Gavin Dykes now involved with Sligo, and Trevor Molloy involved with Monaghan I see.
Great camera angle from the Showgrounds, stand was packed so it looked really well on TV.
Good show tonight, only bad was that I had to watch how bad Dundalk were the other night
Out of the gimmicks I think the Good, Bad & the Ugly is worthwhile.
Jaysus lads the standard of referee is beyond a joke. And it's right across the board.
2 absolute howlers in the Bray-Derry game. Quigley sending off and Greacen handball.
Keane should never have been sent off in the Sligo game imo, yellow card yes but never a straight red (can't believe I just defended Keane, I feel dirty now)
Was it the Cork-Drogheda game where the elbow incident went unnoticed? Can't remember.
Didn't see the full show but those were horrible decisions.
Agreed, thought the show was good this week. Long interview was good, would be great so see a few interviews with ex-LoI players over the course of the season. The APOEL piece was good, possibly influence by forum topics??!! Decent coverage given of the games, good comments on the crowd. Fair play MNS!
https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.
Just got round to watching tonights MNS now on RTE player. I really wish they'd get rid of the music over the match reports. Really annoys me. Can hear absolutely zero atmosphere from the grounds and it's often too loud to even hear the report on the game itself.
Glad they got rid of all the silly gimmicks in the show, I don't mind the good bad and ugly segment though, it's a good touch at the end of the show really.
As said before, some sort of coverage of the first division or at very minimum a word from the panellists about the division would be good. I'd love to see the one feature game a week or something from it, but can't see it happening.
Nice little segment about the Cypriot league versus League of Ireland, and nice to hear a word from Shane Long about the league.
All in all, a good show this week, and it's steadily improving.
One of the best shows since it started, no frills and good highlights.
The tackle on Duggan to which he foolishly reacted, was an absolute disgrace.
Brian Gannon could have broken his leg and then pulls off an oscar winning performance on the floor.
a cancer in the game.
not that Richie Winter would have noticed.
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
Was it really that bad? The mns panel were a bit OTT for me. Calling Gannon a coward and all that. Looked to me like he just put his leg across the cork player to win the ball. His studs were showing a bit alright but I've seen a lot worse than that.
Sorry cant edit on my phone. Reply to 2nd quote:
he did make a bit of a meal of the push, but he was pushed to the ground, hes well within his rights to stay there! And he didn't seem to hold his face to me?, he just put one hand on his head in a kinda "I'm wrecked after that nasty push" kinda motion!
Claret and blue spectacles on me? I'd be interested in a neutral pov!
"Even if the wind stops to blow
Even if the sea ceases to flow
Even if the sun ceases to rise
The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."
https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.
Same as myself Legendz, literally just sent one off myself.
Another good show I thought, bar the usual whinge about sod all on the first. Longford top of the table, and a player who made his name with Longford on the panel and not even a passing comment to Stuey? It really let's the show down, considering they've enough conversations essentially just filling time.
Not really convinced on the good, the bad and the ugly - the MOTD2 2 Good 2 Bad that it's ripping off generally has stuff that hasn't already been in the highlights, but I'm not arsed enough to lodge a formal complaint.
Definitely not first division games should be shown on MNS, and we've just been down there. The standard simply is not good enough, there are the odd few games alright but thats it. By and large its just not good enough. I know that the first year we were down there i wouldn't have wanted any of our games shown by we were brutal for the most part.
All well and good saying that now your in the Premier, nobodys asking for a huge highlights package for the division, but some goals at least would be nice. There's far too much neglect in the media toward the first division. Maybe it would be a bit better if there was some coverage.
I remain to be convinced that the average viewer would see much of a difference between the divisions in terms of quality to be honest. It may be there, but compared to the difference between the premier and most of the other football on TV it's minuscule.