Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Glens win in Europe

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick J.
    Dev was a dictater. Anyone who hasn't realised that by 2004 has obviously grown up in some backward wilderness and received no formal education.
    I hope you're reading this Tim Pat Coogan. Your take on the 'Long Fellow' was in fact a pile of tripe.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

My history professor for the past fourrs recently informed me that Tim Pat Coogan is looked upon with distain by scholarly people. Coogan is a poor historian with many of his arguments lacking a factual basis. However, judging by the comment you just posted, I doubt very much you read Coogan's biography of the pr!ck. I have. Coogan's 'take on the long fellow' is unique for a biography because Coogan displays a very anti-de Valera tone throughout the book. Tim Pat continually points to De Valera's obvious failings. I doubt you realised that. I've got a degree and a masters degree in Irish history. When you do the same maybe you can question my opinions. It will probably please you that I see a lot of similarities between you and De Valera. Both of ye were born to Spanish and Irish parents. Both of ye seem self-absorbed and neither of ye have done much for this country. However, unlike Dev, I doubt you ever went to Blackrock College.

Is that Irish history, or free state middle class history that the degree's in.
    So Pat as part of this master's degree do they teach you to call yer fellow countrymen northern scum and give out about people from minority religon's.
    We were a bit worried about yer since it's been about a day or two since yer last posted did yer Hockey game go into extra time.
    I agree with you about Dev not doing much for this country, thank's to him all us poster's over here had to go to Grange hill instead of Blackrock collage (that one's going to run and run).
    And Pat when you finish your nice collage course and and take yer place in coparate Ireland, which from an earlier post of your's seem's to be the direction you claim to be taking, then I'm sure you won't be doing a great deal for Ireland either.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

My history professor for the past fourrs recently informed me that Tim Pat Coogan is looked upon with distain by scholarly people. Coogan is a poor historian with many of his arguments lacking a factual basis. However, judging by the comment you just posted, I doubt very much you read Coogan's biography of the pr!ck. I have. Coogan's 'take on the long fellow' is unique for a biography because Coogan displays a very anti-de Valera tone throughout the book. Tim Pat continually points to De Valera's obvious failings. I doubt you realised that.
    I was thinking of the usage of the description of 'dictater' (sic.) in a chapter of the TPC book, taken from a previous hagiography of the man by Desmond Ryan in 1936 and your statement that Ireland was ruled by someone who locked up his political opponents and suspended elections. Coogan refers to the weakness of opposition, the strength of the RC church as much as Dev's political rule. If banning fascists from leaving the country to fight against a legally elected goverment of another European country is dictating, then so be it. Perhaps when you have lived in a country under a dictatorship (or at least visited a country extensively) then you can spot the difference, and maybe be able to spell the word as well.

Want to point the finger at someone who tried to run Ireland as a dictatorship then you don't have to look far from your old school (and I'm not talking Eoin O'Duffy). John Charles McQuaid is a wonderful example of someone who tried to resist the pluralist society your so lucky to enjoy today. Dev actually resisted, after bringing him in to draft the constitution, much of the mad mullah's attempts to turn Ireland into a Catholic Iran. I recommend John Cooney's 'John Charles McQuaid: Ruler of Catholic Ireland' brilliant hatchet job on his disgrace. The chapter on Ireland's match with Yugoslavia proves most interesting reading. While the office of Dev was keen to let the FAI decide who they played against, Ayatollah McQuaid used every tool at his disposal to undermine the FAI and afterwards sent in his own Basij militia to infiltrate the FAI from within to ensure that not only the FAI did not arrange games against 'Godless' countries but ensure that all levels of soccer - including, presumably, those leagues under CofI control, like the Boys Brigade - conformed to the Catholic ethos.

As for Coogan, you slate him - you obviously see yourself as scholarly - and yet take the title of one of his chapters as a succinct description of DeValera. TPC is looked on with disdain by Unionists because of what they perceive is his 'apologising' for the IRA, not that he's a sh*te writer. Perhaps you should ask your 'professor' why he's not as well read as Coogan, unless he's Dermot Keogh. Personally, after reading four of Coogan's books - and been recommended a fifth by Duncan Gardner - I find him more readable than most historians, although his last book 'Whenever Green Is Worn' displays his penchant for talking about himself and the amount of parties he's attended. But then I'm not as learned as you, only having your degree and masters encompassing Irish history, but not having my ar*e wiped at Blackrock. BTW, if you think that I'm bullsh*tting here I'm happy to exchange MA theses. Mine should interest you: It's about the reaction to black immigration into Ireland upto 2002, and no, it doesn't paint a pretty picture for Lux to opt for Irish citizenship in a more universal sense. What's yours about?
    I've got a degree and a masters degree in Irish history.
    Don't you think you've made us laugh enough already? Where did you pick it up? Online from The Bob Jones University.com? Your bigoted views on Protestants, Northern Ireland and emigrants show that the above statement is simply ludicrous. Your snobbery is on the other hand is rib tickling.
    When you do the same maybe you can question my opinions. It will probably please you that I see a lot of similarities between you and De Valera. Both of ye were born to Spanish and Irish parents. Both of ye seem self-absorbed and neither of ye have done much for this country. However, unlike Dev, I doubt you ever went to Blackrock College.
    Ouch!!! You forgot to mention that we are both foreigners.

I've got a degree and a masters degree in Irish history. When you do the same maybe you can question my opinions.

History degree, you really crack us up.
    Anyone else here read Patrick J and his opinion of the Irish emmigration.
    What did your Irish history degree not include this minor event or were you off sick for that class?
    Last edited by Pat O' Banton; 06/08/2004 at 1:57 PM.
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton

What did your Irish history degree not include this minor event or were you off sick for that class?
    Emigration? What the f*ck was that? Shurely shome mishtake and you mean 'immigration' - darkie types nicking our jobs, women and beer and all that?

He must have also been off the day they were learning about Constance Markievicz by the look's of thing's. Mother Theresa and Tina Noble must also be held in high esteem by him.
    How does that song about mast's and taking go again.

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Unlike,of course your good self..............

PS.Have been past on the Blackrock College on the bus;Does this count?
    Nah you seem to working class and I detect a hint of a non Irish accent there.

Well done Lopez. You have displayed your scholarly attributes. I didn't ask you for your opinions on other parts of Irish history. I simply expressed my educated views on Collins and De Valera. I'm entitled to an opinion in this democracy that you so clearly point to. I'm entitled to think what I want of emigrants. As for Countess Mark*****, she was a useless wh*** - IN MY OPINION I really thought the comparison between Lopez and Dev was funny. Spanish parentage . . . only difference being Dev's education in the Rock. That was funny.

Just a few points, you have a go at Countess Markevitz for what reason? Seems you have a problem with her sex after all you don't make personally insulting remarks towards Lynch, Bolland et al. What's the matter get blown out in the student union or are you having trouble coming to terms with the idea of equality?
    If we're comparing what people have done for Ireland maybe we should ask the admin to conduct a pole,
    who has done more for the Irish nation some bloke on the internet or Countess Markevitz?
    Secondly no one asked for your ill informed opinions, yet for some reason you were prepared to show the world just how lacking in intellegence you are by coming on here and giving them.
    The comparison between Dev and Lopez, yes it was brilliantly funny so much so that I have only just come out of the toilet after an hour wetting myself . (a phenomenon you will be no doubt familiar with - plastic matteresses in the halls of residence hopefully)
    What a sad reflection on yourself it is that you are so concerned with the origins of a someone else, that in some way you feel that this will make you more Irish. You have come on this site with an intention to be controversal and say to your uni mates 'look at me I'm really winding these people up', but you have so far looked sad, ill informed, boorish, extremely unintelligent.
    Still I suppose foot.ie is keeping you from looking at other more 'picturesque' websites, stopping a bad case of RSI.

Well said Pat O'. I haven't just come on and given my opinions. I bet if you go back through this thread you will see that I was made defend myself and give my opinions. As for intelligence levels and nationality, this website is about all you share in common with me. Maybe I am everything you ever wanted to be.
    Desperately, always thought that I would like to be like a someone who comes across a misogynist. Still can always dream.
    Indeed I am glad that you recognise that we are of vastly differing intelligence levels, I mean it really has shown over the past few weeks.

I fear my boy you maybe defending the indefensible, cannot be bother to play a game of 'they started it' and quite frankly if thats the best you can come up with...

Pat, I just couldn't be bothered arguing with people of an inferior intelligence level. I've put across my argument but certain people are too thick to accept the truth. But then again, you must have grown up in Ireland, learning our history, when you can tell me so much.
    a) you spend quite alot of time arguing with people for someone who can't be bothered.
    b)Bullock obviously must have grown up in Germany to be such an expert in German history, Preston must have grown up in Spain etc. I take it you get my drift .
    Whether I can tell you anything is open to debate, however what is fairly sad is that as someone who believes himself to be such an expert in Irish history you have failed to tell us anything new or informative when you have voiced your opinions, indeed there are times when you have been completely wrong in what you believe. I refer you to your belief that emmigrants did not support the Irish economy by sending money home during the later half of the twentieth century.

(BTW I grew up in the same country where Shane McGowan and James Connolly were born, oh hang on another two people who have done more for the Irish nation than your good self. Now get in your reply in your own time as I'm off to the pub and will need a good laugh tomorrow to clear the head)

Well done Lopez. You have displayed your scholarly attributes...I really thought the comparison between Lopez and Dev was funny. Spanish parentage . . . only difference being Dev's education in the Rock. That was funny.
    I found the comparison funny too . I never did notice this similarity before. Do you think this is why I think you are a complete bell-end?

BTW, what was your MA thesis about? Emigration: The Great Irish myth?

...you're also from the same country as Andy Goram and Walter Smith...
    You're also from the same country as Edward Carson, Henry Wilson, Horatio Kitchener and the Duke of Wellington. Your point?!

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Even I wouldn't say that.......hope you've told OWB......Good luck to Glens ....though would draw the line @ L*nfield.....
    Apologies for what's said in the other thread Dav about giving PAtrick a chance-didn't realise it was he was responsible for accussing our good friend PP of spending his life on here!
    Careful with your wind up's PAt your a good man but like Pat said-most of the Northern folk round here are really sound blokes! Duncan Gardener is one of the nicest blokes i've met! Lux (I think) invited me for a pint in the Oval Club Room-loose the bigotory or make a bit witty aye?
    Hadn't looked in on this thread because the Nord Iron board is normally a wee bit dead-just realised it had three pages on here!
    I wouldn't really cheer on Glens but I'm pleased for Lux and the other sound Glens lads on here that they did well-like Dav Lumfield is a no go
    Almost got in a fight with a Glens fan who was yelling at me for wearing a Celtic **** but when we got over to him we started talking and he was a Baptist minister ended up bein' a pretty sound bloke
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Just having a quick skim through the thread and Patrick-lay off ma mates
    I know they don't need me to stick up for them but Dav, Lopez, Pat and Sylvo are sound blokes who've been round these parts a long time!

Winding up the Our Wee Minds boys is good craic but the Northern fans who come on here obviously have nothing against the Republic and just want to chat football with anyone from Ireland, otherwise they'd be off on OWM......think about it
    Last edited by liam88; 07/08/2004 at 10:56 PM.
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

Pat O', I detect a degree of jealousy. I've got a third level education. You had to make to do with a public school "Grange Hill" type experience in your homeland. I'm Irish and have the world at my feets. Your English and have put on so much weight that you haven't seen your toes in years. No point sucking up to pr!cks from Glentoran, pretending we like them. .
    And that's just out of order-heck Pat on other thread I've stuck up for you and I know you enjoy a good wind up but that is just.............

"I'm clever than you and your English"-What the heck is that supposed to mean!?! That's a low, un-thought-out insult not based up on any facts or anything-that's not witty banter just mindless slagging like the kids at school hwo say 'you're gay'!

Yeah, I was just making a point to Pat O' that growing up in the same country as someone like James Connolly doesn't mean he can take credit for Connolly's exploits. I was just asking does he want to take credit for the exploits of Goram and Smith. I'm from the Republic of Ireland. Think both me and Edward Carson would disagree about being from the same country. Lopez, you're very paranoid. Seeing that you have Spanish blood, you hail from the same country as Franco. Ha ha ha!
    Of course I was trying to take credit for helping organise Socialist groupings in the US, Scotland and Ireland, writing important works of socialist theory and repopularising Irish trad music . Do you know just how hard it is coming up with all these things and read some of the muck that you post on here?

Actually your previous attitude shows that you believe that the most important thing in a defining someones nationality is where they are born, so according to yourself, you are from the same country as Carson. (he helped form some people into a paramilitary organisation called UVF. Also helped organise a great big petition against something called Home Rule, which when the entire nation of Ireland was part of the British empire would give Ireland its own parliament. – Just in case you were off sick from college the day that you were meant to do Ireland under the British empire)

Of course I was trying to take credit for helping organise Socialist groupings in the US, Scotland and Ireland, writing important works of socialist theory and repopularising Irish trad music . Do you know just how hard it is coming up with all these things and read some of the muck that you post on here?

Actually your previous attitude shows that you believe that the most important thing in a defining someones nationality is where they are born, so according to yourself, you are from the same country as Carson. (he helped form some people into a paramilitary organisation called UVF. Also helped organise a great big petition against something called Home Rule, which when the entire nation of Ireland was part of the British empire would give Ireland its own parliament. – Just in case you were off sick from college the day that you were meant to do Ireland under the British empire)
    THAT'S the kind of response your looking for Partick J

Lopez, you're very paranoid. Seeing that you have Spanish blood, you hail from the same country as Franco. Ha ha ha!
    Yeah! Same part of Spain aswell. I never knew that! You are very funny man!

Blackrock College why would ye go there. full of upper class scumbags. The gob****es of our society are educated there.

Patrick J - a bigot with a third level education whats new!

This section is meant for northern irish football not depressed irish history.
    always preferred european history myself .
    ha ha ha ha ha haaaaaaaaaa did you just say rovers can play football ha ha ha ha haaaaaaaaaa

[QUOTE=Patrick J. As for Countess Mark*****, she was a useless wh*** -

Right then hockey boy, you claim to have a degree in Irish history, so you can tell me now how you've come to describe such a remarkable woman in such a disgracful way.
    Is it because she was a Protastant, or maybe the fact that she was against yer free state or even maybe that she was something that on here your trying to be (UPPER CLASS).
    A lot of yer post's I have to say I fall around laughing at, but this I do take serious seeing that yer slagging off a woman who even when she was Dying of cancer was still out amongst the people that you really come from trying to make their live's better, so Pat show some fcuking respect.
    As for all this trying to be from D4, fair city you come from New jack city more like, I reckon you've spent a bit to much time in the old crack den's and now yer getting illusion's like thinking yer some horsey or hockey type from d4.
    Look forward to hearing yer answer hockey boy have a good time out with skipper tonight, hope yer don't get blown out by to many of the social elite.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast