Thread: gane review

as did i, hope to have a www.onefinlongford.com flag for dc game on Oct 1, i'm out of the country for the majority of Sept, i might get it for league cup final if i have the time
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    no problem and hope you enjoyed the sectin O welcome, the lads there did us proud..
    Think most of the approx 2700 in attendance did us proud and isn't it a marvel for a weak Gaa county that so many did flock to Flancare.Well done to all and also to everyone who contributed to having Flancare look in tip top shape.

Im sorry but the support in the stand was an absolute disgrace and i just wanna say fair play to the section o lads! I sat in section B not expecting the same atmosphere as in Vaduz but expected an atmosphere nonetheless! myself and a mate did our best to start some chants but we had to wonder if either of us had ten heads so many people turned to stare at us! When we sang chants, we were told to shut up!!
    This annoyed me more than the result!

another thing was the amount of people that up and left with 25mins to go...........an absolute disgrace!

as for the game itself, yes a bad result, not what we thought would happen after the performance we put in over in Vaduz but we can only gain experience and right now we just have to try and concentrate on the league!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Quote Originally Posted by Maz
    Im sorry but the support in the stand was an absolute disgrace and i just wanna say fair play to the section o lads! I sat in section B not expecting the same atmosphere as in Vaduz but expected an atmosphere nonetheless! myself and a mate did our best to start some chants but we had to wonder if either of us had ten heads so many people turned to stare at us! When we sang chants, we were told to shut up!!
    This annoyed me more than the result!

another thing was the amount of people that up and left with 25mins to go...........an absolute disgrace!

as for the game itself, yes a bad result, not what we thought would happen after the performance we put in over in Vaduz but we can only gain experience and right now we just have to try and concentrate on the league!

see i'm not alone in my thoughts....
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

see i'm not alone in my thoughts....
    What i'm saying is, dont knock people who come in their hundreds to watch, and remember bums on seats = money in the bank. So what if they dont chant or sing,the size of the crowd is what matters especially at a game such as this and maybe some of this crowd will return for the next home game and become hooked or maybe even apply for membership of Section O
    Now that I mention it, When Section O were in the stand (due to ground closure) the atmosphere was excellent with their endless chants and singing especially at the Bohs game and everyone seemed to get a buzz from them so would it not make sense to transfer Section O over to the stand where people can see them,listen to them and maybe join in rather than watch them from afar and hear nothing.You look very isolated over there lads and lassies.

250 Posts
    ive posted similar on a different thread but it was no disgrace......dissapointing yes........disgrace no.. to lose to the vaduz team.
    they had 7 starters from the team that england struggled to beat 2-0 in a euro 2004 qualifier and also professionals from nigeria,brazil,italy and germany among others in their team.

we will learn from this experience.

Quote Originally Posted by johno
    What i'm saying is, dont knock people who come in their hundreds to watch, and remember bums on seats = money in the bank. So what if they dont chant or sing,the size of the crowd is what matters especially at a game such as this and maybe some of this crowd will return for the next home game and become hooked or maybe even apply for membership of Section O
    well from the amount of "this is crap", "this is a circus" " il never come back here again to see this" bla bla bla, majority wont be seen till the cup final!!

Quote Originally Posted by johno
    Now that I mention it, When Section O were in the stand (due to ground closure) the atmosphere was excellent with their endless chants and singing especially at the Bohs game and everyone seemed to get a buzz from them so would it not make sense to transfer Section O over to the stand where people can see them,listen to them and maybe join in rather than watch them from afar and hear nothing.You look very isolated over there lads and lassies.
    dont restart this argument, the lads are grand where they are, chances are they would get kicked out of the stand for using a swear word!! Fair play to em though dont think anyone can dispute they were the only ones that made a bit of noise and encouraged the team! well done Section O

please go and read teh review, the main point was the "sunshine" supporter who won't be in richmond on monday or in The Flansiro at the next game and when you give a few shouts for the lads look at you as if you have two heads.

they add nothing apart from 15 euro maybe once a year, but by moaning about "that no.5 " ( not just baz ) and then they leave with 25 mins left, what woud you think if you were a player and the crowd leave.

at least the real fans were there to see the goals we scored.

please go and read teh review, the main point was the "sunshine" supporter who won't be in richmond on monday or in The Flansiro at the next game and when you give a few shouts for the lads look at you as if you have two heads.

they add nothing apart from 15 euro maybe once a year, but by moaning about "that no.5 " ( not just baz ) and then they leave with 25 mins left, what woud you think if you were a player and the crowd leave.

at least the real fans were there to see the goals we scored.
    So what do you want? A distinction between 'sunshine supporters' and 'real fans'.If the 'real fans' are the only people let into Flancare then section O is too big.Look,is it not better to welcome everyone to our home pitch and let them decide whether to stay or not,sing or not,chant or not after all its the quality of whats on the pitch that matters most and not whats happening off it.

Quote Originally Posted by Maz
    dont restart this argument, the lads are grand where they are, chances are they would get kicked out of the stand for using a swear word!! Fair play to em though dont think anyone can dispute they were the only ones that made a bit of noise and encouraged the team! well done Section O
    It's not an arguement simply an observation that maybe if they were in the stand then perhaps more people would join in like what happened at the Bohs game.

this is not a stand v section O debate. its a simple fact of the sunshine supporters that only go to european games/cup finals and when they do go the only noise they make is to moan and abuse players.

and then to rub the players noses in it they just walk out when the team needs support the most.

112 Posts
    Terrible result, the 4th minute away goal killed the contest before it even began. Was looking like a thrashing at one stage, maybe its best to get ourselves out of the dangerous league position we're in, Europe is a learning curve, and yeah we didnt do ourselves justice, but Vaduz play in Europe virtually every season, they've a lot of big match experience, we dont. On a positive note, was VERY proud to be part of Section O that night. We didnt let our heads down and sang away for 90 minutes, the players totally appreciated it at the end, hopefully we inspired the lads and we could nearly claim the credit for the fightback!

FC Vaduz ........ 3. Section O .........2

The atmosphere in the stand was crap, and unfortunately i had to be there I was delighted that we scored a few goals near the end because you might not see European goals there for another while and i was glad the sunshiners missed them