steel in the team unlike Drogs and $h€l$. Plus Dolan is far too slow in making changes when things aren't going our way in matches!!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Does the same go for Shels then?
    Maybe not cause they are 3 points ahead of the Drogs and we are 8 points behind them.

we played Drogheda off the park a few games ago (with no Bird or Ndo) - we'll give you as good a game as they did Gary mark my words.

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    we'll give you as good a game as they did Gary mark my words.
    I don't think anyone really doubts that.
    Only thing about Pat's though is that they play well for a couple of games and then lose badly. Drogs confidence is high now after their little run of success. I doubt Pats would beat them in O2 Park if they were to play this Friday.

Quote Originally Posted by SSS
    only turn it on when they've got a massive support behind them or are up against top class opposition?
    City did have a big support behind them last night who made a lot of noise for the entire game and in my opinion they were up against class oposition last night.

I thought Drogheda had a good game plan last night and they knocked the ball about pretty confidently. They are not a glamour club but they are a pretty good team.

Think the problem with City at the moment is that the players who reslly raised their games for Europe are physically drained and need a rest

Quote Originally Posted by Eric
    Think the problem with City at the moment is that the players who reslly raised their games for Europe are physically drained and need a rest
    think you 're right in that. Its a good time to play Cork thas for sure.

the drogs result is a real sickener. we obviously lack a lot of steel. at the end of season it isn't about reaching the 1/4 finals of some poxy european competition but how you finsih in the league. i really wonder about dolan

Whaddya mean you wonder about Dolan? It's unfortunate that we had to play Drogs as the 4th match in 8 or 9 days, but them's the breaks. A lot of people would have predicted that the Inter Toto Cup was going to disrupt our season, and it has. But I wouldn't change that for anything. We were on top of the world for a few weeks, and it has done untold good for Cork City's profile, not to mention domestic football's profile here in Ireland. Don't go moaning about the Inter Toto Cup now for Gods sake. Anyway next season it won't be on, as far as I know, so we won't have it to distract us. The only thing I don't know about last night is the team travel arrangements. Does anyone know how & when they travelled up. There was something in the paper about them going by bus on the day, surely that's rubbish, how could you be ready to play a match after a 5 hour bus journey?
    Anyway Drogs are good, very good, but it will be a different story when they come to the Cross. Good to see another team from outside the Pale putting pressure on the Dubs

Quote Originally Posted by Gandhi
    Good to see another team from outside the Pale putting pressure on the Dubs
    drogheda is actually just inside the pale

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR
    drogheda is actually just inside the pale
    North County Dublin, you're only North County Dublin!......

drogheda are second because they are a very good team. they are full-time, and they play nice football. they played very well last night against a city team that looked jaded, but we still deserved a draw IMO. The linesman on the near side to the city fans was absolutely brutal- drogs first goal almost definitely offside,and he failed to signal a clear penalty on kearney in second half when the ref was unsighted. we deserved a draw but unsuprisingly the absolutely terrible refereeing standard in this league undid us again. fair play to drogs for playing football and not trying to kick us around (with a few exceptions) and good luck to them. we'll come back from this, its not the end of the world.

oh yeah. as for SSS. shut up you tool. how can you comment on something you didn't see. the scoreline didn't tell the whole story- far from it. but muppets like you just love any opportunity to have a go, don't you

SSS added to ignore list.