Page 18 of 67 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: 2012 attendances

In fairness to geezer I'm changing the "liar" label to "misinformed" for reasons I told him via pm and in fairness to the guy he could just be misinformed and was clearly kinda upset.

We don't want to actually upset anyone, tis just the internet.

In fact that 9 man story is such a lie you are a disgrace to the club you claim to represent
    Galway United kicked off that game with nine players. There was people there FFS!! I said "in time for kick off". That was the crucial part.

Seriously, some of you GUST members/well wishers/ etc, get a grip. No one wishes you any particular ill will. Take a step back. Re group.

Stop the whining, paranoia and airing of dirty linen.

It's doing ye no good. It's doing the exact opposite.

Ask yourselves why Ronan Coleman rarely posts here anymore and certainly hasn't got involed in any of the nonsense??

Is it because he has a bit of cop on??
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 11/04/2012 at 12:19 AM.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    sad sad man

pm me, thats a disgraceful charge and call me and i will tell you otherwise, In fact that 9 man story is such a lie you are a disgrace to the club you claim to represent. We had full squads at all our games except that Limerick game in lovely annacotty except we had 13 players there, one that picked up an injury just prior to kick off.
    We had 16 at our last game V Carlow a credit to a bunch of lads that although may not have won all year til the last game but showed tremendous character to stick together all year.
    Finding 66 u19s in Galway is not an easy task for national competition. In Galway that would be difficult in Hurling or Football
    Its a 100% fact i remember one of ye on here after it saying people got lost thats why ye started with 9 and i was at the game so seen it myself.

448 Posts
    You would have guessed wrong.

The gate is split. It's a competition no one cares about. We're actively trying to leave Jackman Park. Why in the name of god would we exaggerate our attendances??

You're like that Longford fan in some other thread (forget who or where) who said no way was there 1200 in a ground he'd never been in before in his life last Friday night because he would have guessed around a thousand.

For the record it was three twenty odd not three twenty exactly. I can get the print outs for this (and ALL other games) sent to anyone who's overly arsed.

Thanks.
    I was just making a comment, didn't say your number was wrong. Relax a little bit, your team won, you should be happy.

75 Posts
    Ltid you complain about people whining on here while you attack all and sundry especially GUFC supporters.Get a life because its the likes of you who have people leaving this forum in their droves.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

115 Posts

Seriously, some of you GUST members/well wishers/ etc, get a grip. No one wishes you any particular ill will. Take a step back. Re group.

Stop the whining, paranoia and airing of dirty linen.

It's doing ye no good. It's doing the exact opposite.
    Yeah you're right LtID. 99% of League of Ireland fans would be fully in support of Galway United getting back in to the league and realise that the situation in Galway is a total joke. I don't think any of those fans are really that interested in the ins and outs of how and why GUFC/GUST are not in the league this year.

This topic is supposed to be about attendances in the League of Ireland this season but has descended in to this rubbish of fans of each club slagging each other. Obviously with what happened some GUFC fans are very hurt and put out and don't take kindly to their hard effort to keep the show on the road - however bad the show was - being slagged off.

I was delighted for everyone involved that the u19s won their final game of the season - after a combined nearly 50 matches of the senior team and u19s not winning it was brilliant that the worst season in the history of Galway United finished with some positivity!

Anyway let's all be friends! I look forward to having a club to support playing against Limerick in Division 1 next season after you once again screw up this season.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    This topic is supposed to be about attendances in the League of Ireland this season but has descended in to this rubbish of fans of each club slagging each other.
    Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    I look forward to having a club to support playing against Limerick in Division 1 next season after you once again screw up this season.
    Good of you to break the cycle though.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    I was just making a comment, didn't say your number was wrong. Relax a little bit, your team won, .
    I was just playing El-P, you're one of my preferred posters.

you should be happy
    Talk to me about ten o'clock Friday!

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Ltid you complain about people whining on here while you attack all and sundry especially GUFC supporters..
    It's a discussion forum.

It is not, I repeat not, a GUST (or anyone else for that matter) pr sheet

I debated a few points.

I didn't get much in the way of debate in return.

C'est la vie

"attack all and sundry"

It's words on a screen man. Attack is a bit silly.

its the likes of you who have people leaving this forum in their droves
    I had assumed foot was dying because I haven't been posting as much as usual.

Average Attendances After 6 Rounds:

PREMIER DIVISION

Bohs - 1874 (2011 - 1,488; 2010- 1,835; 2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976)
    Bray - 850 (1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
    Cork - 3708 (2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
    Derry - 2500 (2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
    Drogheda - 1213 (811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
    Dundalk - 1262 (1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
    Monaghan - 1125 (372 FD; 410 FD; 183 FD; 177 FD; 292 FD; 204 FD; 183 FD)
    Pat's - 1976 (1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
    Rovers - 4367 (3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
    Shels - 1664 (781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
    Sligo - 2419 (2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
    UCD - 439 (558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION

Athlone - 346 (200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
    Harps - 613 (433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
    Limerick - 924 (569; 598; 429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
    Longford - 450 (315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
    Mervue - 200 (349; 123; 166)
    SD Galway - 189 (125; 122 - As Salthill Devon FC)
    Waterford - 336 (466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
    Wexford - 393 (216; 343; 494; 767; 810)

PREMIER DIVISION AVERAGE: 1950

FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 431

There, look I helped.

448 Posts
    I was just playing El-P, you're one of my preferred posters.

Talk to me about ten o'clock Friday!
    aww shucks

205 Posts
    You would have guessed wrong.

The gate is split. It's a competition no one cares about. We're actively trying to leave Jackman Park. Why in the name of god would we exaggerate our attendances??

You're like that Longford fan in some other thread (forget who or where) who said no way was there 1200 in a ground he'd never been in before in his life last Friday night because he would have guessed around a thousand.

For the record it was three twenty odd not three twenty exactly. I can get the print outs for this (and ALL other games) sent to anyone who's overly arsed.

Thanks.
    I was the man that said it. What difference does it make that I was never in the ground before? Fcuking none at all. Looking at the "stand" I would have said that it holds around 250 maybe? And that wasn't even full. There was about 50 to the right of the stand as you look at it, I know I was there. So lets say that was 300. I didn't think there was another 1000 (att 1270) around the rest of the pitch. Anyway, I don't give a flying... we won.
    Sporting F*ck All!

74 Posts
    Looking at those attendances they look reasonably healthy with most crowds going up. Is this usually the case for this time of year or do they start dropping off as the season progresses? I expect Ireland's appearance at the Euros to give things a bit of a boost in a couple of months as well. Mind you I expect us to get to the final (Germans to win on penalties)

448 Posts
    always start bright and drop off - our crowds are about to fall off a cliff I'd imagine. Our start will not encourage the GCSP to attend our games.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    always start bright and drop off - our crowds are about to fall off a cliff I'd imagine. Our start will not encourage the GCSP to attend our games.
    Even with Munster being ****e now? Suppose the GAA is about to start though

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Even with Munster being ****e now? Suppose the GAA is about to start though
    are Munster not in the Euro Rugby Semi finals or something?

21 Posts
    Are all premier division sides now giving official attendances?

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Are all premier division sides now giving official attendances?
    No, most still don't

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    No, most still don't
    I thought they had to now as per licencing no? If not then it should be a requirement to renewing a licence. We still give the figures out anyway, announced at each game.

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    I thought they had to now as per licencing no? If not then it should be a requirement to renewing a licence. We still give the figures out anyway, announced at each game.
    They have to give the FAI the correct figure but they certainly don't release them to press/public. pats do

Doesn't bother me. Everyone can see the crowds, the figures are immaterial

448 Posts
    I wouldn't say they are immaterial. If the FAI have them then that is something, but its good to be able to chart improvement/disimprovement and try and spot trends. I mean if someone had the time they could go through each of these threads and find out what impact form/league position has on attendances for each club, what impact the time of day, day of the week or even weather has on games. Could look into it further and find out what other events could be affecting crowds.

Page 18 of 67 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast