Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: reynolds

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    As for McGrath- he's a legend in Irish football, but he's with waterford now, so he's fair game as far as I'm concerned. Anyone who says otherwise- should we applaud Glen Crowe and Jason Byrne cos they play for ireland? get real- if he's the opposition he deserves it.
    That "where's McGrath" chant on Friday night was a disgrace.

If anyone from any team, irrespective of their history, has a life-threatening illness then I would think that they deserve compassion and respect. Revelling in McGrath's state is sick. Supporting your team does not mean losing your common decency - it's not all right to rejoice when he's down and then stay quiet for the minute's silence when he dies - because that's where he's going.

F*** the Waterford United link, the man needs support. If he's suddenly no longer a hero then you're no better than the barstoolers who swap allegiances depending on who's winning. You don't kick a man, ANY man, let alone a f***ing Irish legend, when he's down.

Why not compose a chant laughing at Charles Mbabazi Livingstone for when SPA come to town ?? Football is not more important than life or death, and you don't have to be an animal to follow it.

Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    It seems your the 1 is a bit confused,where in that post was there any mention of that ***** being a "poof" and a "hairdresser"????????
    It seems to me your the 1 is fixated by your own players sexuality and masculinity
    Still at it Percy?, even quoting yourself and replying to your own posts....
    I can read other message boards too, and your little crush on Georgie is well documented.
    Run along now and don't bore us with your personal problems......

Quote Originally Posted by derm

If anyone from any team, irrespective of their history, has a life-threatening illness then I would think that they deserve compassion and respect. Revelling in McGrath's state is sick. Supporting your team does not mean losing your common decency - it's not all right to rejoice when he's down and then stay quiet for the minute's silence when he dies - because that's where he's going.

F*** the Waterford United link, the man needs support. If he's suddenly no longer a hero then you're no better than the barstoolers who swap allegiances depending on who's winning. You don't kick a man, ANY man, let alone a f***ing Irish legend, when he's down.

Why not compose a chant laughing at Charles Mbabazi Livingstone for when SPA come to town ?? Football is not more important than life or death, and you don't have to be an animal to follow it.

SPOT ON. 'NUFF SAID.

Great post,I thought the McGrath chant was well out of order as well the other night and was glad when only half the shed joined in and it died out straight away.

Quote Originally Posted by cobhrambler 16
    typical city fan...full of ****e
    typical ramblers fan,lack of vocabulary
    j'accuse!

Thumbs down You Have Disgraced Cork City Football Club

the shower of wasters(not least the "general" forums moderator) who involved tyhemselves in the mcgrath bashing sicken me.you need to take a long look at yourselves and wonder why you involved yourselves making light of our country's greatest ever centre half,mocking him as a human.the guy has a life threatening disease and you mock it.worse still it was when our general forum moderator returned back from the horseshoe he joined this dispicable chant.

you may be fans of cork city but you will lose cork city fc fans also you shameless and ignorant people.

the real scum was standing right next to me in the shed not 50yards away in the blue wearing number 4
    j'accuse!

144 Posts
    The way I look at it is that really McGrath has nothing whatsoever to do with Waterford United Football Club.
    He surely can't be contributing anything to them really plus there is enough to hate about their players and style of play without resorting to this kind of mockery.
    I feel terribly sorry for the bloke.
    But we are here to discuss Cork City and this thread is about reynolds
    To be honest i didn't hear any chant about McGrath the other night but I was probably too busy shouting dogs abuse at Reynolds.

I can read other message boards too, and your little crush on Georgie is well documented.
    Patsh my friendyou really do have problems.You should take a long hard look at your own posts and take a bit of your own advice in!!!!

As for this forum I was beginning to think all that used it were no-brainers and scum but thank God,razor,ccfcman,DolansWaistcoat and drinkfeckarse have restored my faith.At least some people have the co-on to recognise a flawed legend who need's the support and help of the people of this country!!!If you want to know the truth about McGrath,he's on unpaid sick leave from the club and has been for a good while.Those who mock and jeer the man because of his problems are no better than pondscum!!!!!!

I take it that the same sanctimonious tosspots defending mcgrath on here won't use the word junkie or some such in reference to barry ryan and have never used it in connection to trevor molloy? mcgrath has been in football long enough to know what goes on in football and i'm sure he's well able to take it. I've only 2 things to say about the guy
    1. While he is a legend in irish football, he's part of waterford and on matchday that makes him a fair target for abuse.
    2. He's been given so much pity and so many second chances by the people of this country that he doesn't deserve any more IMO

Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    Patsh my friendyou really do have problems.You should take a long hard look at your own posts and take a bit of your own advice in
    Advice?....Sad, sad little man....
    Confusion still reigns in that little head of yours....

I take it that the same sanctimonious tosspots defending mcgrath on here won't use the word junkie or some such in reference to barry ryan and have never used it in connection to trevor molloy?
    Why would I (a sanctimonious tosspot) need to defend McGrath? Why do you defend the abuse of an Irish legend who is suffering from a recognised life-threatening medical condition?

I didn't realise that Barry Ryan or Trevor Molloy were seriously addicted to drugs and that it was threatening their lives.

mcgrath has been in football long enough to know what goes on in football and i'm sure he's well able to take it.
    If McGrath actually did anything for Waterford then you could abuse that, but to target his alcoholism smacks of the playground. All McGrath has is his past. He rightly could believe that he deserved respect from Irish fans. Irish fans laughing at him is sure to help his self-esteem and give him the strength to fight his illness, isn't it? It doesn't phase Waterford, it tarnishes the City fans reputation and it helps send the man to an early grave.

I've only 2 things to say about the guy
    1. While he is a legend in irish football, he's part of waterford and on matchday that makes him a fair target for abuse.
    2. He's been given so much pity and so many second chances by the people of this country that he doesn't deserve any more IMO

McGrath like Best gave people something to believe in. They've let people down also, but we're not infants. The good outweighs the bad and I'm very very grateful for the good. McGrath doesn't need pity nor does he need (or deserve) fans mocking his illness.

Let me spell out what it means to be a sanctimonious tosspot:

- I don't laugh at people who have cancer, alcoholism, AIDS or any other serious illness. That's it really. It's also known as common decency. It doesn't matter if I'm on the street or in the shed.

if hitler(george dubuyaah bush) plays for cork city then he's a ledgend then

j'accuse!

Why would I (a sanctimonious tosspot) need to defend McGrath? Why do you defend the abuse of an Irish legend who is suffering from a recognised life-threatening medical condition?

I didn't realise that Barry Ryan or Trevor Molloy were seriously addicted to drugs and that it was threatening their lives.

If McGrath actually did anything for Waterford then you could abuse that, but to target his alcoholism smacks of the playground. All McGrath has is his past. He rightly could believe that he deserved respect from Irish fans. Irish fans laughing at him is sure to help his self-esteem and give him the strength to fight his illness, isn't it? It doesn't phase Waterford, it tarnishes the City fans reputation and it helps send the man to an early grave.

McGrath like Best gave people something to believe in. They've let people down also, but we're not infants. The good outweighs the bad and I'm very very grateful for the good. McGrath doesn't need pity nor does he need (or deserve) fans mocking his illness.

Let me spell out what it means to be a sanctimonious tosspot:

- I don't laugh at people who have cancer, alcoholism, AIDS or any other serious illness. That's it really. It's also known as common decency. It doesn't matter if I'm on the street or in the shed.
    would have to agree with everything you said there derm, he suffers from a very serious illness and it is pathetic to take the **** out of him over it!

Quote Originally Posted by ccfcman
    if hitler(george dubuyaah bush) plays for cork city then he's a ledgend then

what is a ledgend and what the hell are you on about

for the 90 minutes he's part of waterford utd. apart from that give him what ever support or help you want. during a match he's fair game.

he got respect, from everyone, me included. and he chose to **** his life away. how anyone still has any time for the guy I will never know.

its quite simple really. getting grief is part of football. if you can't handle the heat, get out of the kitchen

there's a key difference that you are very deliberately (or stupidly) ignoring- alcoholism is self-inflicted.

Eanna,obviously no one one in your family has been effected by alcoholism because you show a complete lack of understanding of it.Yes it can be self- inflicted but it is recognised as a disease also which destroys ppls lives and their families lives are seriously affected too.

Listen Eanna, you're either trying to be controversial or just plain ignorant. While technically you have a point that whoever is on the opposing team is fair game, nobody warrants the right to inflict personal abuse on someone. Call him a sh!te football player, call him dirty ba$tard but there's NEVER any call to go as far as you have. Alcoholism is a disease as you will well know. Cancer is a disease as you will well know....would you start taking the **** out of McGrath should he be struck down with that?? My arse you would so why don't you stop digging yourself a hole and grow up.

I love Eanna's byline, or whatever that little slogan below his comments..."Rebel Army-f*** the begrudgers". If his endlessly belligerent and nasty comments didn't prove otherwise, you'd think this man had a sense of humour! Eanna, King of the little begrudgers!!

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    While technically you have a point that whoever is on the opposing team is fair game, nobody warrants the right to inflict personal abuse on someone.
    So you never mocked an opposing player about his weight or hairstyle or appearance? You never abused somebody about where there from, never called Dubs junkies or Waterford fans sheepshaggers? You never abused Ollie Byrne about his crimianal past? That's all personal abuse.
    The opposition is always fair game, whether it's Dan Connor, Alan Reynolds, Ollie Cahill, Trevor Molloy or even Saint Paul McGrath they are all open to abuse and ridicule when the are playing against City.
    Champions!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    So you never mocked an opposing player about his weight or hairstyle or appearance? You never abused somebody about where there from, never called Dubs junkies or Waterford fans sheepshaggers? You never abused Ollie Byrne about his crimianal past? That's all personal abuse.
    The opposition is always fair game, whether it's Dan Connor, Alan Reynolds, Ollie Cahill, Trevor Molloy or even Saint Paul McGrath they are all open to abuse and ridicule when the are playing against City.
    Sure we all have and you know it.
    But it ain't the same i'm afraid.
    On a human level, there is a limit.
    I would put this on a par with rascist abuse. unacceptable.
    Anyway lads this thread was supposed to be about that l@nger Reynolds, he's getting off lightly while we are all sidetracked by this McGrath issue.
    Much and all as I hate Reynolds though if he were an alcoholic I wouldn't stoop there either.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast