Thread: Goals Can Come From Anywhere

James , I don't often disagree with you but I think your well off
    the mark to slate the 'Bishopstown affair'. At least those directors
    a) Put their money where their mouth is, AFAIK anyway.
    b) anyhow had a vision and a least tried to make it come into
    reality.
    c) Tried to move the club forward.
    Contrast that with all the boards since then and the present one admittedly is no worse than that crop- except in their choice of manager. All the above are true of the Longford board which is my
    main gripe against our current board. I'd even make allowances
    and accept Gunther if they tried at least. So to slag the board who tried to move to Bishoptown is wrong IMHO.

why. they gave no thought or consideration to the thousands of fans that 1 had to get there from mainly a city based support ans 2 getting the hell out of there which if you ever tried back then involved a 2 hours wait sometimes and i joke not to get out of the carpark there...the roads to the location werent up to it either..and while directly the roads arent the directors fault...their choice of venue was...

and as for the state of the pitch out there.hhmm
    even in the summer it was flooded and waterlogged

lets not re-open the whole bishopstown gate saga...please ...
    if youre interested check out some of the old NMPP issues for some insightful comment on the events
    life is random

anyway wasnt all that money got from governemnt grants.. and come on they got money to build the stand a certain hieght and dimensions and then the thing went up the wrong size and had to be redone if i remember correctly..

they were cowboys...

had a vision yes but did they in any way find out if their customers ie fans were prepared to travel to bishopstown..i dont remember them doing so and if they did then they incorrectly choose to ignore it cause i remember being apart of the bishopstwon 400 and wonderiing where the rest of the crowd was manys a time..

just because they have a vision doent mean its a correct one.. i mean didnt hitler have a vision...
    life is random

Bored With The Board

People come on here like James, Éanna and their online posse giving out about the board and saying how little they do. The club doesn't run itself! Anyone who knows anything about the club will know and agree that a certain lady never stops working for the club but there are jobs that only the board can do. Maybe a programme contributor or editor could do a piece on each member of the board and the role they fulfill. The thing is that last year the board made many daring moves towards becoming a professional club and for various reasons things went wrong. However this wasn't detrimental to the club and we, with the on field guidance of Liam Murphy, are tonight playing in a top of the table clash. All clubs in the eircom League are not living up to their full potential and much of this is down to eircom and the FAI failing to provide any real promotional infrastructure to our league. To be a professional club, you really ought to have a professional board. Not just people with a business background but people who live eat and sleep football. That I'm afraid is very unlikely to happen in Ireland.

Sack the board is a quick fix.
    Sack Liam Murphy is a quick fix.

If you lot really want to discuss the issues you have with the board then you may start by suggesting constructive solutions.
    I suppose you wouldn't be true Cork men if you didn't knock people at every given chance.

Re: Bored With The Board

Originally posted by Barry's Tea
    their online posse
    what the hell is that suppose to mean..everyone who posts on this and any board is entitled to their own opinion and unless abuse/racist or otherwise is entitled to voice it, nad indeed they post without any coercision from me eanna or others.

Debate on the other hand about such issues is healthy and what i log into this and other boards for.

No peadar u reread what i wrote and i know full well what that certain lady does and indeed did i not just mention it..and i also know as you do, some of what she has to put up with..

that IMO isnt acceptable

I could write an accurate piece on ewhat the board does
    (a) play golf
    (b) drink
    (c)play golf
    and emm (d) play golf

oh yea ..and laugh about how much they screwedcfc supporters for the $eltic game in the horseshoe... and yes i heard this myself..

i am not knocking them at every chance just simply stating IMO the views of the club that i have...if you disagree then fine..offer your points..

dont just revert to the old cork moaning begrudgers moto that you in paticular recycle time and time again..
    i'm ****ed off because there are problems at the club that have been there for so long and yet some people (a) chhose to ignore them or (b) are so neive that they believe the brainwashing they get from some people..
    life is random

I still cannot comprehend that you believe everything is alright!
    The thing is that last year the board made many daring moves towards becoming a professional club and for various reasons things went wrong. However this wasn't detrimental to the club and we, with the on field guidance of Liam Murphy, are tonight playing in a top of the table clash.
    Here you agree that it was good to see the club attempting to become more professional, but didn't really care then that it failed, just so long as we're having an oul bash at the top of the table.

Your acceptance of second-rate football in Cork is bewildering. I suggest the fact that you do not actually attend games week-in week-out makes it easier for you to stand back and view with your rose tinted glasses.

If you lot really want to discuss the issues you have with the board then you may start by suggesting constructive solutions.
    I could sit here all night offering short-term AND long-term ideas, but what good will it do saying it here?

peadar its like the film "a few good men"

you want answers, you want the truth

BUT YOU CANT HANDLE THE TRUTH

life is random

Re: Re: Bored With The Board

Originally posted by James

are so neive that they believe the brainwashing they get from some people..
    Good point, and perhaps not a coincidence that the two people here standing up for the Board have/had dealings with the club at an official level. I can be corrected on this Peadar?

Re: Re: Bored With The Board

Originally posted by James
    i'm ****ed off because there are problems at the club that have been there for so long and yet some people (a) chhose to ignore them or (b) are so neive that they believe the brainwashing they get from some people..
    I know better than to get you ****ed off James because you'll get your Pres G.W. Bush to send in the Marines and blow me out of my hiding place killing thousands of innocent koreans in the process.

James this forum is saturated with abuse of the CCFC Board and I for one am sick of it. Some day I'd love to be on the board and have a chance to do something positive for my club.
    I don't know if that will ever happen but I'm a fairly ambitious and determined person.
    One thing I do know for sure though is that filling threads on this or any other forum will never resolve the issues in the board.
    The negative attidude that you and others deploy on this medium will contaminate others and I really do think there's too much negativity here already. What you and I and others need to be doing is showing the positives of Cork City FC to people and let football be the real issue. Do you have anything good to say James?

Re: Re: Re: Bored With The Board

Originally posted by Barry's Tea
    What you and I and others need to be doing is showing the positives of Cork City FC to people and let football be the real issue.
    you and I and others are consistently showing the positives, doing our best to advertise the club and spread the word. But why does the Board do nothing like this? And why do YOU feel that they don't have to?

Re: Re: Re: Bored With The Board

Originally posted by Casegrande
    Good point, and perhaps not a coincidence that the two people here standing up for the Board have/had dealings with the club at an official level. I can be corrected on this Peadar?
    I like Gerry, Bernie and all the rest of the lads in the SC who help out, am a volunteer with the club and try to do something positive.
    If I’m not at a game it’s because I’m on the other side of the world and have a job to do.
    Having flown in from Tokyo last week I took the chance to go to the Cross for the Galway game before I left for Seoul. I’m not looking for a medal here but I resent your “rose coloured glasses” jibe.
    I was at Flancare Park on day one when the scoreline at full-time read 4-1.
    I know things aren’t perfect but the football I see when I’m lucky enough to get to a game is very positive and augurs well for the future.
    Liam Murphy id building for the future and the CCFC board put him where he is.

I like Gerry, Bernie and all the rest of the lads in the SC who help out, am a volunteer with the club and try to do something positive.
    I also am a member of the SC. What difference does that make? (BTW I don't believe Gerry is a member of the SC, and before you jump down my throat - I know Gerry does great work for the club, and has had to put up with a lot of **** because of having to deal with the idiots on the board)

If I’m not at a game it’s because I’m on the other side of the world and have a job to do.
    You misinterpreted me. I was suggesting that because you don't have to put up with the same ole crap week after week on front of your eyes, you are not as affected?

when I’m lucky enough to get to a game is very positive and augurs well for the future.
    You really aren't seeing where I'm coming from!

This thread could possibly be merged with this one. Interesting last post by Vetinari...

a couple of things

Qualifying for the CL Group stages
    if an Irish team does manage to make the breakthrough in the near future I very much doubt it will be City

manager's performance
    while results seem to be going our way there a couple of points to consider:
    1) our apparent inability to keep a clean sheet
    2) the lack of cover we have in midfield since O'Brien, O'Halloran, Herrick, Tynan and to a lesser extent Moore and Cotter were let go
    3) some strange tactical decisions from time to time

However, while Murph has been in the game a while he is a relative novice as a manager so maybe he is on a learning curve?

It would also be a lot better for the club if we had a fulltime manager - I don't think anyone could argue with that. And the fact that he's a fulltime coach at CSN doesn't make any difference to that.

btw when a manager leaves a club doesn't the assistant normally follow him? Especially when the manager has been sacked. Just a thought.

the board
    IMHO the current board has taken the club as far as it can (that's becoming a cliché at this stage, I know) and seem to lack the necessary ambition to take things to the next level. Sure, you can say they tried to become more of a professional outfit last season with the appointments made, but when those appointments didn't work out, for whatever reason, going back to the old ways was a step backwards.

As for more people getting involved with the club, it would be great if that happened, but IMHO it's fulltime people that are needed at this stage as much as volunteers.

Basically we're a part-time club with low ambitions and that's the type of fan we can expect to attract under current circumstances - part-time and lacking in ambition.

btw Peader if sacking Liam Murphy is a quick fix what was sacking Derek Mountfield? And please don't anyone come back with 'not that bring back Mountfielfd crap again', I'm genuinely interested in what the sacking of Mountfield achieved, apart from the obvious trip to Latvia.

In A Line...

Originally posted by joe
    btw Peader if sacking Liam Murphy is a quick fix what was sacking Derek Mountfield? And please don't anyone come back with 'not that bring back Mountfielfd crap again', I'm genuinely interested in what the sacking of Mountfield achieved, apart from the obvious trip to Latvia.
    Things were getting worse under Mountfield and scaking him stopped the rot!

Should we continue to sack managers like we did to Mountfield?
    Personally I think he was too much of a nice guy and could easily be taken for a ride. A manager needs balls in this game.

I wasn't in favour of Murphy becoming manager but I think he's proved himself to me. A strong finish is the key to winning the league and Murphy knows how to do that.

Anyway Joe this is a Cork City forum not Cobh Ramblers

Things were getting worse under Mountfield and scaking him stopped the rot!
    I would have preferred to see the 'Gang of 5' sacked (including Ollie Cahill) and sticking with our attempts to become a professional outfit. It might have meant finishing tenth (I dont think we would have got relegated).
    I wasn't in favour of Murphy becoming manager but I think he's proved himself to me.
    He's proved nothing except that he gives the lads what they want. Part-time style training and none of this going professional rubbish - ie. cutting down on drink, eating better, preparing for games more...
    Anyway Joe this is a Cork City forum not Cobh Ramblers
    Are you on drugs?

Gerry Desmond

The man on the fence

OK, guys, been away from the PC for a bit a the discussion has certainly gotten interesting if a little meandering.

I'd like to clear up a few things, as I appear to have been misinterpreted, misunderstood and also quite frankly accused of stuff that basically just ain't so.

My original entry into this thread was a simple query, not a defence of Liam Murphy and/or the Board.
    I have stated clearly in a subsequent post that it was neither my duty nor desire to do this.

I suggested that more people should be INVOLVED with the club. Specifically that referred to the business community. How they get involved, or if they want to get involved is entirely a matter for themselves: I am outside of that circle.

I stated that at least the current Board got involved (when the club was on its knees let it be remembered). Other members of the business community did not. This is a statement of FACT, not a defence of where the club is or isn't at the present moment in time.

Barry's Tea replied to a query on how would it be possible to qualify for the CL. He explained it exactly. It may be difficult to achieve, but it's not impossible. Who knows what the future will bring?

I have no problems with the fans who turn up. What more can they do? My problem would be with 'fans' who don't turn up...

There are 7-8 or whatever members of the CCFC Board at present. The Board has chnaged several times since the takeover in 1995-96. Maybe it will change again? Let's wait and see.

The Longford situation: the community involvement there was pretty unique, let's be fair. I personally don't think it was a reflection of how much the fans love the LTFC Board. I could be wrong of course, but that's my opinion.

Why don't I say negative stuff against the club/Board?
    Two reasons basically:
    1) I prefer to look at the positive side where possible.
    2) I quite often say negative stuff about the board, occasionally to members of the Board themselves. However, I don't believe this is the place for me to do in so much as I don't believe it would achieve anything for me to do it here.

An exception: I have stated openly that the sacking of Derek Mountfield was very badly handled and reflected badly on the board.

I am not a member of the supporters club. Neither am I a member of the football club. I am a Cork City fan first and foremost and I am also privileged enough to edit the programme.

I only mentioned 1968 and that kind of stuff to give a perspective, not to be condescending or anything else. I've seen a lot in my time to know how boards have treated supporters over a long number of years. It strikes me as a little ironic that this time last year Bohs would have been the model club...look at them now: would we swap places right now?

I still maintain Éanna's suggestion that for Murph to win the CL and STILL be unacceptable is utterly bizarre, which is where I entered this thread.

If there is anything else that I have written in this thread that you still have a problem understanding, I'm not sure there is much I can help you with.

Gerry

It's a start (eventually we'll have you handing out 'Sack the Board' banners!)
    the sacking of Derek Mountfield was very badly handled and reflected badly on the board.
    This is the kind of thing that people are unhappy about. You say you like to concentrate on positive things about the club, which is good, but there is no point in being blind about the bad things that are going on.

Gerry Desmond

Sack the Board

Originally posted by Neil
    It's a start (eventually we'll have you handing out 'Sack the Board' banners!)

This is the kind of thing that people are unhappy about. You say you like to concentrate on positive things about the club, which is good, but there is no point in being blind about the bad things that are going on.
    Have I stated somewhere that I am blind to what is going on?
    Mountield WAS a mess but, unless I am mistaken, it's history now? I mean: what can be done about it?

Let's move on: I can think of no other club in the country that would have so many people griping over stuff when the team is flying and silverware looks more of a possibility every week. (Note: that does NOT mean I am saying we will win anything. I've SIMPLY said: it's more of a possibility).

Sack the Board? Only the Board can sack the Board! Either by leaving, and letting the club in the lurch, or by accepting a buy out from another group of business people. C'est la vie!

I may know a lot of what is going on, or I may not. I have learned in this town (over long years) that most 'news' is incorrect/exaggerated/misinformed or countered by 'news' to the contrary almost immediately. It's difficult to unearth the TRUTH.
    I'll say this: I keep my ear fairly close to the ground and usually I have an inkling of what's coming/going down. Not always, but usually. I consider my opinions on what that may be to be my own. I'm not convinced that MBs are the best place for them, and that's MY business and MY choice and I don't see why I should have to explain myself for it, but there you are anyway.

I don't necessarily like certain members of the Board. FACT. For certain, certain members of the Board don't care very much for me. Absolute FACT.
    I might PREFER if they had no part in the club, THEY might prefer it if I got lost. C'est la vie.

Casegrande came on here asking questions and accusing me of defending the Board because I couldn't/didn't answer them. FACT: I don't have the answers. My suggestion: ask the Board the questions. Cas's reply: he wants to talk about it here. No answers here, amigo, only frustration for you if you keep asking them...

Gerry

some good some bad

I'm genuinely interested in what the sacking of Mountfield achieved.....
    We may not have got relegated under Mountfield last year but we were in serious danger of which would have almost killed the club. Mountfield obviously needed to be given time but the results & performances kept getting worse. However the manner in which Mounty got sacked was disgraceful & anyone involved in should be ashamed of themselves. I believe it reflected badly on the club both locally & nationally.

If the Board want to treat their roles as a part-time thing then thats fine but they need to appoint pay fulltime commericial manager as opposed to have a certain person all but do it in name for barely part-time money.

I think its pointless going fulltime on the pitch without professional backup staff off the pitch.

I believe we are progressing nicely on the pitch (nothing to do with being 2nd in the table), turners cros is progressing steadly but seem to be where we were 10 years ago off the pitch.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast