Thread: Televised Games 2012

433 Posts

Televised Games 2012

Drogheda United V Shamrock Rovers - http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2012/..._shamrock.html
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

27 Posts
    (As a new neutral) I Think I would have preferred Shels/Sligo

Suppose Shams are champs after all
    Founder, President and Sole Member of the Tipperary Galway United Supporters Club

71 Posts
    I prefer this one.

Quote Originally Posted by punkrocket View Post
    I prefer this one.
    Looks like we're going to have to win FAI cup again this year, if we want the privilege of seeing the Bit-a-Red.

What d++k head in RTE sport, decided that last year's league runners up and Cup winners, don't figure in this schedule which was greeted with fanfare.

Well done RTE you've excelled yourself once again.

398 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shellyriver View Post
    Looks like we're going to have to win FAI cup again this year, if we want the privilege of seeing the Bit-a-Red.

What d++k head in RTE sport, decided that last year's league runners up and Cup winners, don't figure in this schedule which was greeted with fanfare.

Welcome to foot.ie Mr. Sweeney

Who cares. Sweeney is not a representative of Sligo Rovers fans, even if he seems to have has appointed himself in that role.

398 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Who cares. Sweeney is not a representative of Sligo Rovers fans, even if he seems to have has appointed himself in that role.
    In fairness to him Dong he's one of the few journo's who tries. I didn't like his negativity today, and at other times he's been spiteful, but maybe some of ye can have a word in his ear and he'll settle down and be positive.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shellyriver View Post

Jesus yous are developing a victim complex of Liverpool proportions. Sweeney is an embarrassment.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shellyriver

Looks like going to the games themselves may help.

In the EPL, the current title holders are always on at 4pm the first Sunday of the following season. In the Bundesliga, the current title holders are always at home on the first Friday night to begin the first game of the new season on tv. In Spain, Real or Barcelona's first game is always live on the box. Ditto Italy, France, Scotland etc...

Never mind though, a newly promoted side and second place in the league meeting each other, is more glamourous than showing the double champions opening game in our league.

Apparantly.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Never mind though, a newly promoted side and second place in the league meeting each other, is more glamourous than showing the double champions opening game in our league.
    I get why ye are on opening night, as champions, but you can't argue that Drogs Vs. Shams is more appealing than Shels Vs. us.

Now it may well turn out to be a better game, but 'on paper' the match in Tolka should be much better.

217 Posts
    I'd like to see a preview show of the weeks action, especially this week at least ahead of the start of the season. Wishful thinking again I guess!
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

817 Posts
    Not sure if its been posted already but Linfield and Derry in the setanta Cup will be live on Setanta.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

217 Posts
    The season is long. It was only the first 5 fixtures that were announced. I'm sure Sligo games will be covered.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

Much ado about nothing really.
    As a Sligo Rovers fan I'd much rather us not be on tv as there is no money to be gained but I'm sure we would certainly lose some on the gate.
    I wouldn't mind some of our away games being covered though.

There is also absolutely no truth in the rumours that the board have refused to change kick off times

Wait a second……..why the bloody hell isn't Limerick vs SD Galway being televised on Friday March 23rd. A bloody disgrace….typical bias towards the big teams. I blame Shamrock Rovers…..wait no I blame MNS….wait wait I mean RTE……no I mean Roddy….feck it I mean Monaghan…...actually no I mean the FAI…..ya thats the one, the FAI, jokeshop up there in abbottstown

433 Posts
    I blame Tom the Gom, we all know he choses the games.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

2,346 Posts
    Can't we just blame Derry? No reason really. Just for the craic.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Can't we just blame Derry? No reason really. Just for the craic.
    So thats Shamrock Rovers and Derry being blamed. We'll never hear the end of it from the Sligo Rovers fans now, what about them?

For the record there's no discussions about live games being moved. RTE tells the FAI what games they want, and thats that. Clubs can't say no, and the league doesn't need agreement of the clubs

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    For the record there's no discussions about live games being moved. RTE tells the FAI what games they want, and thats that. Clubs can't say no, and the league doesn't need agreement of the clubs
    That would coincide with my own understanding but you better tell Placid casual who "was privy to the initial discussions that were to take place regarding our clubs being put on the box".