Latest score Longford 0 vaduz 1![]()
not really relevant to the LOI but Glentoran won away tonight and qualified for the next round
Latest score Longford 0 vaduz 1![]()
after 30 mins still longford 0 vaduz 1 -absolute disgrace.
Ht Longford 0 Vaduz 1
Logford need three goals in the secod half to go through![]()
0-2 now according to xscores.
0-3 now, bloody hell, this team had never won in europe before as far as i know![]()
a disgrace, an utter disgrace!
longford 1 vaduz 3
longford 2 vaduz 3
Come on Longford, if you score again you can at least salvage some co-efficent points for us.
FT Longford 2 vaduz 3
terrible - no wonder people dont go to LOI matchs. How could they after a result like that. People wont take crap.![]()
Are you taking the p1ss? How is it a disgrace like?Originally Posted by eoinh
Have Longford turned into Man Utd overnight or something. The fact they qualified for Europe in the first place deserves credit. It's not as if they could draw on their vast European experiance and at least this years venture will give them a taste of what's required.
I agree with Eoinh. Its a bloody disgrace losing 4-2 to a Liectenstein team!![]()
This is a team that has never won in Europe before. Longford were the seeded team and to lose so easily is a disgrace.
Ditto for Bowez. All of our hope is on $hel$ kick-$hit football"Originally Posted by Slash/ED
Maybe so but at least they've got plenty of experience which counts for a lot. No offence to Macy and the lads but Longford aren't exactly setting the place on fire this season so I don't see how ye think they'd a God given right to win the tieOriginally Posted by Slash/ED
Also, just because the team is from Lichtenstien doesn't mean the Irish team will automatically be a better side.
Vaduz hadn't won a European match in 17 attempts and now they win 2 on the trot. They are one of the worst teams in any of the European competitions yet Longford conceded 4 goals without reply until the 176th minute. Worst result from an Irish club in a long time.Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
Have to agree that we let the eL down big time. they kicked us from pillar to post for the ninety minutes. it might be a blessing in disguise that Darragh Sheridan was carried off injured. he is the biggest fcuking eejit you will ever see playing football. he would commit the stupiddest fouls in front of the ref. i really dont think he has a braincell in his head. he went off mid-way through the first half and we brought Dean Fitzgerald on. He was fcuking class. He was well able to give the kicking as well as taking it. He should realistically been sent off but he was good at kicking the sh!t out of them. there was a bustup in the tunnel at half time. i was going to the jacks and as I was walking towards them all you could hear was loads of shouting and the refs whistle going mental. hopefully we dont get fined. anyway about the game, their 3 goals came from sh!t defending. 1st goal, ball crossed in from their left, right winger coming in at the back post, unmarked, slides it past Digger from 10-12 yards. Eric missed a sitter from a Dessie Baker cross from the right wing. Then Darragh gets injured (THANK GOD) and bring on Deano. Paiso then has a shot with his right foot and then goes down injured. Another sub, This time Pual Keegan. Half time 1-0. Everybody down, P!ssed off. 2 minutes into the second half, were 2-0 down. Sh!t defending again. Murph Skinned on right hand side, Barry has a swing at it but misses and thier fella xcurles it home from the tightest off angles. 8 minutes later and the sunshine supporters start to walk out. Ball floated in from their right, Seanie Dillon misjudges it, Murph heads it back to Digger who is out of his goal, runs back and scrambles it off the line, their no.7 walks in to tap hit home after being on the pitch about 10 seconds. After that things really got heated. Deano should have been sent off for blatently stamping on some fella. he kicked the sh!t out of some of them. we get 1 back through Deano with 4 mins to go, Dessie swings a ball in from the right along the ground, Deano comes running in to sidefoot home from 10 yards. 2 mins later Dessie swings another 1 in along the ground and Barry comes in at the back post to hammer home with his left foot. 90th minute and it was nearly 3-3. Dessie has a shot from about 20-25 yards out, it chips the keeper but off the underside off the bar, onto the goalline and out again. im sickened. but hey, theres always next year!
Not true - they haven't progressed a round; they've won three or four games (see the UEFA Coefficients list - there's a link knocking around somerwhere) though. Also, they're not really a Liechtenstein team - they lost in a promotion/relegation play-off to get promoted to the Swiss top flihgt last season (3-2 to Neuchatel Xamax, who are a decent team). It's still a very disappointing result, but not quite as bad as is being made out.Originally Posted by eirebhoy
European veterans compared to Longford then and like I said, experience matters more often than not in European competition. Let me remind most of ye that the Eircom league is no La Liga or Premiership. We are predominantly a part time league and our league would be compared to the weakest nations of Europe by the most of the rest of Europe, like it or not. To lose to a team that in all probability is the same standard as the team it is playing is no "disgrace", disapointing yes, but nothing to bury your head in shame about.Originally Posted by eirebhoy