Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI Matches Week 1 - Weekending 2/3/12

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Good player Quigley - hopefully gets a serious kick in the hole from the new gaffer.

Shels will stay up , maybe even push for top half, but seriously lads, you're in the Premier - would it be too much to ask that you might run a roller over the pitch? You should be embarrassed by that surface - you couldn't roll the ball five yards in any direction without it taking a major bobble.
    Shels don't have a full time groundskeeper.

You should have seen it a few weeks back.

31 Posts
    Pitch was terrible in Tolka.

Great goal by Philly but cant believe how negative we were in the second half with the man advantage. Fair play to Rovers kept trying and got their reward.

LOL atthe Sligo player diving near the end. Comical just comical and the fans baying for a red card

1,821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Weekly?

Game went as expected at Drogs, was expecting a tight game with a settling Rovers side. Glad to take the three points and go home to face Roderick and Cliftonville
    We'll see next week in Dalyer if it is our new weekly tradition.

Strawberry, You have to understand that after a game like last night rational thought and argument go out thru window for me until the next day. Case in point after the Fingal play-off, Cup Final 2011, All Ireland semi v Cork 2010, last game v Cork in Tolka 2011, I can't stand that feeling.

What's the problem with the pitch? Its no carpet but it certainly was no furrowed field.

Was the pitch the reason for your players attitude?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    B2BW, this is how insufferable Fingal fans were.

Remember this.
    There are idiots following every club.

Morton stadium wasn't much better

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneForTheFuture View Post
    Pitch was terrible in Tolka.

Great goal by Philly but cant believe how negative we were in the second half with the man advantage. Fair play to Rovers kept trying and got their reward.

LOL atthe Sligo player diving near the end. Comical just comical and the fans baying for a red card
    Danny North has a bad attitude. I wouldn't have him near my team. So that's North and Stephen Bradley on my blacklist. Don't even think about phoning me looking for a place in my squad.

70 Posts
    Hoops top of the league already.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    B2BW, this is how insufferable Fingal fans were.

Remember this.
    Random, ad hominem attacks aside, do you seriously think that's a fit surface for professional football?

We had a crap pitch a few years back, Cook wanted his team to play passing football and demanded an improvement. We now have a surface that allows the ball to continue rolling in the direction it was hit. People complain about the league not getting enough respect - any casual viewer who sees the ball moving like it was bought in a joke shop will draw his own conclusions.

Your own league-winning side - one of the most attractive footballing teams to grace the LoI - would have had a fit if they had to play on that.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

True enough it was a poor surface.
    Fans never want to admit stuff like that on here which is understandable.

420 Posts
    Sligo fans spitting on Paddy Kavanagh according to him,disgusting if true.

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Random, ad hominem attacks aside, do you seriously think that's a fit surface for professional football?

We had a crap pitch a few years back, Cook wanted his team to play passing football and demanded an improvement. We now have a surface that allows the ball to continue rolling in the direction it was hit. People complain about the league not getting enough respect - any casual viewer who sees the ball moving like it was bought in a joke shop will draw his own conclusions.

Your own league-winning side - one of the most attractive footballing teams to grace the LoI - would have had a fit if they had to play on that.
    I was talking to club officials very recently and they make the same 'ad-pitchium' arguments you do. There just isn't the money to put it right. That's it; stop whinging about the pitch unless you have some concrete (not literally) suggestions on how to fund the improvement.

Perhaps Shels'd have had the cash if Richie Winters hadn't cheated them out of the Cup winner's prize money.

The pitch certainly doesn't explain North's amateur dramatics late in the match - diving fool - God help your club with a prima donna like that.

Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    There just isn't the money to put it right. That's it...
    Junior clubs have to deal with this problem and make a better job of it in many cases -- there's no money is a serious kop out.

447 Posts
    the pitch in UCD was shocking as well, surprised by that - doesnt explain how awful we were though

2,395 Posts
    First division table makes for interesting reading. We're mid-table. Not too bad.

In other news, Keith Cowan was taken off on stretcher and taken away in an ambulance. Dirty Limerick scum, absolutely dirty challenge, doesn't deserve to ever play football again, rotten stuff, hope he breaks his leg.
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 03/03/2012 at 12:24 PM.

64 Posts
    Not a good start by Sligo, are they going to fall behind early again this season. Quigley, North and Cretaro at the same club, it will be interesting to see what influence they will have as the season develops. Great attendance at Derry, but the other gates Pats especially should have been bigger.

I'll take that after the stupid sending off by Quigley.
    It was a pretty harsh sending off. It was a lazy tackle but no malice was intended nor was he studs up. Warranted a yellow at most.

183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wonder88 View Post
    Not a good start by Sligo, are they going to fall behind early again this season. Quigley, North and Cretaro at the same club, it will be interesting to see what influence they will have as the season develops. Great attendance at Derry, but the other gates Pats especially should have been bigger.
    Id say the opposite. The performance we put in in the second half with 10 men against 12 was brilliant.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

I thought it was quite a promising start to the season taking into account the last few weeks off the pitch, injuries and the circumstances last night.
    I reckon we would probably have lost that game last season

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    First division table makes for interesting reading. We're mid-table. Not too bad.

In other news, Keith Cowan was taken off on stretcher and taken away in an ambulance. Dirty Limerick scum, absolutely dirty challenge, doesn't deserve to ever play football again, rotten stuff, hope he breaks his leg.
    He wasn't taken away in any ambulance, he went into the ambulance and then got back out of it.

Challenge wasn't anything malicious or dirty...coming from you who is probably one of the ones that defended Mark Forkers horrible tackle that broke Garry Sheahans leg last year.
    No way you could have even seen the challenge properly from where ye were in the ground.

As for the last statement we have had enough of that with ye already.

Get your facts right before you start talking complete bull.

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Sligo fans spitting on Paddy Kavanagh according to him,disgusting if true.
    Link to his twitter please? I assume that's where he said it?

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    Link to his twitter please? I assume that's where he said it?
    https://twitter.com/#!/paddykavanagh14

24. Thanks From:

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast