United shock Bray

July 31, 2004

Galway Utd 3-1 Bray Wanderers
    High-flying Bray Wanderers were on the receiving end of a shock 1-3 setback in the Eircom First Division last night (Friday) when hosts Galway United played some of their best football of the season.

Damien Dupuy got the homesters up and running in the 27th minute and then David O’Dowd scored his first goal for the Tribesmen 13 minutes later in a whirlwind opening half for the westerners.

Read more at www.eleven-a-side.com

seagullsnest

Referee

was only short of wearing a maroon jersey....come to think of it so was the lino.

Please tell me what John Flood did to receive an instant red card????

Baffled

Quote Originally Posted by seagullsnest
    was only short of wearing a maroon jersey....come to think of it so was the lino.

Please tell me what John Flood did to receive an instant red card????

Baffled

Now, to be fair, the ref was giving crap calls to both teams all night. Never seen that ref before but I can honestly say that there is no way he is old enough to have his qualifications to ref at under 10 level !!

I was standing right behind the goals for floods decision. Nigel was holding him off and when he couldn't get through, he raised his arm, and his elbow caught nigel on his left cheek bone.

What was the story with Gormley and Devlin "Fecking hooligans"! They were waiting at the refs car after the match. The garda and security had to escort the ref to his car. GUFC security along with the ref took note of this and will be making a formal complaint to the fai.

74 Posts

Slightly wrong Terry

Gormley will be in Trouble over what he threatened the linesman and referee coming off the field.Pat Devlin talked to the Ref almost three quaters of an hour after the final whistle to ascertain what Eddie had said.

Our stewards did escort the Ref to his car as we do for any ref that asks for this to be done its part of the new guidelines since the attack in Drogheda and there was no Gardai involved.

But what a cracking game it could have been 10-9 and yes John Flood did elbow Nigel but the Bray fans and players lost the rag after that.We need to win against Monaghan on Fridat to build on this the season isnt over just yet!

Its not the Flood s/o thats got me going as I only saw it outta the corner of my eye and so I dont know what happened, but in the second half I stood behind the goal we were attacking and saw 2 very very very very very very very very solid peno claims turned down (even the Galway steward beside me said the second claim was stone-wall peno).Allso when Alan Gough started complaining to the ref in the second half the ref gave him a good talking too yet when C Tresson complained he got booked.
    although I will agree that the refereeing was p*iss poor generally, I just want to see a game where the outcome is decided by the football played and not reffereing. I am not trying to take anything away from GUFC as they played very well on the night.

Also a steward informed us at the end of the match that linesman Richie Winter had said that he was hit with a coin thrown from the Bray fans section during the 1st half which I can confirm is complete bull/rap-IMO he was trying to hit back at us after us being on his back for most of the half.

Eddie Gormley will most likely be in trouble-I was in the perfect position to here what he said to the linesman and I thought that he would be sent off for it and it was a bit of a scary moment as he was on the edge of doing something very regretable IMO -he should allso count himself lucky that he was'nt sent off against Kilkenny for a 2 footed `tackle`.
    I wouldnt say Devo will be in much trouble, I dont think he overstepped the line.

Another ref to the list
    Fair play te yiz anyway
    even if I thought we deserved more
    Last edited by Stevo Da Gull; 03/08/2004 at 4:54 PM.