Results 1,061 to 1,080 of 1324

Thread: 2012 attendances

Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    400 wrecked at the end Lilywhites.
    Thats more than was at your home game with Pats 2 weeks ago.

399 Posts
    Are you suggesting there was 600 Pats fans at that game Dodge?? in the same game that ET reported 'estimated 1,000'..............I dont have the offical figure to hand but think it was 955, which actually surprised me for a Mon night.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

The estimate was frankly a joke. I'd say less than 500 at it.

Not that it matters what I think, obviously

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    These Monday night games are killing us, seriously need to avoid these. Clubs find it hard to survive week to week with this craic.

And for all the noise the FAI make about RTE having exclusive access to footage for MNS, then then go and take about 50% of the viewership away from actually watching the damn thing by putting the games on a Monday night, stooopid or what !!!
    The FAI don't care about football in this country, it's their job to sabotage it.
    Monday again next week against Bray.
    The club asked Bray would they mind moving it out to the following Friday as we are both out of the cup.
    Bray agreed but the FAI said No.
    With the kids now back at school a Monday game is attendance suicide.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    and as Cooke is a big Scouse fan, it also said the Sligo game was sponsored by the 'Liverpool branch' of their SC (Prob a few lads, but fair play)
    The Sligo branch of the Liverpool supporters club.

399 Posts
    Its a real achievement from any source these days getting games sponsored, so fair play to this group. We had an unusal source who sponsored 2 or 3 games in the last 2 years, 'The Sunday Night Club', Im told a group of seniors who go to the Oriel Pk clubhouse every week for a night's entertainment, god knows how they raise it, but it all counts these days. Gone are the days when games were sponsored in advance, and for a lot of years, for the whole season.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

415 Posts
    3,127 in the showgrounds

Good enough for a Monday night I suppose. It's annoying to think of the revenue lost though.
    I don't think it's overstating to suggest we could have managed to top 4000 for this if it were on a Saturday night.

415 Posts
    I blame the FAI for the rain that put people off as well

65 Posts
    852 at Richmond park last night and 1,250 at Tallaght stadium for the LSC final according to extratime.ie

474 Posts
    194 at Wexford Youths v SD Galway

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Good enough for a Monday night I suppose. It's annoying to think of the revenue lost though.
    I don't think it's overstating to suggest we could have managed to top 4000 for this if it were on a Saturday night.
    3,127 Good enough for Monday night ????

I'd suggest a lot of clubs in Lge 2 in UK would be happy with that on a Sat afternoon.

305 Posts
    Question is,have Sligo ever beaten 3.127 for a leauge match that was played on a Sat night? Or is this just complaining for the sake of it?

84 Posts
    Question is,have Sligo ever beaten 3.127 for a leauge match that was played on a Sat night? Or is this just complaining for the sake of it?
    They have had 5000 at a First Division game against Athlone on a Saturday night the year they won Division 1.

I would expect them to top 6000 / 7000 for the game that will win the league for them.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Yes and Yes

186 Posts
    Well we'd have a lot more of those size crowds thats for sure. We had 2550 odd for a saturday night game against UCD with no travelling fans. As for the complaining for the sake of it. Please, sure we only love losing gate money so we can have a moan about it on foot.ie ffs.

In fairness bullit I think the question that you/we should be asking is Why the Director of RTE can dictate footbal matches start times without any input from clubs? He could have a game on a Tuesday morning at 10 o'clock if he wanted to.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    3,127 Good enough for Monday night ????

I'd suggest a lot of clubs in Lge 2 in UK would be happy with that on a Sat afternoon.
    For a team top of the league it's good enough. Could be better and almost certainly would be if it were on a Saturday night.

Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Well we'd have a lot more of those size crowds thats for sure. We had 2550 odd for a saturday night game against UCD with no travelling fans. As for the complaining for the sake of it. Please, sure we only love losing gate money so we can have a moan about it on foot.ie ffs.

In fairness bullit I think the question that you/we should be asking is Why the Director of RTE can dictate footbal matches start times without any input from clubs? He could have a game on a Tuesday morning at 10 o'clock if he wanted to.
    The game was on Setanta.

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    The FAI don't care about football in this country, it's their job to sabotage it.
    Monday again next week against Bray.
    The club asked Bray would they mind moving it out to the following Friday as we are both out of the cup.
    Bray agreed but the FAI said No.
    With the kids now back at school a Monday game is attendance suicide.
    Was there any reason given? It makes absolutely no sense to anyone if both clubs were agreed on it. Is it a resources thing or what, sounds like a daft decision to me anyway considering both are out of the cup.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Was there any reason given? It makes absolutely no sense to anyone if both clubs were agreed on it. Is it a resources thing or what, sounds like a daft decision to me anyway considering both are out of the cup.
    I think I read something on our forum about them saying the extra rest would be an unfair advantage to us and Bray.
    Maybe we should ask the rest of the teams in the league if they're ok with it?
    Bad week to be trying to contact anyone at HQ anyway, Asia beckons.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Page 54 of 67 FirstFirst ... 444525354555664 ... LastLast