Thread: Mns - 5/03/12

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    up with the dundalk pitch? it looks like it was snowing up there
    Think you are watching Emmerdale mate.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

122 Posts
    Gavin Dykes now involved with Sligo, and Trevor Molloy involved with Monaghan I see.

Great camera angle from the Showgrounds, stand was packed so it looked really well on TV.

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Think you are watching Emmerdale mate.
    nah, im pretty sure Monaghan were away this week

42 Posts
    Good show tonight, only bad was that I had to watch how bad Dundalk were the other night
    Out of the gimmicks I think the Good, Bad & the Ugly is worthwhile.

238 Posts
    Jaysus lads the standard of referee is beyond a joke. And it's right across the board.

2 absolute howlers in the Bray-Derry game. Quigley sending off and Greacen handball.
    Keane should never have been sent off in the Sligo game imo, yellow card yes but never a straight red (can't believe I just defended Keane, I feel dirty now)
    Was it the Cork-Drogheda game where the elbow incident went unnoticed? Can't remember.

Didn't see the full show but those were horrible decisions.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Jaysus lads the standard of referee is beyond a joke. And it's right across the board.

2 absolute howlers in the Bray-Derry game. Quigley sending off and Greacen handball.
    Keane should never have been sent off in the Sligo game imo, yellow card yes but never a straight red (can't believe I just defended Keane, I feel dirty now)
    Was it the Cork-Drogheda game where the elbow incident went unnoticed? Can't remember.

Didn't see the full show but those were horrible decisions.
    Sky +'d MNS so have'nt watched it yet.

Was that the one on City's Kalen Spillane, then if so yeah it was unreal how none of the officals spotted it.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    Very good show so far this week. Liked the Long interview and the APOL piece. Hopefully we see a few more segments like that on the show over the course of the Season.
    Agreed, thought the show was good this week. Long interview was good, would be great so see a few interviews with ex-LoI players over the course of the season. The APOEL piece was good, possibly influence by forum topics??!! Decent coverage given of the games, good comments on the crowd. Fair play MNS!
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

2,446 Posts
    Just got round to watching tonights MNS now on RTE player. I really wish they'd get rid of the music over the match reports. Really annoys me. Can hear absolutely zero atmosphere from the grounds and it's often too loud to even hear the report on the game itself.

Glad they got rid of all the silly gimmicks in the show, I don't mind the good bad and ugly segment though, it's a good touch at the end of the show really.

As said before, some sort of coverage of the first division or at very minimum a word from the panellists about the division would be good. I'd love to see the one feature game a week or something from it, but can't see it happening.

Nice little segment about the Cypriot league versus League of Ireland, and nice to hear a word from Shane Long about the league.

All in all, a good show this week, and it's steadily improving.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    One of the best shows since it started, no frills and good highlights.

Quote Originally Posted by sheao View Post
    Was that the one on City's Kalen Spillane, then if so yeah it was unreal how none of the officals spotted it.
    No, believe it or not it was actually an elbow by a cork player!! Imagine that

144 Posts
    The tackle on Duggan to which he foolishly reacted, was an absolute disgrace.

Brian Gannon could have broken his leg and then pulls off an oscar winning performance on the floor.

a cancer in the game.

not that Richie Winter would have noticed.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    The tackle on Duggan to which he foolishly reacted, was an absolute disgrace.
    Was it really that bad? The mns panel were a bit OTT for me. Calling Gannon a coward and all that. Looked to me like he just put his leg across the cork player to win the ball. His studs were showing a bit alright but I've seen a lot worse than that.

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    Brian Gannon could have broken his leg and then pulls off an oscar winning performance on the floor.

Sorry cant edit on my phone. Reply to 2nd quote:

he did make a bit of a meal of the push, but he was pushed to the ground, hes well within his rights to stay there! And he didn't seem to hold his face to me?, he just put one hand on his head in a kinda "I'm wrecked after that nasty push" kinda motion!

Claret and blue spectacles on me? I'd be interested in a neutral pov!

Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior View Post
    I'd be interested in a neutral pov!
    Thought he overdid the reaction to being pushed, although not massively. Didn't think he was claiming to be hit in the face, more like that he was grievously traumatised by Duggan's savage attack.

But his tackle was awful. I thought it was worth a red.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    One of the best shows since it started, no frills and good highlights.
    I've never had a problem with the show but agreed, last night was very good. I'll send them an email encouraging more of the same.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

2,446 Posts
    Same as myself Legendz, literally just sent one off myself.

Another good show I thought, bar the usual whinge about sod all on the first. Longford top of the table, and a player who made his name with Longford on the panel and not even a passing comment to Stuey? It really let's the show down, considering they've enough conversations essentially just filling time.

Not really convinced on the good, the bad and the ugly - the MOTD2 2 Good 2 Bad that it's ripping off generally has stuff that hasn't already been in the highlights, but I'm not arsed enough to lodge a formal complaint.

Definitely not first division games should be shown on MNS, and we've just been down there. The standard simply is not good enough, there are the odd few games alright but thats it. By and large its just not good enough. I know that the first year we were down there i wouldn't have wanted any of our games shown by we were brutal for the most part.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Definitely not first division games should be shown on MNS, and we've just been down there. The standard simply is not good enough, there are the odd few games alright but thats it. By and large its just not good enough. I know that the first year we were down there i wouldn't have wanted any of our games shown by we were brutal for the most part.

All well and good saying that now your in the Premier, nobodys asking for a huge highlights package for the division, but some goals at least would be nice. There's far too much neglect in the media toward the first division. Maybe it would be a bit better if there was some coverage.

1,551 Posts
    I remain to be convinced that the average viewer would see much of a difference between the divisions in terms of quality to be honest. It may be there, but compared to the difference between the premier and most of the other football on TV it's minuscule.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast